I Think I Love My Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Think I Love My Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
May 13, 2009
| Original Score: 2/5
Neil Miller
Film School Rejects
March 16, 2007
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
March 16, 2007
Directed and written by the talented comic, the movie suffers from the overblown notes of a punch-line-driven routine.
Pete Hammond
Maxim
March 16, 2007
Rock really is attempting to channel Woody Allen in trying to craft a flick that flows freely from his own stand-up comedy style into a more sophisticated setting.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Nell Minow
Movie Mom at Yahoo! Movies
March 15, 2007
The film ultimately fails to make Nikki an enticing character. She is just a one-dimensional manipulator. This removes the drama, the danger, and the interest from the story.
| Original Score: C
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
March 15, 2007
You can enjoy the cast in I Think I Love My Wife, but it's too bad they don't have more notes to play.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Pootie Tang was spikier and funnier
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife slogs through drama and comedy as though both were a duty as onerous as a sexless marriage. Rarely do characters display anything approaching logic, unless their 180-degree turnarounds are part of a geometry proof.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
March 7, 2007
As a director, Rock has little visual flair, so the film looks clumsy and stilted.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
March 15, 2007
There's an undercurrent of misogyny in Wife, which is odd, since it ultimately wants to be a celebration of marital happiness.
| Original Score: 2/4
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
March 16, 2007
Just because this union of artist and material isn't a complete mind-bender doesn't mean that it works.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
April 24, 2007
Until Rock is able to find a vehicle suitable for his unrestrained talent, there'll no doubt be more duds like this on the way
Kam Williams
AALBC.com
March 19, 2007
I think I hated this movie!
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
March 21, 2007
The problem with Chris Rock writing, directing, and starring in a film is that every character winds up talking just like Chris Rock.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
March 24, 2007
Perhaps some comedians aren't meant for the big screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Brian Orndorf
OhmyNews.com
March 15, 2007
Wife is profane, awkward, and sprinkled with a strange racial subtext; basically the cinematic equivalent of Rock himself.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
May 15, 2007
Buppie infidelity, marital boredom and female temptation on every street corner are the predicaments posed by this Chris Rock directed oddly unromantic fare.
Full Review
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
March 23, 2007
The movie has overtones of misogyny that stick in the craw.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Jeffrey Lyles
Lyles' Movie Files
July 21, 2015
Just imagine how much more authentic, topical and engaging this would be if Rock made this film in 2015 instead of eight years earlier.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
September 27, 2007
A roly-poly CBS sitcom, only with more liberal use of the f-word.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
February 22, 2008
Top Critic

St. Louis Post-Dispatch
March 17, 2007
Page 1 of 6