An Inconvenient Truth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

An Inconvenient Truth Reviews

Page 2 of 9
September 23, 2006
t's an enduring irony of movies that one guy talking can be more compelling than a million dollars in locations, extras and effects.
September 23, 2006
Presented by former US Vice President Al Gore, this documentary is a cool, clinical examination of global warming. And if you thought the repercussions were years off, think again.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 23, 2006
Despite or perhaps because of Gore's schoolmasterly attitudes, his arguments have force. A kind of anti-charisma sees it through.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 23, 2006
It is utterly convincing, it's emotionally powerful and it makes Gore look more charming than he ever did as a presidential candidate.
September 18, 2006
Though generally presented in a fawning, overly obsequious style, the film also has a heartening degree of candor... and its triumph is the manner in which it highlights the notion of political will as a renewable resource.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 8, 2006
Gore is inspired here, a man on a crusade that slide by slide and impassioned remark by remark drives home the inconvenient truth about global warming. It's an alarming scenario so calling him alarmist really misses the point.
August 21, 2006
The truth hurts.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 14, 2006
Controversy isn't always a bad thing, and Mr. Freeze's surprising warmth ignites a worthy discussion.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 10, 2006
In spite of brief missteps, the film has an important message that needs to be heard. It's not a doom-and-gloom movie as much as it is a call to action.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 16, 2006
If you are unfamiliar with this issue, or are a sheltered dittohead, this film is a good primer on arguments supporting the idea of global warming.
Full Review | Original Score: B
July 11, 2006
I'm recommending what is essentially a non-film because I agree with its politics and I'd like for more people to agree with me than disagree.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 11, 2006
... For those within its reach, 'An Inconvenient Truth' is a film we can ignore only at our own peril.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 5, 2006
Yes, it's a science lecture when all is said and done, but it's a science lesson that's never dull -- chilling in its conclusions, but hardly boring.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 3, 2006
In my heart of hearts, I know this isn't the best way to start a movie review. But in my heart of hearts, I also know I need to do what's right.
Full Review| Original Score: 4/4
July 1, 2006
Every responsible, thinking American should see this film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 1, 2006
It's hard to make a visually compelling narrative out of 100 minutes of a 58-year-old man talking about carbon-dioxide emissions, but director Davis Guggenheim does it.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 30, 2006
As lectures on film go, An Inconvenient Truth sends its message in clear and engaging fashion.
June 30, 2006
... an important subject, and... possibly an important film.
Read More | Original Score: 87/100
June 29, 2006
The material is presented clearly and, for the most part, persuasively, although the side-trips into Gore's family history... seem like the minibiographies that are traditionally served up during election time.
June 29, 2006
The educational moments work beautifully, the personal bits don't. Still, one of the year's best - frightening, compelling and at points unforgettable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 2 of 9