I'm So Excited! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm So Excited! Reviews

Page 1 of 7
October 31, 2017
I'm So Excited! isn't very good. In fact, it's close to terrible.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
October 24, 2017
A ribald, ridiculous party in the sky, I'm So Excited is basically Almodóvar's Soul Plane-and I mean that as a compliment.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 6, 2017
A very regressive transition for this Oscar-winning filmmaker.
Full Review | Original Score: D
September 5, 2017
Here's a good rule of thumb: never trust anything bearing an exclamation mark.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 8, 2016
I'm So Excited is so strongly problematic and yet resolutely without much to facilitate worthwhile discussion.
Full Review | Original Score: C
May 10, 2016
I'm So Excited is far from perfect, but as far asmost summer comedies go, the film is more open and accepting of various sexualities and is mostly light-hearted fun-excluding a couple profoundly distasteful scenes.
March 21, 2016
Seeing I'm So Excited, a return to comic form for the director, is like downing the cocktail the passengers and crew drink in the movie without having to come down from that high later.
June 27, 2014
The entertainment factor it delivers is as high and pixilated as it's whacked-out, crazy characters.
November 26, 2013
For a light and naughty festival opener, I'm So Excited! got the job done. The audience saw something kind of sophisticated but didn't experience any real turbulence. Or excitement.
November 1, 2013
"I'm so Excited" shows Pedro Almodovar at his frothiest: shaking sex and death into a humorous cocktail aboard a plane in peril.
September 29, 2013
Think Flying High with a gay cabin crew and no laughs...The story has most of the plane's passengers rendered unconscious, presumably by showing I'm So Excited as the in-flight movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
September 15, 2013
For a cinematic icon to get it so wrong, one has to assume it is deliberate; something to play with
September 15, 2013
Despite an over-weighted gay theme, there's a lot to like in this colourful Almodóvar blast of joie de vivre, as secrets are revealed, desires unleashed and the complexities of relationships are exposed
September 15, 2013
The setting acts as a bland backdrop without substance or thought. Worst of all, the dialogue feels horribly contrived, even lazy. A misguided misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 19, 2013
Disengaged silly spoof of those '70s disaster movies.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
August 9, 2013
It's a sometimes pleasing, and often unsettling movie, proof that Almodovar still has a playful side, but let's hope he goes back to work soon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 8, 2013
Despite the film's playfulness, it's still quite clear that we're in the hands of a master who takes the work seriously, if not the material or his characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 8, 2013
This isn't just camp, it's existential camp -- or, more precisely, an acknowledgment that the camp impulse is one way of dealing with the absurdity of life. 'We're flying around aimlessly,' a man says, 'and we don't know where or how we're going to land.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 6, 2013
Daring though it is, it follows the same trajectory as the wounded plane aboard which the film is set. That is, it circles and circles but never really goes anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 6, 2013
The film is a broad, absurd parody that plays like a gay-cabaret send-up of "The High and the Mighty."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 7