I'm Not There - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm Not There Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
January 4, 2008
There are those who will applaud what Haynes and his actors have accomplished, and I can understand its appeal on an intellectual level. But I am not a supporter of film without form or art without structure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
June 13, 2008
Abstract expressionism, paying tribute to its hero in a fashion every bit as enigmatic and chameleon-like as the man himself. Is it a faux-documentary? Is it a biographical drama? At times, it is both. In the end, we are left with an ambitious misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
August 27, 2009
Where is the defiant, sensuous expansiveness of Dylan's songs?
Karina Longworth
November 26, 2007
Empty, literal nostalgia...Haynes brings the detached cool, making his exercise in self-indulgent nostalgia safe for hipsters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
October 19, 2007
An intellectual whirligig lacking depth or soul.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Jeff Bayer
The Scorecard Review
March 4, 2008
Director Todd Haynes takes an artistic leap, I just don't want to catch all of the finished product.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Todd McCarthy
September 5, 2007
Lacks a narrative and a center, much like the "ghost" at its core.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
November 30, 2007
How does it feeeel? Like a rolling shambles, much of it, and even a second viewing doesn't erase the sensation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
November 22, 2007
Despite its inventive setup, it lacks a coherent narrative.
| Original Score: 2/4
Amber Wilkinson
Eye for Film
October 3, 2007
A beautifully shot, brilliantly acted incoherent mess, ranking up there with David Lynch's Inland Empire as one of the most inscrutable films of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Harry Chotiner
November 28, 2007
Alas, this isn't the first time that writer/director Haynes has created a film with a stunning conceit that never reels in its audience.
Anthony Quinn
Independent (UK)
December 21, 2007
Not a lot of fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Filip Vukcevic
IGN Movies
September 21, 2007
One can only hope that Dylan fans will get something out of this because to everyone else it's just a disjointed mess.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
February 10, 2008
So self-aware and dull, you wonder what's the point of Haynes being experimental if his experiment doesn't yield something that's compelling or, at the very least, entertaining. Insight might have been a goal, but there's no insight here.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Susan Granger
November 13, 2007
A kaleidoscopic, non-linear meditation with little coherence, it's bizarre, discordant and surreal - recommended only for Dylan devotees, definitely not a mainstream movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Top Critic
Bruce Newman
San Jose Mercury News
November 20, 2007
Tiresome and plodding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
November 21, 2007
Anyone can make a bad movie, but it takes a good filmmaker to make one as bad as I'm Not There.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
January 28, 2008
It doesn't strike me that this multi-metaphorical experiment succeeds in illuminating a soaring talent who keeps his private life private and has always denied the hungry press any hints about the meanings in his songs.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
November 21, 2007
I'm Not There would make a fine exercise for graduate school analysis. I'm just not sure how well it works as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Sean O'Connell
Charlotte Weekly
November 29, 2007
ponderous and self-absorbed
| Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 8