Inherent Vice - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inherent Vice Reviews

Page 1 of 12
October 17, 2017
There's nothing here that Robert Altman didn't do more effectively and in his 1976 adaptation of The Long Goodbye, a film that rewards repeat viewings more than I suspect Inherent Vice will.
September 1, 2017
If I'm going fawn over a puzzling film, I'd rather it be something like Inception or The Matrix, movies that entertain me but also provoke so much thought and analysis that I can't take my mind off it.
August 24, 2017
Inherent Vice is one of those movies that tries to put across its maker's lack of control as a conscious and meaningful aesthetic scheme.
August 21, 2017
Yet Inherent Vice the movie is utterly its own thing, as thoroughly a piece of Anderson's imaginative universe as of Pynchon's.
August 2, 2017
This affable paean to absurdism will be revered in years to come no matter what hostility it engenders now.
December 6, 2016
Inherent Vice may not be one of Paul Thomas Anderson's better films, but there is enough there to make it more enjoyable than not.
October 28, 2016
... I was drawn into this crazy world completely by Anderson and his merry pranksters, a shaggy dog mystery with a stoner Philip Marlowe applying of free-association investigative technique...
July 19, 2016
If the adaptation's a little too faithful to sustain a cinematically tight story, there's still a lot to admire in the sheer, uninhibited folly of the whole thing, the gall to get groovy while the Oscar-watchers are on high alert.
July 14, 2016
Inherent Vice is a bizarre, almost dreamlike, movie, one that makes sense from moment to moment but falls apart the second you try to tie it all together.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
June 18, 2016
After a decade spent making two films that are like pressure cookers, Anderson was clearly ready to blow off some steam.
April 14, 2016
Its avalanche of idiosyncrasies might make it tough sledding for general audiences, but for trippy, glassblown noir, "Inherent Vice" is a prime cut.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
March 4, 2016
Once you let the chaos of all the eccentric characters and the mystery Doc is trying to solve, wash over you, you start appreciating it, but if you question it and try to corral it, the film just slips away from you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 26, 2016
Anderson's greatest display of formal elasticity.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 22, 2016
Viewers looking for a coherent narrative won't find it in this chaotic film.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 2, 2016
It's a generous, humble work: a soft hymn to a lost world.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 29, 2015
A mightily epic, brain-fogged ode to the end of the '60s that almost dares you to make sense of it.
Read More | Original Score: 3/5
December 22, 2015
Sure, it's a bit long but this is a weird and wonderful trip of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
December 21, 2015
Inherent Vice isn't everyone's kinda trip, but it is righteous fun for those who enjoy the high.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 12, 2015
I even enjoyed this self-indulgence up to a point, but at 148 minutes it just felt like the movie would never end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 12, 2015
From out of the (climatic and mood-enhancing) fog of Inherent Vice something strange and rather glorious emerges.
Page 1 of 12