I Wish

I Wish

94%

Opening

19% Transcendence Apr 18
13% A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
52% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
57% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
62% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
71% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Continuum: Season 3
100% Hannibal: Season 2
—— Hart of Dixie: Season 3
—— Last Man Standing: Season 3
—— Unforgettable: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

I Wish Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Michael Nordine
Slant Magazine

I Wish has a tough time balancing the heartfelt with the saccharine and too often feels slight.

Full Review Source: Slant Magazine | Original Score: 2.5/4

May 7, 2012
Andrew Schenker
House Next Door

While his work with children remains as impeccable as always, Hirokazu Kore-eda proves considerably less successful in dealing with the adult characters in his latest film, I Wish.

Full Review Source: House Next Door

February 15, 2012
Chris Barsanti
Filmcritic.com

...[Hirokazu Kore-Eda] has the people and the mood, just not the story.

Full Review Source: Filmcritic.com | Original Score: 2.5/5

May 11, 2012
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews

At eight minutes over two hours, the story goes on too long, with an excess of intercuts and brief scenes that do not contribute enough to warrant inclusion.

Full Review Source: ReelTalk Movie Reviews

May 11, 2012
Will McCord
Paste Magazine

Wistful, light and sweet.

Full Review Source: Paste Magazine | Original Score: 8.1/10

May 18, 2012
Chris Benderev
NPR
Top Critic IconTop Critic

More often than not Kore-eda's technique creates space for something truly special in a film: kids talking like kids.

Full Review Source: NPR

May 10, 2012
Eddie Harrison
The List

A small film with humble ambitions, I Wish is a gentle piece that children may find dull, but tearful adults will recognize that Koreeda captures the essence of childhood dreams.

Full Review Source: The List | Original Score: 4/5

February 4, 2013
Rebecca Barry
Flicks.co.nz

I Wish is epic in duration, yet humble. So your affection for the film will rely on your patience...

Full Review Source: Flicks.co.nz | Original Score: 3/5

August 8, 2012
Don Groves
sbs.com.au

A tender tale of wishing for a miracle to hal a fractured family.

Full Review Source: sbs.com.au | Original Score: 3.5/5

October 4, 2012
Philip Concannon
The Skinny

We all spend so much time yearning for films as good as this, and to this reviewer at least, the latest great work from Hirokazu Koreeda is pure wish-fulfilment.

Full Review Source: The Skinny | Original Score: 5/5

February 7, 2013
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

[The] film is built around performances by two real-life brothers who are as unaffected, spirited and lovable as I can imagine, and one of the pleasures of "I Wish" is simply spending time with them.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 3.5/4

May 31, 2012
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This wise and funny film, in Japanese with English subtitles, works small miracles in depicting the pivotal moment when kids turn from the wishfulness of childhood into shaping the world for themselves.

Full Review Source: Wall Street Journal

May 10, 2012
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest

A lovely, authentic exploration of family bonds tested by separation. Though the film is overlong at 128 minutes, it is a warm and wise winner.

Full Review Source: Movie Dearest | Original Score: B+

May 18, 2012
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express

A flurry of details that reveal a grand canvas of love and loyalty if we take a step back.

Full Review Source: East Bay Express

May 31, 2012
Kathleen Murphy
MSN Movies
Top Critic IconTop Critic

With almost supernaturally effortless grace, Kore-eda has connected the film's every element, each one pregnant with beauty and meaning...

Full Review Source: MSN Movies | Original Score: 3.5/5

May 8, 2012
Robert Levin
amNewYork

This powerful drama is set at that key moment in life when the realities of the adult world impinge on and irrevocably alter the optimism of youth.

Full Review Source: amNewYork | Original Score: 3/4

May 10, 2012
Alison Willmore
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I Wish makes us feel like we are watching these kids discover each new sensory pleasure of youth for the first time, or that we're experiencing it ourselves.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

May 8, 2012
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru

Often feels like life itself: indescribable, complex, wondrous and beautiful.

Full Review Source: NYC Movie Guru | Original Score: 8.0/10

May 12, 2012
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press

The lives of the children in "I Wish" seem to be expanding in front of our eyes, as evidenced by their changing wishes, which become bigger and more beautiful as their plan proceeds.

Full Review Source: St. Paul Pioneer Press | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 14, 2012
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

There is a lot of hope in the air in "I Wish," but the film never feels sappy.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 3.5/5

May 10, 2012
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 16, 2012
Page 1 of 4
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile