Instinct Reviews

January 17, 2020
I can't say I want to see it again, but I really need to. More importantly, I really hope rapists end up seeing it. Just maybe they'll realize what they've done.
January 16, 2020
Carice van Houten delivers a stunning performance that's one of the year's best.
January 8, 2020
In a #MeToo climate, it chooses to stand by its controversial story rather than play is safe. This is not a film that lazily says, "men bad/women good," which is easy to do in fiction.
December 19, 2019
Carice Van Houten stars and stuns as Nicoline, a troubled psychotherapist working in a rehabilitation program at a prison.
October 19, 2019
Absorbing psycho-sexual debut feature from a highly talented director.
October 16, 2019
This elegant and hypnotic film dares to go to some very secret places.
October 1, 2019
The movie is quite competent. I think the movie manages to set its speech, to develop it, and to leave us with the restlessness necessary to discuss this kind of problems. [Full Review in Spanish]
September 16, 2019
Instinct is a fascinating study of control that examines the very nature of consent.
September 15, 2019
A film that is at once challenging, frustrating, perplexing, and thoroughly fascinating.
September 9, 2019
Reijn has made a movie that's very much about performance: as her characters maneuver around one another in a series of loaded conversations, the camera relishes Van Houten's every frown and Kenzari's every ambiguous smile.
Top Critic
August 17, 2019
Intelligently sensational adult fare, crafted with paper-cut precision on all fronts...
August 13, 2019
It's an ambitious and auspicious debut, even though not all of its frayed edges seem to be intentional.