Il Divo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Il Divo Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 2, 2010
A fascinating history of recent Italian politics.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 5, 2009
... not so much a savage satire as one disenchanted with the institutional corruption of politics.
September 11, 2009
... Sorrentino avoids the dreary conventions of the biopic in favor of a cheeky mix of music montages, dramatic re-enactments and hilariously deadpan takes ....
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
September 2, 2009
Combining clammy skin, busy hands, and a posture reminiscent of Snoopy in his vulture phase, [Servillo] (re-)creates a fascinating monster ... Given some CliffsNotes, the surrounding film might even be worthy of him.
August 23, 2009
The film takes flight on the brilliant title performance by Tony Servillo (Gomorrah), who plays Andreotti like a mummified Alec Guinness, as if encased in layers of plaster of Paris.
July 21, 2009
Inventive and fun... Toni Servillo gives a truly exquisite performance, easily the finest seen on U.S. screens in 2009 thus far.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
July 10, 2009
This is a spectacular film about corruption in high places, specifically as that relates to the political life of Giulio Andreotti, seven times prime minister of Italy and a senator for life.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 10, 2009
We may not know the man, but we know the dance, as seen in the highly diverting and hugely controversial Il Divo, a biopic as wly as its subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 10, 2009
A stunning piece of work that feels both familiar and completely unique at the same time.
July 9, 2009
Servillo does such a good job of suggesting the drive and intelligence of the man that he automatically becomes one of the great recent cinematic symbols of absolute political power and the questionable means utilized in order to achieve it.
July 9, 2009
After I saw Il Divo, I suppose I should have felt indignation. I suppose I should also have felt that way after "The Godfather." But such films present such mesmerizing figures that I simply regard them, astonished.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 2, 2009
Even with no knowledge of Italian government, you can enjoy this hip, un-stodgy, grimly entertaining dissection of it.
Full Review | Original Score: A
June 30, 2009
The enigmatic Andreotti is the perfect subject for a biopic in the European tradition.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 26, 2009
You may not leave the theater with a firmer grasp of Italian politics, but you will leave with an appreciation of some outstanding filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 26, 2009
There is sufficient power in the imagery and performances to make Il Divo worth hacking through.
Read More | Original Score: B
June 5, 2009
All in all, this phenomenal film illustrates Alexis de Tocqueville's observation that "The people get the government they deserve." In both meanings of the word, Il Divo is sensational.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
June 4, 2009
Il Divo joins Matteo Garrone's more expansive, more extraordinary Gomorrah -- which contains an even better performance from Servillo -- as a grim portrait of the trouble with modern Italy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 29, 2009
...we get a in depth look into Italian politics. But, you don't need to be familiar with that country's volatile recent years to enjoy a fine piece of filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 28, 2009
Should you go into this movie with no knowledge of this slice of history, you'll not only learn something, but you'll be so entertained you may find yourself laughing out loud (when you're not shaking your head).
Full Review | Original Score: B+
May 28, 2009
A must-see for political junkies of any nationality.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 3