Inside Deep Throat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Inside Deep Throat Reviews

Page 1 of 20
½ November 1, 2015
A quite interesting analysis of how the most famous Porno movie ever was recieved in the USA and what happened to all of those involved afterwards. Nothing too surprising here but interesting nonetheless.
½ August 13, 2015
Interesting look at the backflips trying to get this movie into theaters,funny and entertaining.
Super Reviewer
½ June 28, 2014
Depressing and engrossing documentary about the phenomenally successful and controversial "adult" film.
March 22, 2014
This is my favorite documentary ever. The story behind Deep Throat is utterly fascinating. It truly is mind blowing that Deep could possibly be the most profitable movies ever made and the makers have no way to know because of its shady associations over the years.
If you are a documentary lover, porn lover, weird Hollywood story lover this is for you.
December 25, 2013
an excellent documentary about the one porno that broke box office records. even talks about the 70s and sex and even about the beautiful linda lovelace.
½ November 21, 2013
Although Inside Deep Throat isn't as deep as the title loosely suggests in terms of its exploration of the pornographic phenomenon, it does emphasise the importance of Deep Throat's role in history and even goes to show how it's an important landmark for freedom of expression.

Inside Deep Throat doesn't look at the film Deep Throat merely as a piece of pornographic material. It looks as it as a landmark, as the breakthrough the pornographic industry needed. And as an avid supporter of the industry I enjoyed the view the film takes. It emphasises how it's a valid piece of history and how Deep Throat is the paradigm of it.
The style of Inside Deep Throat is groovy and it's so energetic and rich with music that it's really a nostalgia trip back to the 1970's and it makes the effort to focus on how Deep Throat changed the course of history and how the industry has developed since then, for better or for worse. It isn't excessive in its footage from the actual movie and is edited well to dramatise elements where appropriate, and it has so many people to comment on it that we get a wide view of it so we can see it as a landmark piece of counterculture which changed the world forever as well as being a scapegoat for politicians to build a career on. It itemises Deep Throat while pointing out how it is seen as objectifying women. It examines a lot of elements of Deep Throat from two directions, and it really reveals how it's more than just the original porn movie.

But when it comes to issues of the story, Inside Deep Throat doesn't give much of an examination into the lives of its figures and fails to expand on their lives so much. Really the film could have run longer and further explained what happened to Linda Susan Boreman or "Linda Lovelace", but it only gives half a look into that. I mean I know there is a lot it has to cover, but it could have done that by even adding an extra hour to it because Inside Deep Throat is an entertaining documentary with a fine subject and it really just feels like it cut short when it could have gone deeper.
Plus as it covers something it expects that everyone knows of or understand, Inside Deep Throat doesn't refer much to what the film actually is and shows minimal footage of it, approximately 10 seconds of the sexual activity in Deep Throat which doesn't really show the style of pornographic films from the era in terms of its actual depiction of sexual activity, and frankly it doesn't show enough of the sex it constantly talks about, and so as a visual experience Inside Deep Throat could have been enhanced in certain areas.

So Inside Deep Throat could have been better, could have been longer and could have gone deeper. That's what she said. But it does touch on the classic pornographic piece as the piece of industry changing counterculture that it is.
½ August 15, 2013
Despite what you might perceive as being a shock-film, this was a really good documentary! Highly recommended!
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
June 3, 2013
Inside Deep Throat tells the story of one of the most famous Adult films in the genre. Deep Throat was one of the first porn films to cause outrage at the time of its release due to the fact that it showed explicit sexual material, which was unheard of at the time. The documentary takes a look at how the film revolutionized a new movement. The film is interesting and it goes in depth in discussing the success of this notorious film. The subject is interesting and the documentary filmmakers get interviews from many celebrities, filmmakers and people involved in the making of Deep Throat. For those interested in the subject, this is a great documentary to watch, but is not for everyone. The interviews are well conducted and some are humorous, and serious. Deep Throat was one of the most notorious Adult films ever made, as in 1972 it broke new ground in good taste. This film shows the story of the making of the film along with its legacy. The film also shows how some people that seek to ban the film were hypocritical because they went and saw the film multiple times. This is an interesting film, and I really enjoyed the interviews, especially the ones where director John Waters, Hugh Hefner and Bill Maher tell how the film became a phenomenon. Not only does the documentary look at the film's impact, but it looks at censorship and freedom of speech, which is also quite interesting. Inside Deep Throat is a great documentary that is worth seeing.
½ April 19, 2013
It must have been decent for me to give it this rating, but I can't remember it. I seem to recall it being a bit disposable.
April 6, 2013
An informative documentary on the controversial mainstream pornographic film, Deep Throat, and how the both attempts to ban it from theaters created the porn industry we have today.
March 30, 2013
The sexual evolution and devolution of America will most likely stay on repeat, and "Inside Deep Throat" is an incredibly interesting look at the first cycle.
February 8, 2013
A film about a film that started a new culture.
January 24, 2013
A excellent look at the Porn Film that took America by storm and the Politicians that tried to silence it by any means necessary.
November 11, 2012
It's like real-life "Boogie Nights".
November 6, 2012
Very interesting. A slice of American history. Looking at the attitudes of the 1960-70s. This was a turning point in society as well as entertainment.
½ October 7, 2012
Very thought-provoking.. one of the more engaging documentaries that I've seen - it definitely examines some interesting controversies.
July 12, 2012
I found it boring and I didn't like the directing. Too choppy.
½ June 10, 2012
Interesting documentary
June 7, 2012
Really interesting documentary. It was amusing and entertaining as well as informative. While the old guys that made the film still had their sleeze appeal, it did not come across as sleezy or exploitive. Rather, it opened up a window to a moment in the past that is not a common topic of history or American film. I am sure that once you start to watch this movie, you will have a hard time turning it off.
May 26, 2012
A fascinating look into a film that caused quite a ruckus.
Page 1 of 20