Insanitarium - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Insanitarium Reviews

Page 2 of 14
July 26, 2011
Insanitarium is a different kind of 'zombie' movie with a good cast and an interesting plot. At times the effects and gore are a little average but it is worth a watch, especially with the likes of Peter Stormare playing the mastermind of the experiments. The ending is a tad letdown however.
July 17, 2011
it is crazy and interesting movie
i like it
Super Reviewer
June 5, 2011
this should be a movie that i enjoy because i love zombie movies but this is truly a terrible movie.
Probably one of the worst zombie movies ive ever watched.
The whole story fails to impress is just not worth the watch.
May 29, 2011
A bunch of patients from the mental asylum turns out to a flesh eating monsters..Gore ..gross and solid freaky moments
½ April 25, 2011
Aikas amatöörimaista kompurointia...
½ April 25, 2011
Filled with the glaring continuity errors of an amateur production, and featuring the acting vacuum that is olivia munn, Insanitarium can only be enjoyed by devout fans of Peter Stormare. Oh yeah, Carla Gallo's in there too.
½ March 29, 2011
You'll have a bloody good time with this unique twist on the flesh-eating zombie movie!
March 20, 2011
Not a bad "Old school" horror if you like recycled scripts and over used gore props etc. Peter Stormare rocked as the lunitic doctor! February 26, 2011
March 13, 2011
A bunch of cannibalistic loonies go on the rampage in a lunatic asylum. Darkly humerous in places. The doctor (played Ernst Roehm in "Hitler, Rise of Evil") was played really well. Seemed more mentally unbalanced than some of his patients.
February 26, 2011
Not a bad "Old school" horror if you like recycled scripts and over used gore props etc. Peter Stormare rocked as the lunitic doctor!
February 5, 2011
I don't know what pique of madness prompted me to watch this garbage. Stormare is the only highlight in what is otherwise a horrendously bad film.
Super Reviewer
December 23, 2010
a brother fakes his mental state to be inside where his suicidal sister is also staying, once there he sees its not just her he has to worry about, and with a unauthordox doctor doing experiments he needs to save the day, it turns into something else for the last 3rd and to a degree it works, some rampage and action to plice it up a bit, with some decent gore thrown in
½ November 19, 2010
The very very few good moments can't pull this production out of the mud. It's one of those types of films that you get as a bonus when buying 3 pairs of 60% cotton socks.
October 16, 2010
Insanitarium is one of the best examples I can find for the utter worthlessness of horror as a viable genre in the world of film, but bypassing my extreme prejudice towards horror movies which was, indeed, influenced by movies such as Insanitarium, the film pretty much screams utter worthlessness throughout its entire length. The highlight is a cat's head getting torn off by human hand. Sounds fun, eh? Watching this film makes me wonder how people can bitch and moan about the violence in video games and yet continue to support shit like this. Isn't that the loveliest double standard ever?

People are probably going to end up asking what I think horror truly is. Horror is the feeling of dread and despair upon the mind. Brian de Palma perfected this in the film, Carrie, which portrayed the horror of the mind. Psychological horror is what I want to see in film, but often this is never the case. See, of course, in a world where people would much rather see people getting killed far worse than the poor soul in 2 Guys 1 Hammer, this isn't the case and we're given shit like Insanitarium. The plot? What is the plot really? It's just some dipshit voluntarily leaving himself a captive of a manical doctor who tries too hard to be Doctor Moreau. It's like seeing Lady Bjorkdonna, I mean Gaga, trying to convince people she's actually a musician of credible worth. But, then again, that's what Hollywood horror does on a daily basis.

If you want to see why horror is as dead as grunge rock, then see this film. If you want "horror" films that are actually meaningful, see films such as Carrie and the works of Hitchcock (proto-horror films, if you will, these are), Vincent Price, and so forth. These that I just mentioned are basically the only "horror" films ever to have existed. I could recommend the slasher films, but, really, slasher films only twist the "horror of the mind" into cheap gut-a-girl porn. This poor sod of a genre's even more irrelevant to serious moviegoers than MTV and rap are to music.
September 26, 2010
Pretty chaotic and creepy movie about sanitarium that is using new drug for "healing" people. The boss of the loony house isn't very stable either. Good performance by Peter Stormare.
½ September 6, 2010
Finally watched this and glad I did, crazy wholesome gorefest, just what the doctor ordered...
August 8, 2010
This is a very disgusting movie. I sat with nausea a lot of the time. This movie is scary and some scenes become entrenched in a long time. Understand me right. The film is not an epic horror, but I really like it. it is scary. I do not think many will like it and would only recommend it to you who like asylum films.
Super Reviewer
½ July 31, 2010
Im insane for wasting my time.The only thing I liked about ths movie was the ending
½ May 18, 2010
You'll have a bloody good time with this unique twist on the flesh-eating zombie movie!
Page 2 of 14