I'm Not There - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm Not There Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Sean Axmaker
Seanax.com
March 24, 2016
...not a biography by any conventional definition but an impressionistic survey of the artist, his art, his interaction (and at times collision) with the culture he both grabs onto and flees, and the mystery that still surrounds Dylan.
Michael Joshua Rowin
Stop Smiling
September 30, 2014
Since much of I'm Not There falls short in the lived moment, its individual threads don't lead back to Haynes's larger concerns.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
April 28, 2011
I'm Not There is a very special kind of life and times. It leaves ordinary musical biopics like Ray and Walk the Line and Beyond the Sea in the dust.
June 12, 2010
Haynes' film has no straight lines, it is all collage and pastiche and an endless series of intersections that all, quite improbably, lead to a startlingly accurate (if abstracted) vision of the many faces of Dylan.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Where is the defiant, sensuous expansiveness of Dylan's songs?
Tony Macklin
Fayetteville Free Weekly
February 2, 2009
I'm Not There is coy and fatuous, but it also can be intriguing and thought-provoking. But I'm Not There makes us consider Dylan with new eyes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.0/5
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
June 13, 2008
Abstract expressionism, paying tribute to its hero in a fashion every bit as enigmatic and chameleon-like as the man himself. Is it a faux-documentary? Is it a biographical drama? At times, it is both. In the end, we are left with an ambitious misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Marty Mapes
Movie Habit
May 22, 2008
Full of Dylanology, Dylanography and Dylanerbole... if that's your thing
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
May 7, 2008
The director's disappointment in Dylan's downward metamorphosis from outlaw poet, prophet and political idealist to cynic, egotist, wasted stoner, Jesus freak and recluse, is palpable, with a symbolic dirge for a body that has outlived its art.
May 1, 2008
Haynes is brilliant at tearing off the top of his own head and giving audiences a peek into his pop obsessions.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
April 16, 2008
Not particularly entertaining or enlightening, but it is slow-moving and long.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Pablo Villaça
Cinema em Cena
March 25, 2008
Uma das cinebiografias mais atípicas e, por isto mesmo, mais fiéis ao espírito criativo de seu biografado que já tive o prazer de assistir.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 4, 2008
Director Todd Haynes takes an artistic leap, I just don't want to catch all of the finished product.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
February 10, 2008
So self-aware and dull, you wonder what's the point of Haynes being experimental if his experiment doesn't yield something that's compelling or, at the very least, entertaining. Insight might have been a goal, but there's no insight here.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
January 31, 2008
Perhaps the whole weird, scattershot thing might play better when you can skip-search to your favorite bits.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
January 28, 2008
It doesn't strike me that this multi-metaphorical experiment succeeds in illuminating a soaring talent who keeps his private life private and has always denied the hungry press any hints about the meanings in his songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Mark Palermo
The Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
January 15, 2008
I'm Not There becomes another boomer ode to the cultural supremacy of the sixties.
Full Review
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
January 9, 2008
The iconoclastic film about the idiosyncratic artist is truly an inventive film but not an easy one to come to grips with or instantly enjoy.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
January 4, 2008
There are those who will applaud what Haynes and his actors have accomplished, and I can understand its appeal on an intellectual level. But I am not a supporter of film without form or art without structure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Eric Melin
Scene-Stealers.com
December 30, 2007
By mirroring Dylan's concepts with his music and avoiding both the biographical route and the songs-tell-a-story route, Haynes creates the most provocative, electric examination of an artist in years.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 8