I'll Sleep When I'm Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'll Sleep When I'm Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 5
February 10, 2005
I'll Sleep When I'm Dead deftly traces the sad, steady pulse just under the skin of things . . . the lingering images etching out their own fitting epitaph.
September 8, 2004
[S]trip[s] the mobster film down to its bare essentials, and the result is stark and relentless...
September 3, 2004
Ace noir title, OK noir movie.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
August 23, 2004
...a kind of inside-out noir, a stately film about the sad progress of a diminished and sad but still frightful and dangerous monster.
Read More | Original Score: B-
August 13, 2004
... Hodges is the kind of director who can breathe new life into old material with an offhand, deceptively minimalist approach.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 13, 2004
In the end, it is the complex aura surrounding Owen's character...that stay with the viewer long after the threads of the story have unraveled in one's mind.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 6, 2004
Hodges' films are grinders and chiselers. Dry and satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 5, 2004
While "Get Carter" had the visceral nastiness of an electric guitar solo, "I'll Sleep When I'm Dead" is more like a mournful jazz riff, atmospheric and unresolved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 30, 2004
This one's more about mood than anything else. Specifically, it's that gritty, sleek, film noir feeling that Hodges seems drawn to, and which this film delivers in spades.
July 30, 2004
Matching the movie's restrained style, Owen is extraordinarily still, and all the more riveting because of it.
Read More | Original Score: B+
July 29, 2004
A tight, well-made, evocative piece of filmmaking for true connoisseurs of gangster movies that is unnerving, yet completely sure of every step it takes.
July 23, 2004
Owen has some very un-Bond-like accessories here -- a hillbilly beard, a sleeping bag, a chainsaw -- but his commanding performance keeps I'll Sleep solid.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 23, 2004
This is Owen's picture. He broods, he seethes, he plots. Sometimes he even speaks, but it's not necessary. One glance from Will is enough to send chills down anyone's spine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2004
A scarred-up, bare-knuckled fighter in Palookaville, pretty in its pug-ugly grace, and dangerous, too.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2004
Perhaps a little too slow and not much of a payoff, but this latest from the infrequent Mike Hodges will do until he's ready for another.
Full Review
July 16, 2004
Those with the patience to adapt to its pace will find rewards.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 16, 2004
Hodges (Get Carter, Croupier) delivers another splendidly stylish thriller that's full of dark atmosphere and discordant notes.
Read More | Original Score: B+
July 12, 2004
Thumbs way up ...
July 11, 2004
...continually thwarts genre expectations with its somber, thoughtful treatment of the brutal subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
July 9, 2004
Mood and portent can conceal any number of flaws in movies about the thug life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 5