I Think I Love My Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Think I Love My Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 23, 2007
Rock's breakthrough as a director -- a chance for him to grapple openly with his status as a maturing (but still ostensibly immature) comedian.
Read More | Original Score: 4/6
April 17, 2007
Here's a French sex comedy starring Chris Rock. Yes, really -- Chris Rock.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
April 5, 2007
One of the film's key revelations is that his resistance to having an affair comes as much from wishing to maintain his lifestyle (the high-paying job, the nice house, the kids) as from loyalty to his wife. Why sharp observations like that one would need
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 26, 2007
Rock's version is funnier, blacker, hipper, and sexier, but Rohmer's shows a little more skin.
March 17, 2007
An entertaining look at a marriage that has become too routine.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is first and foremost a sex comedy. But Rock is sharp enough to set it in a world where people of all races share the same dreams and desires -- if not the same real estate.
March 16, 2007
As uneven as I Think I Love My Wife often is, it still has an emotional resonance lacking in most films about relationships. By dealing with temptation in even a quasi-realistic way, it affirms that, like comedy, monogamy is hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
All good stuff. Rock delivers some laugh-out-loud lines, Washington is sexy and dangerous, Torres makes her character something more than a frigid harpy, and the workplace scenes are well-played.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 16, 2007
Rock finally provides hope he will develop into a genuine force on the big screen. The script is sharp and quick, and Rock's direction is sure-handed and occasionally inspired. He gives us a workday New York that feels real.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
A sophisticated look at the tedium of an old marriage and the temptation of a new love that marks a maturing of his humor without any attendant dulling of [Rock's] cutting-edge causticity. (Start taking notes, Eddie Murphy.)
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 16, 2007
Surprisingly mature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
A truly universal comedy about relationships that's worth more than a few laughs regardless of your race, gender or marital status.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
March 16, 2007
Listen, I'm not about to say Rock has won me over completely. What he has done is force me to reevaluate his skills both behind and in front of the camera.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is mainly just another Chris Rock routine, tied up in a fancier, more adult bow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2007
There are some raucous set pieces and a lot of frank, jokey talk about sex, but I Think I Love My Wife is not after crude or easy hilarity, and Mr. Rock works hard to hold his aggressive, irrepressible comic personality in check.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 16, 2007
One of the best things about I Think I Love My Wife is that the film takes the time to develop the three principals beyond the stereotypes that underlie the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 15, 2007
The movie is hilarious. ...There's [Rock's character's] encounter with Viagra, which I can't describe but has to be one of the funniest scenes of the decade and should easily push the movie over the $100 million mark by Week 3.
March 15, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is a surprisingly grown-up film. With only a minimum of gross-out humor - which may disappoint his fans - it gives us an adult take on relationships and a take the younger film audience may not be willing to hear.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 15, 2007
This might be the worst date movie of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 6