Inescapable - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inescapable Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ July 27, 2013
she knows how to draw you in to a good story.
½ July 25, 2013
A Canadian nonthriller that plays like a heavily sedated hybrid of "Taken" and "Not Without My Daughter", or "missing"
½ July 9, 2013
We'll call this a lack a cultural understanding and leave it at that. I don't know much about that part of the world and really it didn't seem any different than Taken, with less violence.
June 23, 2013
I don't know why most people didn't appreciate this movie, on the contrary I found it quite good. Of course it's not a masterpiece, but it's enjoyable, quite actual, and the leading couple is really great:
May 14, 2013
wow what a movie......i have just seen this movie 4 the 1st time n think that this is a great movie 2 watch......its got a good cast of actors/actressess thorughout this movie..........i think that alexandra siddig (from the brilliant tv series 24, primeval), marisa tomei (from the brilliant tv series seinfeld), jay anstey, joshua jackson (from the brilliant tv series the simpsons, fringe, dawson's creek), oded fehr (from the brilliant tv series medium, sleeper cell), play good roles/parts thorughout this movie........i think that the director of this drama/adventure/thriller movie had done a good job of directing this movie because you never know what 2 expect throughout this movie........i think that this is a really well directed movie 2 watch its got a great cast thorughout this movie..........i think that the soundtrack throughout this movie is pretty good as well.......i think that this is a really good suspenseful/thriller movie 2 watch its a really well directed movie 2 watch its got a brilliant cast thorughout this movie..........i think that this is so really well directed 2 watch its a really good thriller/suspense movie which keeps you on the edge of your seat as its so really well directed its got a fantastic cast throughout this movie........i think that alexandra siddig was brilliant throughout this movie......i think that this is such a brilliant movie 2 watch its got a great cast thorughout this movie its so really well directed 2 watch......i think that this is such a fantastic movie 2 watch its really well directed movie 2 watch its got a great soundtrack throughout this movie........i think that this is a brilliant movie 2 watch its got a great cast throughout this movie i think that this is a really tense/thriller movie 2 watch its got a brilliant cast throughout this movie its so really well directed movie 2 watch i think that this is such a great movie 2 watch with a brilliant cast thorughout this movie its enjoyable movie 2 watch
April 5, 2013
Like Taken, but without the fear-mongering, propaganda or super-heroes.
½ March 19, 2013
Everything is missed up, they can't even talk, acting sucks, and a lot of wrong details, they have to bring professionals to do the movie.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
½ February 24, 2013
After his daugher Muna(Jay Anstey), a photographer, goes missing in Damascus, Adib(Alexander Siddig) is forced to return to his native Syria for the first time in decades where he is persona non grata to say the least. At least, he still has friends there like Fatima(Marisa Tomei) who helps him enter the country and Sayid(Oded Fehr) who is now a big cheese in the security services. That's not to say Adib is helpless on his own as he discovers a couple of clues in his daugher's hotel room. Of course, there is nothing quite like protocol when he visits the Canadian embassy to check in with Paul Ridge(Joshua Jackson) before making a call to the Russian embassy.

"Inescapable" is at best a half-baked thriller. Now, if only it had been a fully baked thriller, we could have gotten some fun out of the whole thing. As it is, there are some nice moments, especially the opening lock picking scene, and fine shots but not much beyond that. On the minus side, there is almost a running joke out of quickly obtained visas and characters here tend to get rescued not out of their own resourcefulness but out of somebody showing out of the blue. You need more than that level of potential watchfulness and a few mentions to fully document pre-civil war Syria as a police state which does not exactly come as a surprise. What is desperately needed in the movie is a broader perspective not only on the country but on Adib, along with more dramatic depth.
Super Reviewer
February 22, 2013
A tense, smart, terrifically character driven and exciting suspense-thriller. It depends on story, characters and substance above all else and is surprisingly effective and genuinely moving. It's a riveting, well-crafted and nail-biting film that delivers some strong performances and gritty action. A solid and outstanding cast. Alexander Siddig is absolutely superb. Joshua Jackson is excellent. Oded Fehr is terrific. Marisa Tomei is wonderful. A tough, stylish, gripping and excellent movie. It's great to see a Canadian-produced film of this quality, they rarely get as good as this one.
February 18, 2013
Nothing really good, but okay for a low budget no name time waster.
February 16, 2013
Jagged cohesiveness.
December 3, 2012
Alas the screen-writing is inescapably poor
October 28, 2012
2.0/4.0
Saw this movie at its world premiere at TIFF 2012 and I must say I was disappointed. Firstly, there is no particular reason why this movie was not filmed entirely in Arabic other than probably achieving the mass appeal it will unlikely achieve. Having one of the best actresses of our time, Marisa Tomei, play an Arab and sport an accent when probably an English speaking Arab actress could have done the same job still bewilders me. Although to be completely frank, I must say she passes well as a Syrian. Secondly, the movie does not break any ground nor does it make wise use of its Middle Eastern setting especially in light of what has been happening in that part of the world since early 2011.
The plot centers on Syrian expat Adib Abdel Kareem (Alexander Siddig) who has made a life and family for himself in Toronto. He learns that his oldest daughter traveled to the Syrian capital to try to learn more of her father's ambiguous origins and is now missing. Thus, he decides to return to his home country for the first time in nearly 20 years enlisting the help of his former lover Fatima (Marisa Tomei). As his search starts, he encounters a Canadian embassy official (Joshua Jackson) and a childhood friend who is now a prominent police/army official and who seems to share a big secret with him (Oded Fehr).
"Inescapable" could have played out as a great mystery but unfortunately it does not. The way "secrets" are revealed is underwhelming and predictable with many questions unanswered. As an action movie, it falls particularly flat. [The movie may draw comparisons to "Taken" but definitely the 2008 hit shines in comparison, although I must say I didn't feel that this movie was emulating it]. Writer-director Ruba Nadda ("Cairo Time) also fails in making this a pure emotional ride by focusing on father-daughter dynamics. The main saving grace is uniformly good acting particularly Tomei (in some moments) despite the above-mentioned concerns. "Inescapable" is a passable, forgettable piece of entertainment of a man searching for his daughter that at 90 minutes kills the time.
½ October 15, 2012
The broad strokes of the story might sound like Taken, "A father flies half way around the world to find his daughter who has gone missing in a dangerous land." But this film is the more thoughtful variation. It comes from the director's own father saying "Just don't go missing" when she was in Syria directing Cairo Time. So there is a personal hook and the gravitas that goes with it. Rick Groen is wrong to call is "soft" and compare it to "hard facts" about the hotbed area and its authorities; instead of sprawling through anecdotes and headlines, Inescapable focuses on the human beings at its core. Marisa Tomei is outstanding as Fatima the abandoned fiance that Adib (Alexander Siddig) left behind when he had to quickly leave for Canada years before and build a new life. Perhaps he never quite escaped that old life, or perhaps Fatima will not escape her state in Syria. Or perhaps it is just the missing daughter who should not escape the dangers and bureaucracy of the region in the person of their old Israeli mate Sayid (Oded Fehr) and Paul the Canadian Embassy rep (Joshua Jackson). The film has a good distributor but I saw it in limited release at the Varsity weeks after its appearance in the Toronto International Film Festival. When the excitement and action happen in this film, there is an actual edge given by the reality of Siddig's presence and the possibility of real consequences.
½ October 15, 2012
The broad strokes of the story might sound like Taken, "A father flies half way around the world to find his daughter who has gone missing in a dangerous land." But this film is the more thoughtful variation. It comes from the director's own father saying "Just don't go missing" when she was in Syria directing Cairo Time. So there is a personal hook and the gravitas that goes with it. Rick Groen is wrong to call is "soft" and compare it to "hard facts" about the hotbed area and its authorities; instead of sprawling through anecdotes and headlines, Inescapable focuses on the human beings at its core. Marisa Tomei is outstanding as Fatima the abandoned fiance that Adib (Alexander Siddig) left behind when he had to quickly leave for Canada years before and build a new life. Perhaps he never quite escaped that old life, or perhaps Fatima will not escape her state in Syria. Or perhaps it is just the missing daughter who should not escape the dangers and bureaucracy of the region in the person of their old Israeli mate Sayid (Oded Fehr) and Paul the Canadian Embassy rep (Joshua Jackson). The film has a good distributor but I saw it in limited release at the Varsity weeks after its appearance in the Toronto International Film Festival. When the excitement and action happen in this film, there is an actual edge given by the reality of Siddig's presence and the possibility of real consequences.
October 2, 2012
I like what I've read about the movie and it's taking place in Syria. I had hoped to visit Damascus and this might be as close as I'll get to it.
Page 2 of 3