Infection (Invasion) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Infection (Invasion) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 19, 2016
Infection (aka Invasion): A somewhat intriguing premise, an alien invasion taking place in a remote park near Lawton, California, all captured in first person POV via a police dashcam, sounds promising enough. But after about 20 minutes of the same repetitive roads with video game quality dialogue is enough to make you want to hit the brakes and get off this tedious ride to nowhere. C-
July 27, 2014
It started out really interesting and intriguing then sorta plateaued for a bit and then shot downhill real fast. Not to nit pick cause movie characters never do what real people would do but these people just lol well they are worse than like Jason's victims running upstairs instead of out the front door.
Super Reviewer
½ October 12, 2013
Ok, this is on the Flixster free movie page and listed as a Nicky Kidman film (named "Invasion" too, but this is actually "Infection" - although its not actually that either, its the old worms-in-the-ear-so-now-yer-a-mind-slave routine stolen from the Star Trek franchise!) ... but its not, yah? Instead its a terribly monotonous drive through country roads at night shot entirely on a dashboard cam presumably in a police cruiser, most the action merely audible over the cruiser radio (ala Orson Welles "War Of The Worlds" radio broadcast). This is actually torture, and therein the only horror to this. Escape. Avoid. Run.
½ July 11, 2013
Infection (aka Invasion) is a very clever concept film. Shot entirely from the view of a patrol car dash cam, it tells a real time story of a meteor strike in a rural town and the biological infection of the town's residents. Great story and well executed, if only by virtue of its uniqueness of perspective. Overall however, there is too much reliance on the visual aspect. If the dialogue were stronger and more descriptive, if it followed the formula of a radio play in telling the story, it would have been a much better film
June 10, 2012
Essentially a found-footage version of Invasion of the Body Snatchers, Invasion would have been awesome if it had more fully played itself out--the film is technically 81 minutes long but for some reason features an unnecessary twenty-minute long end credits sequence, making it only 60 minutes. Shot entirely from the dash camera of a police car investigating strange events, Invasion is entertaining and creepy in parts with only a few bits of boredom, but it fails to fully follow through and instead abruptly ends at the hour mark instead of proceeding on to a more compelling conclusion.
½ December 31, 2011
This movie is TERRIBLE. With all caps. Just totally, horribly and irreversably terrible. It makes NO sense. The acting is putrid. The plot is stupid and mind-numbingly boring.

There are multiple stretches of the film that is simply a dashboard cam shot driving through the woods for literally 10 minutes at a time, nothing else. Also, can someone explain how is there a score accompanying a found footage film?? Bottom of the barrel film quality, direction, sound editing, and everything else you can imagine.

I find it necessary to point out that I absolutely love terrible horror movies. 'Troll 2', 'Plan 9' and all SyFi original films are always high on my list of pleasures in life, but this is beyond even my finely-tuned bad movie taste. Avoid this at all costs including bowel surgery, eating broken glass, and lighting yourself on fire.
½ December 1, 2011
This movie is TERRIBLE. With all caps. Just totally, horribly and irreversably terrible. It makes NO sense. The acting is putrid. The plot is stupid and mind-numbingly boring.

There are multiple stretches of the film that is simply a dashboard cam shot driving through the woods for literally 10 minutes at a time, nothing else. Also, can someone explain how is there a score accompanying a found footage film?? Bottom of the barrel film quality, direction, sound editing, and everything else you can imagine.

I find it necessary to point out that I absolutely love terrible horror movies. 'Troll 2', 'Plan 9' and all SyFi original films are always high on my list of pleasures in life, but this is beyond even my finely-tuned bad movie taste. Avoid this at all costs including bowel surgery, eating broken glass, and lighting yourself on fire.
½ November 6, 2011
A TOTAL WASTE O F TIME. This is Open Water on land. Horrible. Horrible. Horrible. I can't say it enough. Let me sum it up for you. Seriously now ... you watch the dash camera of a cop car through the ENTIRE movie. A dispatcher is your only "unaliened" friend as you ride through a one lane road in the middle of a park, with, of course, only one way out and the exit is blocked. Everyone in the movie is inhabited by aliens, or at least thats what came over the radio in the cop car. The the WHOLE movie is played in reverse and you get to watch it twice!! Yay!! Terrible acting and you just want to slap everyone involved. The end.
½ November 2, 2011
Here's a movie that has a hook and it sticks to it. One long, hour+ continuous shot (though i suspect a couple cuts hidden in there) all told via a dash-board camera from a police cruiser.

Micro-budgeted with shaky performances, the movie gets more mileage out of its conceit than you might think. There's a general sense that anything could jump out at a moment's notice, but it is more an interesting experiment than movie proper.

Fans of the obscure or avant-garde may get something out of the viewing experience, but its not fully satisfying as a film.
½ November 1, 2011
This movie is TERRIBLE. With all caps. Just totally, horribly and irreversably terrible. It makes NO sense. The acting is putrid. The plot is stupid and mind-numbingly boring. There are multiple stretches of the film that is simply a dashboard cam shot driving through the woods for minutes at a time, nothing else. Also, can someone explain how is there a score accompanying a found footage film?? Bottom of the barrel film quality, direction, sound editing, and everything else you can imagine. I find it necessary to point out that I absolutely love terrible horror movies. 'Troll 2', 'Plan 9' and any SyFi original films are always high on my list of pleasures in life, but this is beyond even my finely-tuned bad movie taste. Avoid this at all costs including bowel surgery, eating broken glass, and catching yourself on fire.
Super Reviewer
October 3, 2011
Not the greatest movie in the world, but definately had some pretty scary scenes\imagery. Could've gone a little better if it weren't slow-paced.
½ June 4, 2010
Interesting premise but fails miserably. The credits last for ages as well.
½ August 12, 2009
Not of this earth...


A slap in the face to all of humanity!

Late one night, a meteor carrying an extraterrestrial disease lands near the small community of Lawton, California. While out on patrol, Officer Brick Bardo comes into contact with Larry Jenkins, a local rancher, who discovered the mysterious meteor in the first place. Little does Bardo know, is that Jenkins has been infected by the alien organism. While Bardo has his back turned, Jenkins, under the control of the alien host, passes the infection onto the policeman. Bardo is now under control of the alien creature and he steps back into his patrol car, looking for new victims to spread the infection to. He finds a young couple and they are caught off guard when he attacks them. Only the young girl, Cheryl Cooper, survives Bardo's attack and she steals his police car in hopes of escaping this nightmare. What follows is the recording of Cheryl Cooper's ordeal of trusting no one, trying to outwit the infected people, and hopefully seeing the light of day again while she drives through this infected park containing a disease threatening annihilation of the planet.

This terrible film is directed by Albert Pyun whose other films on his resume are cheap Jean-Claude Van Damme action movies (i.e. Cyborg and Kickboxer 2: The Road Back) or they have just never been heard of. According to IMDB, he has been frequently compared to Edward Wood Jr., the man who directed Plan 9 from Outer Space, a strong contender for worst film ever. I don't know what goes through this guy's mind when he directs a movie. Has he ever thought of seeking some serious mental help in order to make a decent film? Who knows. All you need to know is that this guy does not make Academy Award worthy films.

There are about a dozen actors here at the most and you won't be blown away by these performances. Jenny Dare Paulin portrays the character you follow the most, Cheryl Cooper, as she tries to get out of the alien zombie park. This actress gets a little emotional but when she tries to deliver angry lines, it comes off as being flat. The voice you here most next is Don Keith Opper as Deputy Ben. The guy doesn't do bad voice work and should have been in radio instead of being in this film. Everybody else is as about as stiff as a board. When the actors try to act like part human/part alien/part zombie, their movements are terrible and it is like they are dolls being controlled by wires. Something like that NSYNC song, "It's Gonna Be Me."

The whole film is shot from behind the dash of a cop car. The perspective is something like [Rec], Cloverfield, Quarantine, or The Blair Witch Project, except it is still as still can be. I think they must have shot everything in one night as all they had to do was drive up and down the same dirt road. You know it is the same dirt road because you see the same shit house several times. What doesn't make sense is that on the front cover of the DVD is a cop car with a light on the driver's side window. In the movie, the light is on the roof of the car and on the passengers side.

The sound effects are all stock sounds or from a soundboard you could get for free on the internet. The music at times sounds something like the main theme from John Carpenter's, The Thing. Other times it is just the same old, and I mean old, music you've heard from deceased horror films.

This film is an attempt, although a poor one, at an evidential tape that goes against a U.S. government cover-up of this alien infection. Somehow, despite the disease spreading in Lawton, California, it is eventually stopped and called nothing more than the Bird Flu.

This film is anything but an A-grade movie. The filmmakers tried to throw in a bit of The Thing, a bit of Invasion of the Body Snatchers, a little bit of The Blair Witch Project, and a lot more from good movies. The film is boring, cheesy, pointless, and a waste of your valuable life.
½ August 12, 2009
Not of this earth...


A slap in the face to all of humanity!

Late one night, a meteor carrying an extraterrestrial disease lands near the small community of Lawton, California. While out on patrol, Officer Brick Bardo comes into contact with Larry Jenkins, a local rancher, who discovered the mysterious meteor in the first place. Little does Bardo know, is that Jenkins has been infected by the alien organism. While Bardo has his back turned, Jenkins, under the control of the alien host, passes the infection onto the policeman. Bardo is now under control of the alien creature and he steps back into his patrol car, looking for new victims to spread the infection to. He finds a young couple and they are caught off guard when he attacks them. Only the young girl, Cheryl Cooper, survives Bardo's attack and she steals his police car in hopes of escaping this nightmare. What follows is the recording of Cheryl Cooper's ordeal of trusting no one, trying to outwit the infected people, and hopefully seeing the light of day again while she drives through this infected park containing a disease threatening annihilation of the planet.

This terrible film is directed by Albert Pyun whose other films on his resume are cheap Jean-Claude Van Damme action movies (i.e. Cyborg and Kickboxer 2: The Road Back) or they have just never been heard of. According to IMDB, he has been frequently compared to Edward Wood Jr., the man who directed Plan 9 from Outer Space, a strong contender for worst film ever. I don't know what goes through this guy's mind when he directs a movie. Has he ever thought of seeking some serious mental help in order to make a decent film? Who knows. All you need to know is that this guy does not make Academy Award worthy films.

There are about a dozen actors here at the most and you won't be blown away by these performances. Jenny Dare Paulin portrays the character you follow the most, Cheryl Cooper, as she tries to get out of the alien zombie park. This actress gets a little emotional but when she tries to deliver angry lines, it comes off as being flat. The voice you here most next is Don Keith Opper as Deputy Ben. The guy doesn't do bad voice work and should have been in radio instead of being in this film. Everybody else is as about as stiff as a board. When the actors try to act like part human/part alien/part zombie, their movements are terrible and it is like they are dolls being controlled by wires. Something like that NSYNC song, "It's Gonna Be Me."

The whole film is shot from behind the dash of a cop car. The perspective is something like [Rec], Cloverfield, Quarantine, or The Blair Witch Project, except it is still as still can be. I think they must have shot everything in one night as all they had to do was drive up and down the same dirt road. You know it is the same dirt road because you see the same shit house several times. What doesn't make sense is that on the front cover of the DVD is a cop car with a light on the driver's side window. In the movie, the light is on the roof of the car and on the passengers side.

The sound effects are all stock sounds or from a soundboard you could get for free on the internet. The music at times sounds something like the main theme from John Carpenter's, The Thing. Other times it is just the same old, and I mean old, music you've heard from deceased horror films.

This film is an attempt, although a poor one, at an evidential tape that goes against a U.S. government cover-up of this alien infection. Somehow, despite the disease spreading in Lawton, California, it is eventually stopped and called nothing more than the Bird Flu.

This film is anything but an A-grade movie. The filmmakers tried to throw in a bit of The Thing, a bit of Invasion of the Body Snatchers, a little bit of The Blair Witch Project, and a lot more from good movies. The film is boring, cheesy, pointless, and a waste of your valuable life.
May 20, 2009
ein interessantes konzept, aber ein grauenhafter film. für ein ernsthaftes experiment in sachen authentizität im horrorkino bei verzicht auf hypermobilisierte kamera bräuchte es einen fähigeren regisseur als ausgerechnet albert pyun. so bleibt nur ein kuriosum der filmgeschichte.
April 22, 2009
flawed but terribly interesting experiment... a 60 minutes one-take horror/scifi movie through the point of view of the security camera of a patrol car. Certainly, it deserves cult, despite the flawed results.
½ November 3, 2008
This movie was so bad! I couldnt fisnish it I made it about 45 mins into it and... well ya. It's not good.
½ October 28, 2008
A decent adaptation of "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" (I guess). I mean, one fluid shot was a cool idea, but, and I know it's low budget, the dialogue was lame and the characters were annoying. But yeah... it got kind of boring at times... how many times can you drive up and down the same fucking dirt road? I don't know... maybe worth your time, but don't pay a dime to see it!!!!
½ August 4, 2008
I was expecting a pretty crappy film when I put this in and though it's very low budget and a little lame at times I think it will be a great film to have playing at a Halloween party in the background. It's got a very stressful atmostphere that aids in it's scare factor where the actual "scary" parts fall short.
August 3, 2008
Nice concept, and it delivers a little... but only a little. The performances aren't bad and the one girl who is the main focus does an good job but her lines are just atrocious at times and she gets annoying. It's overall an annoying film.
Page 1 of 2