The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 19, 2014
Artsy effects tied to some kind of story.
December 9, 2013
This is a weirdly wonderful film. Its funny, trippy, thought provoking, and re-watchable. This is now my favorite movie. The story centers on a group of janitors who become participants in an ongoing research study for a food company. Dory, a main character, is obsessed with religions and is going through a spiritual crisis. O.C., another main character, is an "artist" and a pretty good guy who is filled with hate for the world. Dory and O.C. become unlikely friends.

SPOILER
Long story short the men end up giving birth to fish like creatures, someone falls in love (maybe), and someone matures.
Super Reviewer
½ October 11, 2013
I have to give credit to David Russo for writing, and directing, a film that is unlike any other out there. It's a strange surrealistic comedy about a group of male janitors who, after eating a batch of incredibly cookies thrown away by the company whose building the clean, start to experience strange hallucinations and, even, pregnancy. The movie's certainly very hard to explain as it is one of those types of movies where you have to see it to get it. And I'm not even sure I did get to be completely honest with you. But what this movie brings is an energetic and imaginative approach to its story. David Russo isn't exactly a master storyteller but it's clear he had something to tell, and I do believe there is an underlying message to all this madness, and I do think that he genuinely wanted to focus on the characters as the driving force of the film and not necessarily its strangeness, even if the strangeness is what, slightly, wins out in the end. So the narrative is certainly full of flaws, but I think its inventiveness, and solid cast and writing, help make this film more than it would've been otherwise. The fact of the matter is that, as goofy as this sounds, its imperfections are part of the charm. I do think that the ending of the film was poor, almost as if they had no other way to end it and chose to go for the quickest and painless way to get out of everything. It's always been really hard for me to review these unique indie films because it's really the type of thing where you have to see it to truly "get" it. I realize that may sound as a cop-out for not writing a better review. But once you see this film, you'll understand what I mean. But yes, I think the movie gets a lot of points for at least going out of its way to do something unique and different, even if its imperfections are glaringly obvious. I still really enjoyed this film. It wouldn't appeal to a mainstream audience, at all, but it is an entertaining little film that is, surprisingly, character-driven. Flawed, but entertainingly ambitious.
May 18, 2013
Waaaaay too weird!!­??│­??│­??│
May 3, 2013
Cleaning, cookies and constipation................
½ April 10, 2013
The first few minutes of cinematography are worth the price of admission, also great characters that are likeable, and do develop, but the plot seems to move in fits and starts, and I wish the movie had developed a theme. The title suggested religion, and the main character goes through a bunch of them, but then there's no comment at all ABOUT religion. There seems to be a criticism of unethical business, but that is frustratingly abandoned. Is it about mind-altering drugs? Well, no, that just falls apart. It could have been a comedy, but while it has humorous moments, such as what the janitors do when no one is looking, but there were no real laughs. So while it started off solid 5-star, I'm inclined to give it 3, but settled on 3-1/2, because it is, at least, different.
December 19, 2012
I'm not sure this bizarre comedy/fable works as a complete movie, but it did give me that "What the F*ck Did Just See" feeling that I get all too rarely.
½ November 8, 2012
Some interesting visual effects, but I found the movie unwatchable. I guess if you like unpleasant, pointless drug films, you might like this. If this is supposed to be a comedy, it is not funny.
July 8, 2012
If 'The Dark Backward' had a butt baby with the modern day 'American independent film' and it was born with an extremely dry sense of humor, the result would probably be pretty close to being 'The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle'. This movie has all the right elements going for it to make for good dark deranged dramedy, It has a near perfect flow. It has a very unique style to the way it is filmed that I haven't quite seen before in any other movie, as well as having plenty of fresh and original visuals effects and trip outs. This movie is very hypnotic, yet funny in a really dark twisted way but at the same time it's harmless in its mental derangement, and has no ill will... and best of all, it never gets tired. It's mentally ill, without being mentally #$@#ed up, which is a line I appreciated it not crossing. Without giving any details away, the ending does leave you pondering whether there was a point to the whole thing or if it just blew itself to smithereens because it had no exit plan...I still haven't figured that out yet..I'm still pondering. Either way, it's a pretty darn fun and twisted little ride and definitely worth a gander.
½ June 5, 2012
A fantastical gritty film disguised as a twisted comedy-drama. A young man loses his job as a computer programmer and then becomes a janitor to only find himself as a lab rat in a mad corporate experiment involving self warming cookies. Oh, and the men in this dark comedy become pregnant with an unknown biological creature.
½ March 17, 2012
Extremely bizarre and conceptually insane, this makes for one unique viewing experience. Russo, who is apparently as imaginative as he is weird, delivers one of the most original movie concepts in recent memory. Some plotting and pacing issues hold it back, but the concept and the characters are enough to fuel the film for the most part.
March 16, 2012
"The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle exemplifies everything we love about independent films. It is a delightful adventure that will warp your brain in all the right ways."
December 10, 2011
Hmmm...Do you want to see a halucenagenic movie about janators, addiction to cookies, search for religion, and male pregnancy? If your answer is yes, then this movie is probably your best and only option.
November 10, 2011
This movie caught me off gaurd. I stumbled across it on on demand & I'm so glad I did. It's one of those rare gems that you never forget but know you can't share with everyone. Its story is so disturbingly unique you may miss its deeper meanings & feelings. The acting is well done. The characters so well placed. I definitely will be searching for more from this director. A must see for those that don't shy from the different.
September 4, 2011
'The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle' is one of the most unique and unusual movies I have ever seen. I hate how in this so called "cookie cutter" world we live in, that if a film doesn't follow a certain amount of guidelines and expectations that the general public just steers clear of it. 'Dizzle' takes this outlook of media and turns it on its head by incorporating cookies as a vital part of the film, to the extreme as being one of the main characters and primary antagonist. You can tell that director David Russo has poured his heart and soul into telling us his convictions and beliefs in a fun and entertaining way. The story revolves around a young programmer (Marshall Allman) that is just trying to find his niche in life. He becomes so fed up with the way society has turned a deaf ear to people's actions and disconnection with the real world that he tries to remove himself from the equation. He quits and starts working as a janitor in a high rise office building, where he gets to meet the opposite end of the spectrum of society, the sort of hidden world around us. Vince Vieluf ('Grind') and Tania Raymonde ('Malcolm in the Middle') bring a raw and realistic aspect to the film that no big budget blockbuster could have done. The janitors stumble upon experimental cookies in the trash bins of one of the offices and naturally take it as a request to consume them. I love the symbolism there. Having these characters eat cookies out of the trash reflects the directors view of advertising and the hush hush world of product placement and consumer hypnosis. I also personally love how the main character experiments and shifts through all major religions in the film, trying to show us that he's the same person no matter what he believes or who he worships. This movie definitely takes some extreme turns and risks along the way, but in the end I think it pays off. If you want to step off the grid and see a film and concept that has been boiling and growing within someone for a long time, then bring your camera and get ready for 'The Immaculate Conception of Little Dizzle'.
½ July 16, 2011
A really bizarre film that takes a surreal view of corporate misconduct, the advertising business, and human subjects violations. Weird and funny.
½ July 3, 2011
Cool indie that is part The Trip and part Fight Club without the fisticuffs or the acid. If you like cool indie films like Wristcutters: A Love Story and Cashback, you will be into this film as well.
½ June 26, 2011
Absolute waste of time.
June 12, 2011
This movie is thoroughly awesome.
½ May 31, 2011
Much like "little dizzle" itself, this film is too implausible, too awkward, and too eerily beautiful to exist in the lazy, homogenized "reality" that the best of us begrudgingly cling to. But for the "right" viewer, it is almost impossibly rewarding and delightful, like a new discovery or (fittingly) giving birth.

This film belies it's small budget and nonconformist nature because of it's near perfect ingredients. Script, acting, and cinematography are consistently superb and difficult to reproach as individual elements. But the level of detail, and total commitment to the central mood and theme is what makes this film a refreshing delight to free minds and open hearts, but an uncomfortable and confounding experience for the rigid masses.

This film is probably NOT for "you", and it would be arrogant to fault "you" for dismissing or rejecting it. But "others" will embrace and remember it as if they gave birth to it themselves.
Page 1 of 3