Inherent Vice Reviews

Page 1 of 10
June 30, 2020
The plot might be a bit all over-the-place and hard to follow at times, but if you just sit back and let the movie take control, Inherent Vice turns out to be a fun ride.
May 27, 2020
It's like watching a film noir while stoned... Nothing makes sense.
March 26, 2020
The think I liked the most about this movie is that it seemed to perfectly encapsulate Southern California in the 70s.
January 9, 2020
I'm firmly on the side of loving it, but I know it's not for everybody. It's the kind of thing you'll like if you like that kind of thing.
May 17, 2019
Compulsively watchable and suitably frustrating, this stoner noir is one of Anderson's cleverest films, no doubt - but by some distance his least wise.
April 18, 2019
PTA gets loose with the film noir form only to better honor its essential dualities: people's simultaneous longing for and dreading of the truth, their desire to see things clearly or instead remain in the idealized world of their (intoxicated) mind...
April 3, 2019
A hilariously louche and ramshackle psychedelic noir, Inherent Vice is an audacious stylistic leap for Anderson, but his risks pay off beautifully.
February 15, 2019
Something doesn't quite click in Inherent Vice, but is still worthwhile to check out. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 20, 2018
We're impressed with the evocation of times gone by and with Anderson's ability to adapt Pynchon's dense prose for the screen. Angeleno viewers may be made especially nostalgic
December 8, 2018
It's an exhausting task to wrap your mind around, but this is the type of film you have to turn something off to let it all in, and for that reason alone makes Inherent Vice beautiful, yet elusive.
October 24, 2018
I connected on an emotional level with it the first time, but I suspect I may find it better on repeat viewings; there is a masterpiece in there somewhere, I just have to dig deeper to find it.
August 22, 2018
"Inherent Vice" is foggy, sprawling and shaggy, yet epic in its own way.
June 22, 2018
Don't go looking for any explanations. Just look, man.
December 2, 2017
Paul Thomas Anderson is here to honor everything Thomas Pynchon and Inherent Vice are about, without dumbing the narrative down to draw a wider audience.
August 21, 2017
Yet Inherent Vice the movie is utterly its own thing, as thoroughly a piece of Anderson's imaginative universe as of Pynchon's.
August 3, 2017
This affable paean to absurdism will be revered in years to come no matter what hostility it engenders now.
December 6, 2016
Inherent Vice may not be one of Paul Thomas Anderson's better films, but there is enough there to make it more enjoyable than not.
October 28, 2016
... I was drawn into this crazy world completely by Anderson and his merry pranksters, a shaggy dog mystery with a stoner Philip Marlowe applying of free-association investigative technique...
July 19, 2016
If the adaptation's a little too faithful to sustain a cinematically tight story, there's still a lot to admire in the sheer, uninhibited folly of the whole thing, the gall to get groovy while the Oscar-watchers are on high alert.
June 18, 2016
After a decade spent making two films that are like pressure cookers, Anderson was clearly ready to blow off some steam.
Page 1 of 10