Insurgent Reviews

Page 1 of 8
November 13, 2019
Insurgent is better than it's predecessor, Divergent, but that's hardly a compliment. It struggles to tell a messy story that even it's clunky, expositional dialogue couldn't help make sense.
August 5, 2019
Maybe we are all getting Dystopia Fatigue, but I need more to care about if i'm going to wade into this level of despair.
March 14, 2019
If you're able to push aside the confused machinations of the larger plot during the scenes of flashy violence, you may be able to find a bit of enjoyment in Insurgent. Beyond that, there isn't much nice to say.
February 20, 2019
Insurgent seems to indicate that the studios are content to simply go through the genre motions with this one. Whatever promise was offered by the first film is largely gone, leaving the franchise to plod to the finish line.
January 30, 2019
Will I see them both? Probably. I'm a completist, so I want to see this storyline to its conclusion. Do I recommend that others embark upon the same journey? Probably not. I'm not that mean.
January 23, 2019
It's a step in the right direction, but I'm still waiting for the film to deliver on its promise.
December 11, 2018
Insurgent is the halfway mark of a series, and, despite the dazzle, it failed to deliver the excitement or intensity that the first film (however naïve) promised.
April 23, 2018
Sadly, the better-than-okay performances cannot salvage Insurgent from being dull beyond recognition.
April 11, 2018
All just a tad bland, predictable and yawn-inducing.
March 2, 2018
The romance in this movie is SO bad.
January 30, 2018
...despite being like some sort of Frankenstein's monster, made of different elements taken from superior stories, the movie never bored me. [Full review in Spanish]
October 14, 2017
There are no stakes and every problem encountered is resolved through a convenient device. They might as well have called it MacGuffin: The Movie.
August 24, 2017
Insurgent has no qualms about its use of violence, or seemingly, anything at all.
August 22, 2017
Of all the things in Insurgent-the second installment of the YA sci-fi action Divergent series-the lack of concern for Chicago winter is the most unbelievable.
April 19, 2017
A sequel that has the same mistakes of the first film: it's banal, poorly performed and, in general, everything it wants to transmit is a hateful message. [Full review in Spanish]
July 12, 2016
Winslet is an evil wonder to watch. Hair pulled tight and dress pulled tighter, she is unflappable and heartless and it's awesome. Too bad it's in a movie that doesn't quite deserve her.
July 11, 2016
I said of Divergent last year that it was worth sticking around for the eventual pay-off and that still rings true, but the next installments will have to deliver a pretty heavy payload because Insurgent is hardly likely to start an uprising.
April 27, 2016
Two more films are still to come, Allegiant - parts 1 and 2. Once again the request is simple: more action and less talk next time please.
April 14, 2016
The only highlights to be found in "Insurgent" are in star Shailene Woodley's cropped hair, a 'do unwittingly symbolic of the cut-rate film it inhabits.
March 7, 2016
There's a magic box that is very pretty, which, miraculously, is retrieved from Tris's parents home and is the source of all sorts of trouble for her, but don't go looking for logical plot dumps or an actual explanation of what is going on.
Page 1 of 8