I Wish - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I Wish Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 7, 2012
I Wish has a tough time balancing the heartfelt with the saccharine and too often feels slight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
February 15, 2012
While his work with children remains as impeccable as always, Hirokazu Kore-eda proves considerably less successful in dealing with the adult characters in his latest film, I Wish.
May 11, 2012
...[Hirokazu Kore-Eda] has the people and the mood, just not the story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 11, 2012
At eight minutes over two hours, the story goes on too long, with an excess of intercuts and brief scenes that do not contribute enough to warrant inclusion.
May 9, 2016
I Wish is a fine example of a feel-good movie that doesn't look away from the sharper edge of life when it's necessary.
May 18, 2012
Wistful, light and sweet.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.1/10
May 10, 2012
More often than not Kore-eda's technique creates space for something truly special in a film: kids talking like kids.
February 4, 2013
A small film with humble ambitions, I Wish is a gentle piece that children may find dull, but tearful adults will recognize that Koreeda captures the essence of childhood dreams.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 26, 2014
Unique, leisurely subtitled film about parental separation.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 8, 2012
I Wish is epic in duration, yet humble. So your affection for the film will rely on your patience...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 4, 2012
A tender tale of wishing for a miracle to hal a fractured family.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
February 7, 2013
We all spend so much time yearning for films as good as this, and to this reviewer at least, the latest great work from Hirokazu Koreeda is pure wish-fulfilment.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
May 31, 2012
[The] film is built around performances by two real-life brothers who are as unaffected, spirited and lovable as I can imagine, and one of the pleasures of "I Wish" is simply spending time with them.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 10, 2012
This wise and funny film, in Japanese with English subtitles, works small miracles in depicting the pivotal moment when kids turn from the wishfulness of childhood into shaping the world for themselves.
May 18, 2012
A lovely, authentic exploration of family bonds tested by separation. Though the film is overlong at 128 minutes, it is a warm and wise winner.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 31, 2012
A flurry of details that reveal a grand canvas of love and loyalty if we take a step back.
May 8, 2012
With almost supernaturally effortless grace, Kore-eda has connected the film's every element, each one pregnant with beauty and meaning...
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
May 10, 2012
This powerful drama is set at that key moment in life when the realities of the adult world impinge on and irrevocably alter the optimism of youth.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2012
I Wish makes us feel like we are watching these kids discover each new sensory pleasure of youth for the first time, or that we're experiencing it ourselves.
May 12, 2012
Often feels like life itself: indescribable, complex, wondrous and beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.0/10
Page 1 of 4