In Our Nature - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

In Our Nature Reviews

Page 1 of 1
December 14, 2012
It's like an average weekend: nice enough, but tepid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
December 13, 2012
The characters in this family drama are not given enough backstory or nuance to make their problems feel real, and none of the characters warrants much interest or compassion.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 11, 2012
horrible
Full Review | Original Score: D-
December 10, 2012
The movie earns high grades for allowing four strong actors to work their way through some basic but interesting obstacles that must of us can relate to in one way or another.
December 7, 2012
Plays distressingly like a photographed off-Broadway drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 7, 2012
In Our Nature's visual style seems plastered on or allocated, not developed with any sort of authorial singularity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 6, 2012
The confessions and conflicts that bubble up feel real and lived, if overly familiar to connoisseurs of that dreaded genre known as the dysfunctional-family drama.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 6, 2012
This could be renamed "Mope-Faced Kingdom."
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 6, 2012
Brian Savelson generally eschews emotional fireworks to create this small and intimate study of how difficult it is to repair broken relationships while trying to preserve those that look promising.
December 6, 2012
Beautifully observed characterizations and fine performances enliven this sometimes static drama about an unexpected family reunion.
December 6, 2012
In Our Nature lumbers a lot, especially early on, as Savelson introduces the cast and has Gilford and Slattery keep coming up with weak excuses to stall the movie's premise from kicking in.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
December 4, 2012
During their "getting to know you" scene, Seth asks Vicky, "Is everybody that predictable?" As far as In Our Nature goes, it would seem so.
December 4, 2012
Savelson can't seem to mount a head of steam, and his chamber piece feels underdeveloped.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
December 4, 2012
A drama filled with the same kind of emotional fireworks that animate the gripping familial interactions in works by Arthur Miller and Eugene O'Neill.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.8/5
November 30, 2012
Yes, the pacing of In Our Nature is slow, and drags near the film's halfway point, but the top-notch ensemble propels the film forward, adding complexity to the characters while leaving the over-the-top melodrama for Lifetime.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
November 29, 2012
Like Carnage it gets off to a rocky start in keeping all its protagonists from leaving the movie. But if you can make it past that - and John Slattery helps a bunch - Brian Savelson's film settles into a nicely mature story about airing grievances.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
March 31, 2012
Savelson's approach feels old-fashioned and perhaps even a little stodgy.
March 16, 2012
"In Our Nature" is as prophetic as it is provocative, exploring dysfunction, in a recognizable but no less satisfying way.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 1