The Ice Harvest - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ice Harvest Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 12, 2008
...generally comes off as an effective adaptation of Scott Phillips' admittedly superior novel...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 24, 2007
When a lot of you tell me you want intelligent movies made by adults for adults, you're asking for movies like this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 18, 2006
90% cynicism / 10% hope, and it's jammed full of funny performances, dark divergences, and a low-key air of existential angst that you simply don't see in many multiplex movies. I love this one.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
February 2, 2006
There's an enjoyably pulpy vibe to The Ice Harvest, aided considerably by the performance of a flame-haired, throaty-voiced Connie Nielsen who vamps it up like a 1940s femme fatale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 18, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 10, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 10, 2005
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 7, 2005
Nielsen's Renata is icy cold in her calculations, and an object lesson in how to play a lethal charmer plausibly without losing any of her erotic appeal. She alone is worth the price of admission.
December 2, 2005
How I wish I hadn't seen "Kiss Kiss Bang Bang" just days before I saw "The Ice Harvest."
Full Review| Original Score: 3/4
December 2, 2005
...An enjoyable early Christmas present...
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 29, 2005
The Ice Harvest delivers a nice mix of humor, tension, and seediness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 29, 2005
The comedy in The Ice Harvest comes in shades of dark and darker. That's my kind of humor.
November 28, 2005
... a thriller that's not very thrilling but is as violent as the best of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 28, 2005
Casting Cousin Eddie as a Mob heavy is the least of Harvest's comic genuius.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
November 28, 2005
[T]he tired heist concept is considerably enlivened by excellent casting and behind-the-camera pedigree.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 28, 2005
Delightfully seedy outing involves cold cash, hot women, cruel betrayal and Christmas Eve.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 28, 2005
It's not a good movie, but it is one that provides guilty relief for a dad or mom sick of watching The Santa Clause for the umpteenth time.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 28, 2005
The Ice Harvest isn't a subversive piece of work; it's not making some grand statement about the dark side of the holiday spirit. But what it is saying in its grimly funny way is that we can't always control the timing of our disasters.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
November 28, 2005
Make no mistake: This is an R-rated, mean-spirited movie for which Christmas makes a great backdrop, but only if you really hate Christmas. If not, It's A Wonderful Life is sure to be playing somewhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 28, 2005
The movie twinkles sardonically, like the eyes of the Grinch when Chuck Jones animates the character's most cunning, twisted smile.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 7