I'm So Excited! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm So Excited! Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Nick Newman
The Film Stage
August 8, 2016
I'm So Excited is so strongly problematic and yet resolutely without much to facilitate worthwhile discussion.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Monica Castillo
Bitch Media
May 10, 2016
I'm So Excited is far from perfect, but as far asmost summer comedies go, the film is more open and accepting of various sexualities and is mostly light-hearted fun-excluding a couple profoundly distasteful scenes.
Hannah Brown
Jerusalem Post
March 21, 2016
Seeing I'm So Excited, a return to comic form for the director, is like downing the cocktail the passengers and crew drink in the movie without having to come down from that high later.
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
June 27, 2014
The entertainment factor it delivers is as high and pixilated as it's whacked-out, crazy characters.
Bob Strauss
Los Angeles Daily News
November 26, 2013
For a light and naughty festival opener, I'm So Excited! got the job done. The audience saw something kind of sophisticated but didn't experience any real turbulence. Or excitement.
Thelma Adams
Yahoo! Movies
November 1, 2013
"I'm so Excited" shows Pedro Almodovar at his frothiest: shaking sex and death into a humorous cocktail aboard a plane in peril.
September 29, 2013
Think Flying High with a gay cabin crew and no laughs...The story has most of the plane's passengers rendered unconscious, presumably by showing I'm So Excited as the in-flight movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Andrew L. Urban
Urban Cinefile
September 15, 2013
For a cinematic icon to get it so wrong, one has to assume it is deliberate; something to play with
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 15, 2013
Despite an over-weighted gay theme, there's a lot to like in this colourful Almodóvar blast of joie de vivre, as secrets are revealed, desires unleashed and the complexities of relationships are exposed
Ed Gibbs
The Sunday Age
September 15, 2013
The setting acts as a bland backdrop without substance or thought. Worst of all, the dialogue feels horribly contrived, even lazy. A misguided misfire.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
August 19, 2013
Disengaged silly spoof of those '70s disaster movies.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
August 9, 2013
It's a sometimes pleasing, and often unsettling movie, proof that Almodovar still has a playful side, but let's hope he goes back to work soon.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
August 8, 2013
Despite the film's playfulness, it's still quite clear that we're in the hands of a master who takes the work seriously, if not the material or his characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
August 8, 2013
This isn't just camp, it's existential camp -- or, more precisely, an acknowledgment that the camp impulse is one way of dealing with the absurdity of life. 'We're flying around aimlessly,' a man says, 'and we don't know where or how we're going to land.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Mike Scott
August 6, 2013
Daring though it is, it follows the same trajectory as the wounded plane aboard which the film is set. That is, it circles and circles but never really goes anywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Bob Bloom
Journal and Courier (Lafayette, IN)
August 6, 2013
The film is a broad, absurd parody that plays like a gay-cabaret send-up of "The High and the Mighty."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Lawrence Toppman
Charlotte Observer
August 2, 2013
Pedro Almodóvar crammed actors he's worked with over the years into a movie so wacky it defies analysis.
| Original Score: B-
Matt Kelemen
August 2, 2013
It's farcical, but not funny; sexualized but not sexy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5
Steve Persall
Tampa Bay Times
July 31, 2013
...an interesting diversion for Almodovar completists, yet hardly explains why he's so revered. It's a throwaway, a bawdy, tasteless lark from someone who should've gotten this stuff out of his system by now. Judging by these results, he did.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
July 26, 2013
Even though I'm So Excited! doesn't soar, the film is a fun flight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 6