I Spy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Spy Reviews

November 10, 2002
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 5, 2002
Though ample time is spent mingling Murphy's jabberjaw locutions and Wilson's curveball spaciness, the film leaves only the bitter reek of a botched chemistry experiment.
November 5, 2002
I really resent a movie like this that just looks like it's made by a committee when you have two such huge talents wasted like this.
November 2, 2002
Unexceptional espionage comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
November 2, 2002
The trappings of I Spy are so familiar you might as well be watching a rerun.
Read More | Original Score: C-
November 1, 2002
Moves at a glacial pace.
November 1, 2002
Banal and predictable.
November 1, 2002
I cry for I Spy -- or I would if this latest and laziest imaginable of all vintage-TV spinoffs were capable of engendering an emotional response of any kind.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 1, 2002
The time has come to offer thanks to Owen Wilson.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
November 1, 2002
A loose, lighthearted romp that's a notch above the usual buddy comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 1, 2002
As inept as big-screen remakes of The Avengers and The Wild Wild West.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 1, 2002
Loud, brash and obvious.
November 1, 2002
It won't be long before you'll spy I Spy at a video store near you.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
November 1, 2002
The fights are poorly staged, the chases are boring -- and a series of crashes and explosions can't disguise that absolutely nothing of interest is going on for long stretches.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
November 1, 2002
I Spy exhausts you with its derivative stupidity, leaving you weak and bored and weary of comedy that's not funny, action that's not exciting, dialogue that's not clever.
November 1, 2002
The jokes are flat, and the action looks fake.
Read More | Original Score: C+
November 1, 2002
Even the usually intense Malcolm McDowell doesn't have much spark: His main role is to press the remote control button that makes the stealth plane disappear and reappear, perhaps a foreshadowing of I Spy's cable-television future.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 1, 2002
If you're looking for nostalgia, you're in the wrong place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 1, 2002
A casting disaster.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 1, 2002
This is a remake by the numbers, linking a halfwit plot to a series of standup routines in which Wilson and Murphy show how funny they could have been in a more ambitious movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 1, 2002
For all its dopey shootouts and inept identity tweaks, nothing in this movie amounts to anything.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
November 1, 2002
... goes for the easy laugh rather than pushing in a new direction. It's a loosely constructed vehicle, probably on purpose.
October 31, 2002
A so-so buddy comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 31, 2002
I Spy something lazy, slow, shallow, stupid, amateurish, unfunny, unsuspenseful, uninformed, unspeakably dull and witlessly written, directed and acted.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
October 31, 2002
The execution is so dumbed-down, so dumbfounding, that sophisticated moviegoers might confuse it for outtakes from Spy Kids 2 and XXX.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 31, 2002
Humor in I Spy is so anemic.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 31, 2002
Just plain generic.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 31, 2002
More dead spots than a Jerry Lewis telethon.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 31, 2002
The film hopes to emulate the frantic action of a good video game, but the best video games are carefully designed. I Spy, on the other hand, is a total wreck.
Full Review | Original Score: F
October 31, 2002
Apparently the Hollywood studios can no longer be bothered to actually watch the old TV shows they are ripping off.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 31, 2002
Thomas trudges through the film's action sequences with such obvious disinterest that when Wilson turns from a lackluster fireball to quip, 'Whoa, that was a big explosion,' you really know he's putting us on.
October 31, 2002
An overblown clunker full of bad jokes, howling cliches and by-the-numbers action sequences.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
October 29, 2002
An unremarkable, modern action/comedy buddy movie whose only nod to nostalgia is in the title.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 15, 2002
As the latest bid in the TV-to-movie franchise game, I Spy makes its big-screen entry with little of the nervy originality of its groundbreaking small-screen progenitor.
October 14, 2002
The action is reasonably well-done ... yet story, character and comedy bits are too ragged to ever fit smoothly together.