In My Country - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

In My Country Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Annlee Ellingson
FilmStew.com
March 14, 2005
Very nearly destroying the picture is an affair between Jackson and Binoche's characters. Any scene of intimacy evoked titters from the audience.
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
April 8, 2005
Failing to get beyond trite Hollywood romantic conventions, sermonizing caricatures and 'I was just following orders' explanations does a great disservice to history.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
April 1, 2005
There is something not quite right about the film itself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ella Taylor
L.A. Weekly
March 10, 2005
Stagy, declamatory and vulgarized by a need to hype inherently dramatic material, In My Country is, like so many movies about the Third World made for Western audiences.
Scott Weinberg
DVDTalk.com
July 21, 2005
Points for trying and all, but this particular chapter of South Africa's history deserves a movie a bit more sincere -- and a lot less corny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Edward Douglas
ComingSoon.net
March 9, 2005
A convoluted plot that takes away from the film's important central message
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
March 14, 2005
Noble intentions, some fantastic photography some good performances but I have to give it thumbs down because of all the melodrama.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
April 14, 2005
We want to know more about the stories of real-life South Africans, but the Oscar nominees keep standing right in front of them.
| Original Score: 1/4
Todd Gilchrist
IGN Movies
March 31, 2005
Captivating while it lasts, and exceeds the majority of the year's lackluster cinematic offerings in terms both of ambition and execution.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nick Schager
Filmcritic.com
March 9, 2005
the kind of well-intentioned, but wholly unsuccessful, misfire that makes one desperately pine for a thorough documentary on its real-life subject
| Original Score: 1.5/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
May 9, 2005
I do not question the filmmaker's sincerity, but he has made a flat, uninvolving movie. The road to boredom is paved with good intentions, after all.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 16, 2009
In spite of narrative missteps that negate the possibility of an empathetic protagonist, "In My Country" does viably introduce the African principle of "Ubuntu" whereby evil transgressions are absolved rather than revenged.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Frank Ochieng
Movie Eye
March 20, 2005
...[a] well-meaning but uneven and sanctimonious melodrama...the film cannot withstand its manipulative and melancholy lapses
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Brent Simon
Now Playing Magazine
March 11, 2005
Well-meaning but utterly -- and surprisingly -- pedestrian...
Full Review | Original Score: C
Rob Blackwelder
SPLICEDWire
March 10, 2005
In My Country accomplishes its goal -- but does so largely through obvious plot devices.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeanne Aufmuth
Palo Alto Weekly
March 14, 2005
Ugly secrets unfold in staccato succession with the intent to incite but inspiring only groans.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Jan Stuart
Newsday
March 10, 2005
There is no historical moment so epochal that it cannot be reduced to schlock entertainment in the right hands.
| Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Stephen Holden
New York Times
March 10, 2005
John Boorman's high-minded but hopelessly wooden film makes the fatal mistake of turning characters into mouthpieces.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Mike Clark
USA Today
March 10, 2005
Because Ann Peacock's pedestrian script couldn't make any movie come to life, our interest in these two characters is nil.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
March 18, 2005
The film, an international co-production about the aftermath of South African apartheid, has won peace awards and comes with a thumbs up from Nelson Mandela himself, none of which make its contrivances easier to swallow.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 5