I Think I Love My Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Think I Love My Wife Reviews

May 13, 2009
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 23, 2007
Rock's breakthrough as a director -- a chance for him to grapple openly with his status as a maturing (but still ostensibly immature) comedian.
Read More | Original Score: 4/6
April 5, 2007
One of the film's key revelations is that his resistance to having an affair comes as much from wishing to maintain his lifestyle (the high-paying job, the nice house, the kids) as from loyalty to his wife. Why sharp observations like that one would need
Read More | Original Score: B-
March 26, 2007
Rock's version is funnier, blacker, hipper, and sexier, but Rohmer's shows a little more skin.
March 17, 2007
Viagra jokes, I-have-a-headache rebuffs, a sequence devoted to the humiliation of buying condoms at a pharmacy...c'mon, Chris, you can do better than that.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/6
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is first and foremost a sex comedy. But Rock is sharp enough to set it in a world where people of all races share the same dreams and desires -- if not the same real estate.
March 16, 2007
Very little that's clever, romantic or witty in this formulaic romp.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2007
Saddled with the weight of an unfocused, cliché-ridden script, a tiresome voice-over narration that drones on and on, and acting by Rock that's as wooden as Pinocchio, I Think I Love My Wife staggers in predictable circles for 94 long minutes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 16, 2007
The most shocking thing about I Think I Love My Wife isn't the language, the sex, or the racial humor. It's the fact that it's not a funny movie. At all.
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife has little to say and it doesn't have enough laughs to work as pure comedy. Rock the writer/director isn't doing Rock the actor any favors here, nor is he doing many for the audience.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 16, 2007
As uneven as I Think I Love My Wife often is, it still has an emotional resonance lacking in most films about relationships. By dealing with temptation in even a quasi-realistic way, it affirms that, like comedy, monogamy is hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
Rock fails to develop the characters caught in their conjugal and singleton traps. As usual, his observational humor zings (and stings) -- but this is a movie, not stand-up.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2007
Rock is so fixed on crude jokes, he neglects to create realistic characters and a story that's compelling to follow.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 16, 2007
Chris Rock, who famously mocked Jude Law's movie career at the Oscars, ought to watch out for his own after his second dud in a row as an actor-director, the screamingly unfunny romantic comedy I Think I Love My Wife.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
March 16, 2007
For each joke that is fresh, there are at least three that fall thuddingly flat.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 16, 2007
Rock's defining comic characteristic is his no-nonsense honesty, tackling awkward issues head-on with bold, hostile, uproarious insights. Playing a milquetoast, he's tossed away his best weapon.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is about as entertaining as reading someone else's divorce settlement.
March 16, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife slogs through drama and comedy as though both were a duty as onerous as a sexless marriage. Rarely do characters display anything approaching logic, unless their 180-degree turnarounds are part of a geometry proof.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 16, 2007
All good stuff. Rock delivers some laugh-out-loud lines, Washington is sexy and dangerous, Torres makes her character something more than a frigid harpy, and the workplace scenes are well-played.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 16, 2007
This film has no more insight, and less originality, than [Rock's] completely gag-driven comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2007
The off-color humor and R-rated language seems an attempt to reach out to his fan base, but in all, this attempt at "realistic" comedy never seems funny or emotionally insightful enough to matter.
Read More | Original Score: C-
March 16, 2007
Directed and written by the talented comic, the movie suffers from the overblown notes of a punch-line-driven routine.
March 16, 2007
The movie never breaks the surface of its characters or their situation. And Mr. Rock's paint-by-numbers approach as director only compounds the movie's flat, formulaic feel.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 16, 2007
Rock finally provides hope he will develop into a genuine force on the big screen. The script is sharp and quick, and Rock's direction is sure-handed and occasionally inspired. He gives us a workday New York that feels real.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
... if only the movie were as stinging as his stand-up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 16, 2007
There are some raucous set pieces and a lot of frank, jokey talk about sex, but I Think I Love My Wife is not after crude or easy hilarity, and Mr. Rock works hard to hold his aggressive, irrepressible comic personality in check.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
March 16, 2007
One of the best things about I Think I Love My Wife is that the film takes the time to develop the three principals beyond the stereotypes that underlie the characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 16, 2007
Mixing Rock with ooh-la-la turns out to be as appetizing as chalk and cheese.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 15, 2007
Women don't come off terribly well in I Think I Love My Wife, writer-director Chris Rock's comedic 'update' of the 1972 Eric Rohmer drama, Chloe in the Afternoon. It's not so much misogynistic as it resembles a fossil from another era.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 15, 2007
You can enjoy the cast in I Think I Love My Wife, but it's too bad they don't have more notes to play.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 15, 2007
The movie is hilarious. ...There's [Rock's character's] encounter with Viagra, which I can't describe but has to be one of the funniest scenes of the decade and should easily push the movie over the $100 million mark by Week 3.
March 15, 2007
Rock's depiction of women as either pouting spoilsports, nagging, frigid soccer moms or man-eating vixens harkens back to the pre-feminist '60s.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
March 15, 2007
I Think I Love My Wife is a surprisingly grown-up film. With only a minimum of gross-out humor - which may disappoint his fans - it gives us an adult take on relationships and a take the younger film audience may not be willing to hear.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
March 15, 2007
[Rock's] crowd-pleasing gags tend to clash with Rohmer's sly moral comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 15, 2007
We love you, Chris Rock. And we dearly want to love your movies.
Read More | Original Score: C+
March 14, 2007
Rock is still too stiff and clunky as a filmmaker.
March 14, 2007
Rock has taken [Eric] Rohmer's marvelously probing, psychologically refined, exquisitely yakky, and deeply French movie and turned it into a coarse-talking, race-conscious, tonally challenged life-crisis comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: C
March 13, 2007
Rock appears to have been inspired by the opportunity Chloe affords for unloading bitter chauvinism and venting hostility.
March 12, 2007
There's a lot to recommend here, and it's a stepping stone to even more impressive work from Chris Rock.
March 8, 2007
Under director Rock, actor Rock doesn't possess quite the chops to pull off this character, and the humor and flights of fancy are simply too low-key for a movie that lists 'Irresistible Fantasy Woman No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3' in its credits.
March 7, 2007
As a director, Rock has little visual flair, so the film looks clumsy and stilted.