I Spy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Spy Reviews

Page 1 of 7
September 6, 2003
Murphy and Wilson seem to be having a contest to see who can be more obnoxious and, sadly, it's too close to call.
Read More | Original Score: D+
October 29, 2002
As pedestrian as they come.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 25, 2002
...one of those big thoughtless gestures that exists simply because Hollywood has sufficient contempt for American moviegoers to put it out.
Full ReviewRead More | Original Score: C-
November 1, 2002
This is a remake by the numbers, linking a halfwit plot to a series of standup routines in which Wilson and Murphy show how funny they could have been in a more ambitious movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 29, 2002
An unremarkable, modern action/comedy buddy movie whose only nod to nostalgia is in the title.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 26, 2002
A forgettable buddy movie that feels like a rejected script for "Rush Hour 3."
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 24, 2010
TV classic remade as a forgettable buddy movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2002
I spied with my little eye...a mediocre collection of cookie-cutter action scenes and occasionally inspired dialogue bits
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 1, 2002
Witless rehash of 1960s TV action-comedy has star power to waste -- and waste it does.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 14, 2002
The action is reasonably well-done ... yet story, character and comedy bits are too ragged to ever fit smoothly together.
November 5, 2002
I really resent a movie like this that just looks like it's made by a committee when you have two such huge talents wasted like this.
November 1, 2002
A feeble spoof consisting entirely of warmed-over gags from Bond, from previous spy spoofs.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
November 9, 2002
If it sounds pretty formulaic, then I have described it accurately.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
October 17, 2002
Just dreadful. I don't blame Eddie Murphy but shouldn't Owen Wilson know a movie must have a story and a script?
Full Review
November 1, 2002
Banal and predictable.
October 26, 2002
It's simply a generic action movie -- nothing you haven't seen before.
| Original Score: 2.5/5
November 8, 2002
Full Review | Original Score: 1/10
November 3, 2002
In short, once you've seen the raucous rapport between two devilish dipsticks dodging bullets and personal put-downs, you've certainly seen it all before!
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 3, 2002
I Spy is an embarrassment, a monotonous, disjointed jumble of borrowed plot points and situations. It's as flat as an open can of pop left sitting in the sun.
Full Review| Original Score: 1/4
October 31, 2002
It's been 20 years since 48 Hrs. made Eddie Murphy a movie star and the man hasn't aged a day. But his showboating wise-cracker stock persona sure is getting old.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Page 1 of 7