Ingrid Goes West - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Ingrid Goes West Reviews

Page 1 of 10
April 24, 2019
A great story about friendship, about authenticity, about the value of humanity in the social media age.
April 16, 2019
Instagram influencers provide the #laughs in this sly comedy, but the ending is seriously ill-judged.
March 11, 2019
A brilliant movie about our social media addictions but it is more than that.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 9, 2019
[T]he film loses the plot on being the witty commentary about pretending and public image in the social media age, but it's still an entertaining romp from start to finish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 11, 2019
It's a film that exhibits both how we want to be seen and how we actually are. We're all humans, with needs and wants and flaws...
December 20, 2018
A thoughtful and savage take on cyber bullying and the emptiness of social media that consumes most of our everyday lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 7, 2018
Ingrid Goes West is a comedy masquerading as a psychological thriller, an allegory for our increasing dependence on empty social media interactions cleverly disguised as a chick flick.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 7, 2018
Fittingly dark and humorously depraved, Ingrid Goes West is a biting, off-the-cuff commentary on neediness and the omnipresent social media culture.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 1, 2018
Poses potent, pressing commentary about the dark consequences of social media oversharing.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 30, 2018
Ingrid Thorburn is a Rupert Pupkin for the modern era.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 24, 2018
I sincerely hope Plaza gets recognition for her role in this because she let loose and became completely enthralled with playing Ingrid. You could tell she loved it.
October 4, 2018
I think Spicer does a very good job of folding in the satirical aspects of social media stardom alongside Ingrid's constant struggle with her inner demons.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 27, 2018
Among a good overall cast, Aubrey Plaza does well as the exasperating, painfully misguided Ingrid, bringing out both the humour and the pathos in her futile efforts at connection.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.9/5
August 27, 2018
Ingrid Goes West is a wickedly hilarious satire about a vacuous stratum of society.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 24, 2018
It'll make you squirm in your seat and abandon Instagram for a while after.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 24, 2018
Aubrey Plaza carries this story through amusing, biting satire that is outrageous enough for wry chuckles, but recognizable and dangerous enough that it's a memorable little film.
August 14, 2018
It plays to the more unexamined aspect of social media, but instead of pointing the blame on social media itself, it turns its eyes and examines the people behind the screens of their phones.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 5, 2018
Director Matt Spicer definitely has something special here- together with screenwriter David Branson Smith, they have created what may be the most relevant film for millennials in 2017.
July 19, 2018
Saved by its relative complexity and acting talents, Ingrid Goes West works best as a psychological drama, rather than a social critique of technology.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 28, 2018
Even if the details are askew and presented from an arch comedic angle, it's rare to see a contemporary movie so fully engage with the mundane ways technology affects behavior.
Page 1 of 10