I'll Sleep When I'm Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'll Sleep When I'm Dead Reviews

August 6, 2004
Languorous, elliptical and dull.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 30, 2004
Matching the movie's restrained style, Owen is extraordinarily still, and all the more riveting because of it.
Read More | Original Score: B+
July 29, 2004
A tight, well-made, evocative piece of filmmaking for true connoisseurs of gangster movies that is unnerving, yet completely sure of every step it takes.
July 23, 2004
This is Owen's picture. He broods, he seethes, he plots. Sometimes he even speaks, but it's not necessary. One glance from Will is enough to send chills down anyone's spine.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 22, 2004
Unfortunately, the characters and their motivations are so poorly defined that the story seems vague and incomplete.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
July 16, 2004
Those with the patience to adapt to its pace will find rewards.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 16, 2004
Dead could have used a direct blast of energy at some point instead of the trickle it finally gets. This film's already asleep.
Read More | Original Score: C-
July 16, 2004
Stylish as it may be, it's as though someone has already remade Get Carter badly and Hodges is set on showing how it should have been done.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
July 16, 2004
Hodges (Get Carter, Croupier) delivers another splendidly stylish thriller that's full of dark atmosphere and discordant notes.
Read More | Original Score: B+
July 16, 2004
The pleasures that even a brutal, intelligent thriller should deliver are in short supply.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 12, 2004
Thumbs way up ...
July 9, 2004
Mood and portent can conceal any number of flaws in movies about the thug life.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 9, 2004
Feels undernourished in plot, characterization, and dialogue, and what should play with minimalist high tension is allowed to sag lower and lower until it simply grounds out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
July 9, 2004
There is a tangible pleasure in following enigmatic characters through the shadows of their lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 8, 2004
I always sleep when I'm deadly bored.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
July 2, 2004
The spare and unsparing tone of I'll Sleep When I'm Dead makes it as existential -- and as original -- a whodunit as they come.
July 2, 2004
It has great mood and a sense of the toughness of the London underworld, but it never really gets into gear.
June 30, 2004
Preston's stiff screenplay hangs heavy with neo-Mamet expletives and psychological blather about the mind of the rapist and the immutability of evil.
June 30, 2004
Does the film work? All I know is that it stays in my mind for its ambitiously autumnal essence, but it may not be everyone's cup of tea.
June 29, 2004
A consciously anti-dramatic, contempo Western, set in Wales and London, in which echoes of oaters ring loud but without much resonance.
June 19, 2004
I'll Sleep When I'm Dead is an elegiac movie, but it's flinty, too.
June 18, 2004
All that talent, all going to waste.
June 18, 2004
Works to shake free of noir directives, to the point where it loses direction altogether.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2004
This plodding British revenge thriller has less energy than a pint of Bass that has sat out overnight.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2004
An atmospheric but sluggish and needlessly confusing British contemporary film noir that may indeed leave some audience members struggling to stay awake.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
June 17, 2004
Revenge is a dish served again and again in the movies, and connoisseurs will note the special British flavor that Mike Hodges brings to the table.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 17, 2004
[Hodges] still knows how to unspool a mystery with a hypnotic pace of sadistic intrigue.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 15, 2004
Hodges is clearly attempting a restrained, art-film ellipticism by letting us know very little about his characters, but because everyone's working hard at being underworld-movie cool, we come away utterly empty-handed.
June 14, 2004
This is a movie that will put ADD sufferers to sleep, while simultaneously rewarding those who have the patience to see it through.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 29, 2003
I'll Sleep When I'm Dead may take its place with Get Carter as a classic British gangster film.