I'm Not There - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm Not There Reviews

Page 1 of 8
January 4, 2008
There are those who will applaud what Haynes and his actors have accomplished, and I can understand its appeal on an intellectual level. But I am not a supporter of film without form or art without structure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 13, 2008
Abstract expressionism, paying tribute to its hero in a fashion every bit as enigmatic and chameleon-like as the man himself. Is it a faux-documentary? Is it a biographical drama? At times, it is both. In the end, we are left with an ambitious misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
August 27, 2009
Where is the defiant, sensuous expansiveness of Dylan's songs?
November 26, 2007
Empty, literal nostalgia...Haynes brings the detached cool, making his exercise in self-indulgent nostalgia safe for hipsters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
October 19, 2007
An intellectual whirligig lacking depth or soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 4, 2008
Director Todd Haynes takes an artistic leap, I just don't want to catch all of the finished product.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
September 5, 2007
Lacks a narrative and a center, much like the "ghost" at its core.
November 30, 2007
How does it feeeel? Like a rolling shambles, much of it, and even a second viewing doesn't erase the sensation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 22, 2007
Despite its inventive setup, it lacks a coherent narrative.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
October 3, 2007
A beautifully shot, brilliantly acted incoherent mess, ranking up there with David Lynch's Inland Empire as one of the most inscrutable films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 28, 2007
Alas, this isn't the first time that writer/director Haynes has created a film with a stunning conceit that never reels in its audience.
December 21, 2007
Not a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 21, 2007
One can only hope that Dylan fans will get something out of this because to everyone else it's just a disjointed mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
February 10, 2008
So self-aware and dull, you wonder what's the point of Haynes being experimental if his experiment doesn't yield something that's compelling or, at the very least, entertaining. Insight might have been a goal, but there's no insight here.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 13, 2007
A kaleidoscopic, non-linear meditation with little coherence, it's bizarre, discordant and surreal - recommended only for Dylan devotees, definitely not a mainstream movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
November 20, 2007
Tiresome and plodding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 21, 2007
Anyone can make a bad movie, but it takes a good filmmaker to make one as bad as I'm Not There.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 28, 2008
It doesn't strike me that this multi-metaphorical experiment succeeds in illuminating a soaring talent who keeps his private life private and has always denied the hungry press any hints about the meanings in his songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
November 21, 2007
I'm Not There would make a fine exercise for graduate school analysis. I'm just not sure how well it works as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 29, 2007
ponderous and self-absorbed
| Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 8