In the Tall Grass Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 16, 2019
The more it went on, the more it lost me, and I started to see this as a short story being stretched to feature length.
October 16, 2019
A terrible misstep in the world of King adaptations that serves its purpose of confirming some of the author's works are better left alone. [Full review in Spanish].
October 15, 2019
While not as lame and lazy as a horror like The Silence, In the Tall Grass is standard-fare and little more than a cheap thrill.
October 14, 2019
A decidedly forgettable project. [Full review in Spanish]
October 14, 2019
The film ends up in its own weeds. [Full review in Spanish]
October 11, 2019
What could've been a great 40 minute episode of a Black Mirror type of series, was turned into a painfully long flick that gets lost in the deep of its own ego [Full Review in Spanish]
October 10, 2019
The repetition of characters shouting to each other about where they are and too many dark scenes during the last part of the film almost put us to sleep -- but that eerie grassy field sure looks alive!
October 10, 2019
Deep in the dense grass that surrounds the plot of Vincenzo Natali's In the Tall Grass is a spectacular horror film. Unfortunately, one gets lost trying to find it.
October 8, 2019
Natali has been able to tackle out-there concepts by making them visually appealing and emotionally raw. In the Tall Grass tries very hard to compete on those two axes, but the strain to connect them and the mundane setting make it very hard to root for.
October 7, 2019
It's obvious after about 40 minutes or so of the movie's 100-minute running time that [director Vincenzo Natali is] having trouble stretching the story to the length required for a feature film. He's not helped by a lackluster cast.
October 7, 2019
Ultimately, I can commend the parts heartily, but I'm not sure I'd recommend the whole.
October 7, 2019
The only character that is compelling is real estate tycoon dad Ross Humboldt, played by an entertainingly manic Patrick Wilson, who succumbs to the grass early on and makes for a really, really fun villain.
October 7, 2019
Despite a promising first act, In The Tall Grass quickly devolves into mediocrity.
October 5, 2019
...segues into a midsection that slowly-but-surely alienates the viewer...
October 5, 2019
Going by the spectacular fashion in which In the Tall Grass derails midway yet cheerfully carries on, I wouldn't be surprised if director Vincenzo Natali shrugged off his (and the film's) problems by smoking some of that fine grass around him.
October 4, 2019
"In the Tall Grass" runs too long and repeats itself too much to be as gripping as its source material. Turns out there's a limit to how scary weeds can be.
October 4, 2019
Despite an uneven track record, In the Tall Grass gives the lamest King adaptations a run for their money, as writer-director Vincenzo Natali labors to stretch out the story, which takes a wrong turn in more ways than one.
October 4, 2019
It's rather astonishing how fast Vincenzo Natali's "In the Tall Grass" completely loses your interest.
October 4, 2019
In concept the augments ensure this telling of In the Tall Grass is distinctively Natali's; in reality they are proof of follies taking roots in the field.
October 4, 2019
By the time we hack our way out, all the yelling into the abyss feels like a lost cause for everyone involved.
Page 1 of 2