I Spy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Spy Reviews

Top Critic
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
February 9, 2006
Top Critic
Susan Stark
Detroit News
November 10, 2002
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ed Park
Village Voice
November 5, 2002
Though ample time is spent mingling Murphy's jabberjaw locutions and Wilson's curveball spaciness, the film leaves only the bitter reek of a botched chemistry experiment.
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
November 5, 2002
I really resent a movie like this that just looks like it's made by a committee when you have two such huge talents wasted like this.
Top Critic
Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
November 2, 2002
Unexceptional espionage comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
November 2, 2002
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
November 2, 2002
The trappings of I Spy are so familiar you might as well be watching a rerun.
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
November 1, 2002
Moves at a glacial pace.
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
November 1, 2002
Banal and predictable.
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
November 1, 2002
I cry for I Spy -- or I would if this latest and laziest imaginable of all vintage-TV spinoffs were capable of engendering an emotional response of any kind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
November 1, 2002
The time has come to offer thanks to Owen Wilson.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Carla Meyer
San Francisco Chronicle
November 1, 2002
A loose, lighthearted romp that's a notch above the usual buddy comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Mark Rahner
Seattle Times
November 1, 2002
As inept as big-screen remakes of The Avengers and The Wild Wild West.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Charles Taylor
Salon.com
November 1, 2002
Loud, brash and obvious.
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
November 1, 2002
It won't be long before you'll spy I Spy at a video store near you.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
November 1, 2002
The fights are poorly staged, the chases are boring -- and a series of crashes and explosions can't disguise that absolutely nothing of interest is going on for long stretches.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Connie Ogle
Miami Herald
November 1, 2002
I Spy exhausts you with its derivative stupidity, leaving you weak and bored and weary of comedy that's not funny, action that's not exciting, dialogue that's not clever.
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
November 1, 2002
The jokes are flat, and the action looks fake.
| Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
November 1, 2002
Even the usually intense Malcolm McDowell doesn't have much spark: His main role is to press the remote control button that makes the stealth plane disappear and reappear, perhaps a foreshadowing of I Spy's cable-television future.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
November 1, 2002
If you're looking for nostalgia, you're in the wrong place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Steven Rosen
Denver Post
November 1, 2002
A casting disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
November 1, 2002
This is a remake by the numbers, linking a halfwit plot to a series of standup routines in which Wilson and Murphy show how funny they could have been in a more ambitious movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
November 1, 2002
For all its dopey shootouts and inept identity tweaks, nothing in this movie amounts to anything.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Bill Muller
Arizona Republic
November 1, 2002
... goes for the easy laugh rather than pushing in a new direction. It's a loosely constructed vehicle, probably on purpose.
Top Critic
Dave Larsen
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
October 31, 2002
A so-so buddy comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
October 31, 2002
I Spy something lazy, slow, shallow, stupid, amateurish, unfunny, unsuspenseful, uninformed, unspeakably dull and witlessly written, directed and acted.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 31, 2002
The execution is so dumbed-down, so dumbfounding, that sophisticated moviegoers might confuse it for outtakes from Spy Kids 2 and XXX.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
John Anderson
Newsday
October 31, 2002
Humor in I Spy is so anemic.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Elvis Mitchell
New York Times
October 31, 2002
Just plain generic.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
October 31, 2002
More dead spots than a Jerry Lewis telethon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
October 31, 2002
The film hopes to emulate the frantic action of a good video game, but the best video games are carefully designed. I Spy, on the other hand, is a total wreck.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
October 31, 2002
Apparently the Hollywood studios can no longer be bothered to actually watch the old TV shows they are ripping off.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Paul Malcolm
L.A. Weekly
October 31, 2002
Thomas trudges through the film's action sequences with such obvious disinterest that when Wilson turns from a lackluster fireball to quip, 'Whoa, that was a big explosion,' you really know he's putting us on.
Top Critic
Mark Caro
Chicago Tribune
October 31, 2002
An overblown clunker full of bad jokes, howling cliches and by-the-numbers action sequences.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
October 29, 2002
An unremarkable, modern action/comedy buddy movie whose only nod to nostalgia is in the title.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Robert Koehler
Variety
October 15, 2002
As the latest bid in the TV-to-movie franchise game, I Spy makes its big-screen entry with little of the nervy originality of its groundbreaking small-screen progenitor.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
October 14, 2002
The action is reasonably well-done ... yet story, character and comedy bits are too ragged to ever fit smoothly together.