I'll Sleep When I'm Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'll Sleep When I'm Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
August 12, 2004
Though the film is your basic revenge tale, it moves at such a snail's pace that the visceral excitement of the genre is nowhere to be found.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
July 16, 2004
The pleasures that even a brutal, intelligent thriller should deliver are in short supply.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
June 30, 2004
Preston's stiff screenplay hangs heavy with neo-Mamet expletives and psychological blather about the mind of the rapist and the immutability of evil.
Eric D. Snider
January 29, 2004
No, I'll go ahead and sleep NOW, thank you.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Stephen Hunter
Washington Post
July 2, 2004
It has great mood and a sense of the toughness of the London underworld, but it never really gets into gear.
Jeff Otto
IGN Movies
July 2, 2004
Quite possibly the most boring tale of bad to the bone British thugs I can remember.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
February 13, 2004
Hodges builds a quiet and atmospheric sense of foreboding. But it never takes off.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Gabriel Shanks
Mixed Reviews
June 24, 2004
A languid study in remorse and revenge that loses its way pretty quickly, sludging through an impenetrable veneer of icy listlessness.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Carlo Cavagna
July 6, 2004
Stylish filmmaking and philosophical musings can only disguise a lack of movement for so long. The trouble with I'll Sleep When I'm Dead is that it's already dead...
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Sean Axmaker
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
July 16, 2004
Hodges cuts the film like a diamond, but it's just an exercise in cut glass, an impressive surface that only looks tough.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Dan Lybarger
Kansas City Star
August 20, 2004
Hodges and Preston have a commendable attitude, but with the thin story and shallow characters, even the right idea doesn't seem as interesting as it should be.
Full Review| Original Score: 2/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
November 18, 2004
Atmospheric post-noir film of the London underworld that never amounts to much of anything.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
June 15, 2004
Hodges is clearly attempting a restrained, art-film ellipticism by letting us know very little about his characters, but because everyone's working hard at being underworld-movie cool, we come away utterly empty-handed.
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
June 18, 2004
An atmospheric but sluggish and needlessly confusing British contemporary film noir that may indeed leave some audience members struggling to stay awake.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
June 18, 2004
This plodding British revenge thriller has less energy than a pint of Bass that has sat out overnight.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
June 18, 2004
Works to shake free of noir directives, to the point where it loses direction altogether.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Stephen Whitty
Newark Star-Ledger
June 18, 2004
All that talent, all going to waste.
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
July 8, 2004
I always sleep when I'm deadly bored.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
July 9, 2004
Feels undernourished in plot, characterization, and dialogue, and what should play with minimalist high tension is allowed to sag lower and lower until it simply grounds out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
July 16, 2004
Stylish as it may be, it's as though someone has already remade Get Carter badly and Hodges is set on showing how it should have been done.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5