I Think I Love My Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Think I Love My Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 6
June 23, 2007
Rock's breakthrough as a director -- a chance for him to grapple openly with his status as a maturing (but still ostensibly immature) comedian.
Read More | Original Score: 4/6
April 17, 2007
Here's a French sex comedy starring Chris Rock. Yes, really -- Chris Rock.
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
April 5, 2007
One of the film's key revelations is that his resistance to having an affair comes as much from wishing to maintain his lifestyle (the high-paying job, the nice house, the kids) as from loyalty to his wife. Why sharp observations like that one would need
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 26, 2007
Rock's version is funnier, blacker, hipper, and sexier, but Rohmer's shows a little more skin.
March 17, 2007
An entertaining look at a marriage that has become too routine.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is first and foremost a sex comedy. But Rock is sharp enough to set it in a world where people of all races share the same dreams and desires -- if not the same real estate.
March 16, 2007
As uneven as I Think I Love My Wife often is, it still has an emotional resonance lacking in most films about relationships. By dealing with temptation in even a quasi-realistic way, it affirms that, like comedy, monogamy is hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
All good stuff. Rock delivers some laugh-out-loud lines, Washington is sexy and dangerous, Torres makes her character something more than a frigid harpy, and the workplace scenes are well-played.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 16, 2007
Rock finally provides hope he will develop into a genuine force on the big screen. The script is sharp and quick, and Rock's direction is sure-handed and occasionally inspired. He gives us a workday New York that feels real.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
A sophisticated look at the tedium of an old marriage and the temptation of a new love that marks a maturing of his humor without any attendant dulling of [Rock's] cutting-edge causticity. (Start taking notes, Eddie Murphy.)
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 16, 2007
Surprisingly mature.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
A truly universal comedy about relationships that's worth more than a few laughs regardless of your race, gender or marital status.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is mainly just another Chris Rock routine, tied up in a fancier, more adult bow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2007
There are some raucous set pieces and a lot of frank, jokey talk about sex, but I Think I Love My Wife is not after crude or easy hilarity, and Mr. Rock works hard to hold his aggressive, irrepressible comic personality in check.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 16, 2007
One of the best things about I Think I Love My Wife is that the film takes the time to develop the three principals beyond the stereotypes that underlie the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 15, 2007
The movie is hilarious. ...There's [Rock's character's] encounter with Viagra, which I can't describe but has to be one of the funniest scenes of the decade and should easily push the movie over the $100 million mark by Week 3.
March 15, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is a surprisingly grown-up film. With only a minimum of gross-out humor - which may disappoint his fans - it gives us an adult take on relationships and a take the younger film audience may not be willing to hear.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 15, 2007
This might be the worst date movie of all time.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
March 12, 2007
There's a lot to recommend here, and it's a stepping stone to even more impressive work from Chris Rock.
Page 1 of 6