In the Cut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

In the Cut Reviews

Page 2 of 30
½ May 30, 2013
There's a lot to love here. But Meg Ryan's Nicole Kidman impression kept pulling me out of the movie. It's definitely not the disaster of a film that most critics claimed.
May 5, 2013
I would hardly call this movie "thrilling" or "suspenseful." Bad soft porn, maybe. There's a little bit of interesting storyline that emerges mostly toward the end, but it's too little too late. I sat through the entire thing because I kept hoping it would get better, but it really never did.
½ April 12, 2013
Again I write: The book is better. But in terms of a movie illustrating how bloody and dangerous love can be, this one is an interesting little diversion. The photography is beyond brilliant and Meg Ryan is surprisingly awesome.
½ April 6, 2013
Meg Ryan completely drops her nice girl image for this sleazy flick. At least Mark Ruffalo was captivating as usual.
March 11, 2013
I thought that it was incredibly well acted, especially by Ryan and Ruffalo (saying that, Ruffalo can do very little wrong in my eyes!) and I thought the direction was great from Campion - subtle in places, pointed in others. However, the 'love' story (if you can call it that) and the murder mystery do sit quite uncomfortably together and while I know that in real life things do sit uncomfortably together, I believe that too much realism can destroy a film, no matter what the intentions are. And also, while I believe there is a place for sex in movies, the graphic nature of the sex in this particular movie was unnecessary - it added nothing to the plot or characterisation (except for painting Frannie as completely desperate for human contact, which we could figure out without seeing it.) All in all a good movie, but slightly ruined by the pretensious script and a voyeuristic attitude.
February 24, 2013
The criticism of its failures as a conventional thriller are misguided as this is something very different - a superbly dark, moody and surreal psychosexual noir drenched with poetic symbolism into its mediations into gender and sexuality.
February 7, 2013
Gave it almost an hour. The way the movie was put together was exhausting and boring to watch and seemingly random.
January 27, 2013
Well worth the watch if you can handle the sex and the blood. Liked the performance of Sharrieff Pugh. Or was it just the muscles, big lips and bald head that I liked?
½ January 26, 2013
A movie for and by man-haters. A pretty good movie though.
½ January 17, 2013
very dark - gripping
January 14, 2013
After a brief career break following Kate & Leopold, Meg Ryan returns to the big screen in one of her very few...thrillers! In the Cut is a slick thriller with first rate performances and plot turns galore. Fans of the stars (especially Ryan and Mark Ruffalo) may object to seeing them in a dark movie like this, yet many should consider it one of the better thrillers on the rental shelf.
Ryan steps aside from her "sweet girl" routine to play Frannie, an English teacher and writer in a grim high school in Manhattan's lower side. Torn with teaching difficult teens and several loose ends of her own, her situation becomes even more tedious when she becomes involved romantically with a hunky detective hot on the trail of a serial killer. A witness to a dirty act seeming to involve the same perpetrator, she becomes compelled to risk her own safety and grows instantly flirtatious with not only him, but other men who come into the picture (she is a bit slutty, actually). But will her knowledge and bravery lead to the end of this sicko and the gruesome murders, which claimed the life of her best friend and possibly others to come?
This kind of story is awfully tough to take and could use some work in the storytelling department, though it certainly is compelling, nevertheless and is performed with expertise by the whole cast. The steamy sex scenes may be considered a highlight for some perverted viewers and reveal several full frontal nude shots of the leads...though only the unrated version on DVD contains most of this. Based on a novel and directed by Jane Campion, who appears in a cameo as a waitress. Nicole Kidman originally was going to play the lead, but decided to co-produce instead. Look for Kevin Bacon in an unbilled role.
½ January 2, 2013
In The Cut is shot and edited very well and explores some interesting territory now and then, but it's not very suspenseful.
December 7, 2012
Would like to get round to watching.
November 6, 2012
The worst movie we have ever seen! Kept waiting for something to happen...the dialogue was awful...it was about nothing! Half the time ur saying to yourself "why in the world would they even put that sentence in the movie!" It is dreary, depressing, AWFUL!!! I can't imagine the actors reading this script and saying "oh, wow, I've got to do this movie!" Wow!
½ October 28, 2012
It is a good thriller on it's own but suffers from bad writing, un-needed characters and an ending that is so underwhelming.
October 21, 2012
It's worth it to meg naked..
September 24, 2012
Other than some decent acting by Ryan and Ruffalo In the Cut is just a drab serial killer flick without any spark. Not much more can be said as In the Cut just didn't offer anything worth watching.
½ August 1, 2012
It is not a movie about "disarticulation", rather a "disarticulated" movie, a perfect case of how a s/k thriller is screwed up by a weak story, half-assed sub-plots, poor characterization, ill-defined relationships, and lack of any feel of tension and suspense. The result is a real bummer working neither emotional nor intellectual level.

The director dared to take a journey into a loveless sexual realm of an affectless woman seeking violent pleasure from her liaisons. Such a bold attempt entails drawing an in-depth emotional character study, but it fails to do so. Rather, the director chose to plunge headlong into the steamy side, where we see Meg Ryan masturbating, exposing her boobs and buttocks, and having sex with our detective boy!!! The resulting erotic and emotional imbalance gives the movie the feel of a crappy soft-porn. What about serial killer shit? It's another disaster.. Without exception, all men with whom Meg Ryan associates may turn out to be the serial killer!! What a coincidence... The more ridiculous is that we don't know any of those suspects and don't have any snippet of idea about their motives to dismember all the hotties around!!! The worst of all, the sheer stupidity of the characters and the brainless way they are portrayed are another cinematic achievement.. Oh, almost forget the secret of a three of spades!!!

To sum up, "In the Cut" is remotely convincing as a thriller, nothing but a sleazy work of its genre.
July 20, 2012
Fairly good movie. Decent premise, good suspense and performances from Ryan and Ruffalo.
½ July 18, 2012
I think this may have been a better book. It is an erotic thriller of sorts that really drags on and on. Different kind of role for Meg Ryan. The characters are all very unappealing and disturbed. Mark Ruffalo is awesome. Very handsome guy that plays a creepy detective who is sexually perverse. I would not go out of my way for this again. It had its moments but then it would drift to nonsense often. Keven Bacon is also awesome in his role as one of Frannie's (Meg Ryan) ex-boyfriends.
Page 2 of 30