Ice Station Zebra - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ice Station Zebra Reviews

Page 2 of 8
½ November 5, 2012
except for some interesting cinematography in the first hour there isn't much here and this movie pays dearly for each of the hundred deviations it takes from the book.
November 2, 2012
I've been wanting to watch this movie for 25 or so years and finally did yesterday. What a disappointment.... I expected mind numbing action/adventure but I feel it had way too much pseudo-drama instead. In the end I couldn't even figure out who was on whose side. :-)
September 3, 2012
I saw the movie, and i have read the book also and i can safely say that it is pretty much disappointing on that front. The movie does not remain faithful to the book, had it done it would have been a compelling watch. Not only the ending is flat but the buildup to the climax is also slow & i had moments where i was dozing.... for a mystery movie geek like me this was uncommon. I would advise not viewing the movie for someone who has read the book, others can have one look and one look only.
July 28, 2012
A movie known more for it's title than the actual movie itself. If you want to ramp up the suspense, artificial or not, two easy ways to do that are by confining the space and remoteness so a submarine in the arctic qualifies for both. Add in the cold-war, espionage, and treason and this should be a no-brainer but that is not always the case.
The cast is solid with Hudson leading the way and doing a good job in a dramatic role, Borgnine's accent seemed to go in and out.
There is always a problem with submarine sabotage just in the logistics of it and sorry when the sub is that deep and that close to the arctic the water temp would of caused hypothermia making this scene unrealistic.
Granted this is the late 60's but some of the special effects seemed odd, especially anything to do with ice.
Still the story and for the most part the acting keep this at a steady stream of suspense to make it watchable.
½ July 26, 2012
Ahhh....so so; watched it while cooped up in the hospital.
½ July 23, 2012
Ok kinda action spy movie about satellites falling to earth and people desperate to get to it, in the arctic. So subs, spies and lots and lots of fake looking ice and snow, the main problem is that this moves incredibly slow and then seems to wrap up really fast in the last 20 minutes.
July 11, 2012
In spite of a high profile star cast( Rock Hudson, Patrick McGoohan, Ernest Borgnine, Jim Brown) and some great submarine shoots, the movie really fails to engage much. Alistair Maclean's novel was an excellent thriller, that managed to keep the tension till the end, the movie on the other hand, just keeps meandering especially in the 2nd half, to a climax that really does not make much sense.
June 26, 2012
According to people that I know who have read his books, Alistair MacLean novels have a tendency to be pretty formula and talky. I am not sure if that was the case with "Ice Station Zebra," but that may have been reason why this movie is a near disaster. A Soviet satellite crashes into the Arctic Ocean, of which a submarine sent with a quite a few individuals, including head Rock Hudson and Russian Ernest Borgnine. What could have been a fascinating, intense epic turned in 152 minute ordeal to watch, with nothing happening for virtually the whole film and an awful insignificant conclusion. There is not one ounce of suspense, nor interesting performance, and has so much talk that is enough send anyone into dreamland...hopefully for a better movie the next time around. Cast and everything else used are wasted. Ranks among the most boring high profile films from the 1960's.
May 8, 2012
Classic Cold War thriller. The first part leading up to reaching the station features strong performances from Hudson, McGoohan and Borgnine. Latter part is confused and confusing, with the whiteout on the ice and a double agent within the team adding to the chaotic environment. Strong ending, excellent cinematography. Overall very enjoyable. Said to have been loosely based on a real incident.
March 30, 2012
A good picture to be rebooted someday, and shortened. Even for it's time the production was rather trite. Seeming more like a TV movie than a feature film. It does have some good moments of suspense; just altogether done rather poorly.
March 28, 2012
good cold war era thriller
½ August 17, 2011
Hey - what can I say? I worship Patrick McGoohan. It was Howard Hughes' favourite...?
July 15, 2011
A very dramatic and poignent story; well acted.
½ July 7, 2011
Has some pacing issues, but it's professionally acted (by Hudson, McGoohan, and Borgnine), beautifully filmed and designed, and has some tense set pieces.
Super Reviewer
½ June 24, 2011
Ice Station Zebra is based off of a novel by Alistair MacLean. Many of his novels have been made into film and have done well. This film is no exception. First with a all star cast of Rock Husdon, Patrick McGoohan, Ernest Borgnine and ex NFL player Jim Brown they are all excellent in their roles. The story has a American submarine taking a British agent, a ex-Russian agent and a group of Marines to Ice Station Zebra to recover a downed satellite. Of course there is a traitor on the submarine trying to make sure only the USSR gets the satellite. The story is very realistic and intense at times. The film has you guessing who the traitor is till the end. The story is a cold war suspense that is entertaining and well done. The film has a great look and still holds up to most of films made today. IF you enjoyed other Alistair MacLean novel films such as "The Guns of Navarone", Force 10 from Navarone" or "Where Eagles Dare" then check this film out. Well worth the watch.
½ June 16, 2011
An unbelievably flat movie single handedly held not-quite-together by Patrick McGoohan. Sadly, his main effect is perhaps to expose Hudson as an animated bit of wood and make ever more painful the delivery of Borgnine's grandly fake 'russiken' accent. Jim Brown is too rote but has a few nice lines also. The chief fault, though, is the incoherent, plodding script that doomed the enterprise from the outset: fully 90 minutes could be deleted with no ill effect and you can forget about plot logic, which is eschewed in order to cram in an amazing amount of pedantic, expository dialogue (mainly from Hudson).

Nevertheless the film does have one legitimately great bit: the sequence in which the sub begins to take on water from sabotage, and its immediate aftermath is fantastic, taut and everything the rest of the movie should be.
June 8, 2011
This is to date the most interesting and well done cold war intrigue film I have seen with a groovy performance by the late Patrick McGoohan.
½ May 21, 2011
The ending fight over it didn't make a lot of sense, after all that.
March 13, 2011
Decent cold war action thriller dispite the dodgy accents and sets.
½ February 1, 2011
A cold, cold, 'cold-war' film.
Page 2 of 8