The Ice Storm - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ice Storm Reviews

Page 1 of 4
January 1, 2000
The Ice Storm is a movie that's trapped under the ice, and it'll leave you feeling the same way.
September 28, 2004
A quarter of a century ago, Martin Scorsese's Taxi Driver dealt with the same issues more successfully.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/10
January 1, 2000
'Come back with us to those rolicking years of the 1970's and watch two dysfunctional families dysfunction!' I know you want to sign up right now.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 1, 2000
A little too slow for my own jive.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
January 1, 2000
Over and over again in Austen, [Lee's] framing, his course of action, his editing suited and amplified the essence of the scene. But here everything in his directing, absolutely everything, is banal.
January 1, 2000
I don't know when I've seen actors realize so many affecting moments in such a muddled conception. Lee's aestheticized approach is its own kind of ice storm.
January 1, 2000
With The Ice Storm, Lee seems to have emphasized the details of cultural accuracy over the rudiments of telling a gripping drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 1, 2000
[D]espite good performances and fine intentions, ultimately fails.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
February 14, 2001
It's unfortunate that as capable a team as director Lee and screenwriter-producer Schamus should have become fascinated with such unpromising material.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
June 5, 2002
Rather than being moved or transfixed, you feel frozen and impartial, almost as disengaged as the characters themselves.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
June 12, 2013
Drug use and sexual content in Ang Lee masterpiece.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 2, 2006
...a black comedy ... that ultimately acquires Hitchcockian levels of suspense.
Read More | Original Score: 91/100
January 1, 2000
Despite its mordant undertones, the film is often satirical and frequently very funny, and quietly observant in its performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
January 1, 2000
The Ice Storm is perceptive about people, relationships, and human nature, and there's not a single moment in the entire 112 minute running length that rings false.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
July 26, 2002
| Original Score: 5/5
February 27, 2014
I think one of the things [Ang Lee] really specializes in is ensemble pieces like this one.
February 27, 2014
What struck me about it was the fluidity and discipline of Lee's direction, the performances which captured so beautifully the confusion of that period of cultural and sexual evolution, and the compassion which I think is a feature of all of Lee's films.
July 28, 2008
A well-observed and deftly performed examination of upper-middle-class emotional deep freeze...
September 24, 2007
A rich and elegant drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 1, 2000
This is one of those films in which nothing seems to be 'happening,' but in retrospect, when it's over, everything seems to have happened.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 4