I'm Not There - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm Not There Reviews

November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
January 4, 2008
There are those who will applaud what Haynes and his actors have accomplished, and I can understand its appeal on an intellectual level. But I am not a supporter of film without form or art without structure.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 30, 2007
Only devout Dylan fans will be able to derive much sense out of it. Dylan novices can only sit back and surrender to the ride Haynes offers: It's a strange, surreal trip.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 30, 2007
How does it feeeel? Like a rolling shambles, much of it, and even a second viewing doesn't erase the sensation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 30, 2007
To enjoy I'm Not There you should be just a little bit Dylan-crazy, fascinated by his talent, ornery personality and enduring cultural influence.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 27, 2007
I think it's really interesting stuff and I enjoyed every aspect of it.
November 27, 2007
It doesn't all work and it runs too long. But every fragment of Dylan's life, every version of him, from the funny to the tippy, rings true.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 27, 2007
It willfully denies one of the sacred tenets of cinematic storytelling, that every movie -- comedy, romance or biography -- is actually a mystery, one the audience expects to see solved.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
November 24, 2007
A kaleidoscopic masterpiece...The genius of "I'm Not There" is that the Dylan who could answer our questions is left blowin' in the wind.
Read More | Original Score: A
November 24, 2007
I'm Not There feels like the most alive work to hit the screen in ages.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 22, 2007
Despite its inventive setup, it lacks a coherent narrative.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
November 21, 2007
Anyone can make a bad movie, but it takes a good filmmaker to make one as bad as I'm Not There.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
November 21, 2007
The missteps don't detract from the thrilling brilliance of the filmmaking (aided by the remarkable cinematographer Ed Lachman), or dim the sense that Haynes was right in deciding that the fractions of the man would add up to more than the man himself.
Read More | Original Score: B+
November 21, 2007
I'm Not There offers up a daring conceit and then falls apart trying to fulfill it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
November 21, 2007
What emerges is a speculative, critical essay about the 60s, weighted down in spots by political correctness and a conflicted desire to mock Dylan's denseness while catering to his hardcore fans, but otherwise lively, fluid, and watchable.
November 21, 2007
The singular haunting beauty of I'm Not There, Todd Haynes' thrilling deep-vision meditation on the music and many lives of Bob Dylan, is that obsession isn't just its fuel -- it's the movie's spirit and subject, its driving force.
Full Review | Original Score: A
November 21, 2007
The film is bracingly original; it's also mystifying, overlong and at times nearly incoherent. Floating at a distance from its audience, it creates its own smoky logic.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 21, 2007
...there's one great movie in here.
November 21, 2007
A vividly imagined homage to the evolving music and enigmatic figure we know as Bob Dylan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 21, 2007
Writer-director Todd Haynes has come up with the most interesting psycho-cultural-biographical mix in memory here, managing to make the film reek of the artsy '60s at the same time it unfailingly honors its subject.
Full Review | Original Score: B
November 21, 2007
A challenging film, one that I suspect can only benefit from multiple viewings. The success of its approaches varies, but its intent is unfailingly interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 21, 2007
I'm Not There is an uncompromising, beautifully wrought essay on identity, artistic and otherwise.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 21, 2007
What Haynes does is take away the reassuring segues that argue everything flows and makes sense, and to show what's really chaos under the skin of the film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 21, 2007
I'm Not There would make a fine exercise for graduate school analysis. I'm just not sure how well it works as a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
November 21, 2007
Among its many achievements, Todd Haynes's I'm Not There hurls a Molotov cocktail through the facade of the Hollywood biopic factory.
Read More | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 20, 2007
An exhilarant. Sends you out of the theater just as Dylan (and Rimbaud) would have it: with a riot of perfumes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2007
Even if you're one of those viewers who finds Haynes an overly cerebral director (I'm not), [the] music provides an emotional scaffolding that sustains the film.
November 20, 2007
I appreciate Haynes' craft and ambition. I love the Ledger/Gainsbourg scenes, which are sweet and sad and delicately shaded. And Blanchett's inspired not-quite-impersonation of Dylan is reason enough to tussle with the rest of it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 20, 2007
I'm Not There is at once experimental and mainstream: Haynes juggles the facts, plays fast and loose, but serves up images, and songs that are as much a part of the collective pop consciousness as anything the 20th century produced.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 20, 2007
I'm Not There is brilliant, if often brilliantly surreal, filmmaking.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 20, 2007
I'm Not There takes its audience across a Rubicon of moviegoing disillusionment, apathy and sloth: If you are, as you say, so tired of the old, then here is the new. Embrace it, or please shut up.
Read More | Original Score: 4/4
November 20, 2007
Tiresome and plodding.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 20, 2007
An absorbing, occasionally hallucinatory disquisition on how Dylan has brilliantly eluded his audience's projections.
November 20, 2007
one of the most inventive and joyous movies of the year.
November 20, 2007
When it was over, I couldn't move. Despite a couple of slow stretches -- and Dylan has them, too -- I'm Not There turns out to be worthy of its subject. This isn't faint praise. It's a full-on rave.
November 19, 2007
It makes Yellow Submarine look like a miracle of sober narrative.
November 19, 2007
Todd Haynes has devised a Bob Dylan biopic that not even Dylan, for all his self-mythologizing, would have had the audacity to conceive.
November 15, 2007
A feast for the eyes, the ears and the Dylanologist scratching around our minds and hearts.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 11, 2007
An extraordinary puzzle of a biography that's ripe to be decoded.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/6
October 1, 2007
I cannot believe this is the Todd Haynes who topped my ten-best list in 2002 with the magnificent, unforgettable Far From Heaven. Headed for the No. 1 spot on my ten-worst list, I'm Not There is a tumultuous disappointment.
September 18, 2007
[It] is not only a kaleidoscopic view of events in the life, music and myth of Bob Dylan, but a critical deconstruction and synthesis of Dylan's various media representations.
September 17, 2007
Overall, I'm glad I was there.
September 5, 2007
Lacks a narrative and a center, much like the "ghost" at its core.
September 4, 2007
Inventive and very unusual account of the life and times of Bob Dylan.