I Wish - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Wish Reviews

Page 2 of 4
September 29, 2012
Natural performances from the two real life Maeda brothers carry the film and the way Kore-eda immerses us in provincial Japanese life is exceptional
August 17, 2012
I Wish excels at evoking a child-like state of mind in all of its wonders and concerns because of Kore-eda's astuteness in following how kids make sense of the world and change their perspectives.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 8, 2012
I Wish is epic in duration, yet humble. So your affection for the film will rely on your patience...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 26, 2012
What's so remarkable about the happiness the film brings is its simplicity.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 28, 2012
A film that's both entertaining and illuminating, no matter your age.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 22, 2012
Like a train, "I Wish" is slow to build momentum, then it carries us away in a wondrous rush.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
June 21, 2012
You watch it remembering the days when you should have walked but simply had to run, and when you believed that, if you wished hard enough, your dead pet just might come back again.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 17, 2012
Despite its youthful perspective on adult concerns, the feature generates a few profound moments of basic need in the midst of an atypical men-on-a-mission film.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 14, 2012
What a kind and wise movie this is.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 14, 2012
The lives of the children in "I Wish" seem to be expanding in front of our eyes, as evidenced by their changing wishes, which become bigger and more beautiful as their plan proceeds.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 31, 2012
A flurry of details that reveal a grand canvas of love and loyalty if we take a step back.
May 31, 2012
A film that moves a bit too slowly for its own good but has remarkable cumulative strength by its emotional finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5.0
May 31, 2012
[The] film is built around performances by two real-life brothers who are as unaffected, spirited and lovable as I can imagine, and one of the pleasures of "I Wish" is simply spending time with them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 25, 2012
Transforms the commonplace into the extraordinary.
May 25, 2012
It's about the wonders of everyday life, and of childhood imagination.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
May 24, 2012
The sort of small film of real consequence that, as a kid, I remember seeing and completely losing myself in: That was my life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 24, 2012
A wistful heartbreaker from the Japanese master of quiet observation, Hirokazu Kore-eda.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 24, 2012
At its worst, I Wish is static. At its best, it has the warmth and subtlety of classic Asian works by Edward Yang and Yasujiro Ozu.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 23, 2012
Koreeda's like a modern Ozu, documenting the trickle down effect of global economic changes on once strongly held traditions of Japanese family life.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 18, 2012
Wistful, light and sweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
Page 2 of 4