Il Paese del sesso selvaggio (Man from Deep River) (Sacrifice!) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Il Paese del sesso selvaggio (Man from Deep River) (Sacrifice!) Reviews

Page 2 of 3
ScoopOnline
Super Reviewer
½ December 14, 2009
He dared the forbidden river where adventure ends and hell begins!
½ November 17, 2009
I'm not terribly well versed when it comes to the Italian Cannibal films. I know a good deal about them but I have seen only a small few. However, I do know that Man from Deep River is quite differant. It's serious and tense but it doesn't feature the awful dread that many others do, largly becasue this is among the first. Easier to watch than many others in the subgenre (but still featuring genuine animal deaths) Man from Deep River is an interesting adventure movie and beautiful locals.
½ July 29, 2009
Umberto Lenzis The Man from Deep River is the first feature film that combines two of the classic Italian Mondo elements from the 60s ; animal cruelty and bizarre interest in primitive tribe rituals - the template for later cannibal movies. But this is a cannibal film with a plot - stolen from A Man Called Horse (1970.) A photographer is on assignment in Bangkok. After killing a guy in self-defense, he escapes into the jungle. There he is captured by a tribe of natives. This is not as bloody as Lenzis later movies (eaten alive from 1980, and Cannibal Ferox from 1981) and it is the rituals that are the most bizarre here. Only a single cannibal scene! (The same scene is also used in eaten Alive) + the obligatory doses of animal killings, torture and rape. Mediocre all the way, but still interesting. More of a adventure film this really.----------

Umberto Lenzis The Man from Deep River er den forste spillefilmen som kombinerer to av de klassiske italienske Mondofilm-elementene fra 60-tallet; brutalitet ovenfor dyr og interessen for primitive stammers ritualer og kultur - noe som ble malen for senere kannibalfilmer. Men dette er en kannibalfilm med handling - knabbet fra den ikke ukjente "A Man Called Horse" fra 1970. En fotograf er paa oppdrag i Bangkok. Etter aa ha drept en fyr i selvforsvar maa han tutle avgaarde inn i jungelen. Der blir han tatt til fange av de innfodte. Dette er ikke saa blodig som Lenzis senere filmer (Eaten Alive fra 1980 og Cannibal Ferox fra 1981) og det er vel ritualene som er det mest bizarre her. Kun en enslig kannibalscene blir vi servert. Den er til gjengjeld ganske heftig.(Den samme scenen brukes snodig nok ogsaa i Eaten Alive). Ellers er dette kultfilm paa det jevne. Middelmaadig spilt og med de obligatoriske doser med dyredrap, tortur og voldtekt.
Akkurat godkjent faar vi konstatere mens vi henter pizzaen ut av ovnen.
March 23, 2009
I'm giving this film 2 stars because it's the father of all modern cannibal films. Shot by legendary Umberto Lenzi, it features a nice music score, and Me Me Lai has her nicest role here, she exudes exotic beauty and plays her character with passion. Ivan Rassimov is great too. It can't get a 3 stars because the pace is too slow.
½ November 24, 2008
My favorite of all Cannibal Movies . This was the first known successful Cannibal Movie , and a few imitations followed . Me Me Lai is superb , and so is Ivan Rassimov the two protagonists . This was shot in the real jungles of Thailand with real tribes .
½ November 21, 2008
Not as graphic as later entries in the cannibal trend but unfortunately still has some animal cruelty but has more of a character development style than most. Those expecting holocaust or ferox will probably be very disappointed.
September 9, 2008
First of its kind this is a disturbing and unflinching italian mondo/cannibal film. The mongoose/cobra battle was gnarly!
August 31, 2008
good cannibal movie, even if just one person got eaten. one things fir sure, there is no one who can say "no animals were harmed during the making of this film". that goat scene was gnarly!
½ June 10, 2008
The movie that started the entire cannibal sub-genre of horror--THE MAN FROM DEEP RIVER is a gory and well-done horror film that I highly recommend checking out. I like how director Umberto Lenzi had the villagers speak their native tongue (without subtitles) to make the film even more realistic from the American's point-of-view. The sad thing about this movie is that it's NOT all that brutal and fans who are looking for another CANNIBAL HOLOCAUST or FEROX will not find it here. If you want a good survival story with a nice helping of blood and not a run-of-the-mill cannibal film, then THE MAN FROM DEEP RIVER is a movie you should be dying to check out.
½ May 27, 2008
A very good start for the cannibal/jungle subgenre of Italian cinema. It's actually a decent look into tribal life with only a hint of cannibalism towards the end. Great mondo footage will surely disgust some viewers.
April 28, 2008
Good first attempt at a Cannibal film..if i remember correctly it is the film that started that Sub-Genre..Directed by Umberto Lenzi (Cannibal Ferox)
½ April 6, 2008
Halfway between a Mondo and a cannibal movie, this features a fair amount of patronising silliness about "natives" and a rather sappy Westerner/villager romance which crosses Pocohontas with Love Story. There's a relentless amount of animal cruelty on show - snakes, crocodiles and monkeys are slaughters on camera & a mongoose fights a cobra - and this co-exists with some genuinely interesting questions about so-called civilised life and the way in which an individual can integrate into any environment you put him into.
½ March 26, 2008
the first of the Italian Cannibal films, and not nearly the best. Not a bad movie in it's own right, but slow as hell, and it's really not a horror movie. Bit of a letdown.
March 8, 2008
One of the movies included in the Cannibal-box I bought. Pretty amusing jungle story, not much cannibalism, but the tempo is decent and it has everything a cannibal flick should have (including som pointless animal tortures, hmph).
February 12, 2008
More like a romantic movie with lots of skin than a cannibal movie with lots of blood.
Super Reviewer
½ February 8, 2008
low budget but enjoyable "cannibal" movie. to be honest there's a lack of cannibals until the last ten minutes... it's more of an adventure flick than anything remotely creepy. the acting was so so. i thought me me lai got into the part pretty well... plus she runs around in it alot... well... just watch it... ha hah
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
½ December 13, 2007
This is an Italian Cannibal Flix. Not sure how this one got on my list. Some good scenes like when they cut the tounge off of two capture Cannibals. Don't think they can run the disclaimer, no animals were hurt in this film, POOR MONKEY. Guess they are selling this now in a 3 disk set called Cannibal Lunch Box. What I learned from this movie was "Just When You Think Your in Paradise,,,Wham the Cannibals Show Up. Enjoy
December 3, 2007
the 1st of the italian cannibal sub genre i saw it after the others, whom borrow scene liberally from this film..literally..a strong fim but not as gory as it's put out to be
½ September 21, 2007
Very well photographed and directed jungle adventure film. Not at all what I expected as this is usually marketed as one of those Italian Cannibal movies. There are elements of Cannibalism in there, but only tangentially.
Page 2 of 3