I'm So Excited! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

I'm So Excited! Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Monica Castillo
Bitch Media
May 10, 2016
I'm So Excited is far from perfect, but as far asmost summer comedies go, the film is more open and accepting of various sexualities and is mostly light-hearted fun-excluding a couple profoundly distasteful scenes.
Hannah Brown
Jerusalem Post
March 21, 2016
Seeing I'm So Excited, a return to comic form for the director, is like downing the cocktail the passengers and crew drink in the movie without having to come down from that high later.
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
June 27, 2014
The entertainment factor it delivers is as high and pixilated as it's whacked-out, crazy characters.
Thelma Adams
Yahoo! Movies
November 1, 2013
"I'm so Excited" shows Pedro Almodovar at his frothiest: shaking sex and death into a humorous cocktail aboard a plane in peril.
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
September 15, 2013
Despite an over-weighted gay theme, there's a lot to like in this colourful Almodóvar blast of joie de vivre, as secrets are revealed, desires unleashed and the complexities of relationships are exposed
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
ChristyLemire.com
August 8, 2013
Despite the film's playfulness, it's still quite clear that we're in the hands of a master who takes the work seriously, if not the material or his characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
August 8, 2013
This isn't just camp, it's existential camp -- or, more precisely, an acknowledgment that the camp impulse is one way of dealing with the absurdity of life. 'We're flying around aimlessly,' a man says, 'and we don't know where or how we're going to land.'
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Matt Kelemen
AspectRatio.us
August 2, 2013
It's farcical, but not funny; sexualized but not sexy.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5
Marjorie Baumgarten
Austin Chronicle
July 26, 2013
Even though I'm So Excited! doesn't soar, the film is a fun flight.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Tirdad Derakhshani
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 26, 2013
A mescaline-alcohol-and-panic-fueled orgy of confessional dialogue, sex acts, arguments, confessional monologues, and more sex acts.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Charles Ealy
Austin American-Statesman
July 25, 2013
For those who enjoy bawdiness with their comedy, I'm So Excited! will be catnip. For those expecting subtitled sophistication, look elsewhere.
| Original Score: B
Graham Killeen
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
July 25, 2013
Almodóvar joins the mile-high club, setting his films' trademark sexcapades, overwrought telenovella plot twists and bubblegum-colored imagery aboard a doomed airliner.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Williams
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 25, 2013
It's amusing fluff, but from an Oscar-winning dramatist, this return to comedy is a bit of a letdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
T'Cha Dunlevy
Montreal Gazette
July 19, 2013
Though it's a jolly good time, and there are amusing moments of mayhem, I'm So Excited! is not nearly as crazy as its hopeful title suggests.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
James Verniere
Boston Herald
July 12, 2013
Almodovar muse Cecilia Roth is Spain's own Cruella De Vil. Almodovar regular Lola Duenas is a sexy scream as a virgin psychic.
Full Review | Original Score: B plus
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
July 11, 2013
The party in the sky comes to represent Almodovar's faith in the power of imagination, which allows us to transcend even the most horrifying tragedies.
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
July 11, 2013
It's broad, occasionally uproarious, a little wheezy, and every so often inspired.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Keith Phipps
The Dissolve
July 11, 2013
A relentlessly entertaining lark that, like its setting, soars into the clouds, then discovers it doesn't really have a way to get down.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Christopher Null
Film Racket
July 11, 2013
completes the gradual movement in Almodovar's work toward completely mannered farcical soap opera
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
July 10, 2013
"...gleeful self-distraction in the face of impending doom."
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 6