I Wish - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Wish Reviews

Page 1 of 4
September 18, 2017
For a film that has been called lyrical, this is a tough row to hoe. I don't need to go to the movies for a message like that; I can just relive my own childhood.
May 9, 2016
I Wish is a fine example of a feel-good movie that doesn't look away from the sharper edge of life when it's necessary.
August 26, 2014
Unique, leisurely subtitled film about parental separation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 28, 2013
All life in its haphazard glory is here, but it's the children's friendship that holds you tight - and as the two trains crossed on the cinema screen, I wished more films about childhood were as good as this.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 22, 2013
A charming, magical-childhood film from Japan
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
February 8, 2013
Sweet without being sickly this matches a sunny view of family life with irresistible performances from real-life brothers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 8, 2013
It's Koreeda's subtly elliptical storytelling and measured control of character, locale and pace that makes this so engaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 8, 2013
The film is long and slow but repays close watching because Kore-eda is one of Japan's best contemporary directors and he avoids sentimentality throughout.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
February 8, 2013
Even without much of a plot, this meandering Japanese film holds our attention with a clear-eyed attention to character detail and situations that spark our imaginations.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 7, 2013
Undeniably beguiling, but more manufactured-feeling than Kore-eda's top-drawer work.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 7, 2013
We all spend so much time yearning for films as good as this, and to this reviewer at least, the latest great work from Hirokazu Koreeda is pure wish-fulfilment.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 7, 2013
The spirit of Spielberg, transplanted to the east. Bliss.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2013
Everything is fresh in this stations-of-childhood story lit up by stroboscopic flashes of wit, beauty and perception.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 7, 2013
The moving and deeply satisfying work of a director who just keeps on getting better.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 5, 2013
Every performance works, every character fits, every observation rings true.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 4, 2013
A small film with humble ambitions, I Wish is a gentle piece that children may find dull, but tearful adults will recognize that Koreeda captures the essence of childhood dreams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
January 21, 2013
The plot meanders but Koreeda's hand is deceptively sure: the detours all add up in a climactic montage of gentle, effortless poignancy.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 17, 2012
A pleasing but slow-moving family drama.
Full Review | Original Score: B
December 10, 2012
It is rare to find a coming of age film that reflects childhood in an accurate way, let alone one that combines this with such enjoyable whimsy, sweetness and tenderness.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 4, 2012
A tender tale of wishing for a miracle to hal a fractured family.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Page 1 of 4