The Invention of Lying - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Invention of Lying Reviews

Page 2 of 10
November 20, 2009
The premise allows the filmmakers latitude to invent a scenario that works as irony and satire about our modern world. It shows, humorously, how impossibly confronting it would be if we really didn't lie, flatter and smooth over our social interactions
November 20, 2009
A brilliant and original concept, The Invention of Lying is witty, seriously funny and utterly charming. The trick to it all is that Gervais' alternate reality, where there is no deceit, flattery or fiction, is grounded solidly in a credible way
November 19, 2009
...becomes dizzyingly hilarious, mixed with genuine sympathy, while an amusing and subversive element grows slowly, beginning as fascinating and then stumbling into inevitability.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 17, 2009
It's a shame that the air gets let out of this one so suddenly, as if The Invention of Lying's backbone gets ripped out of the film as the final act kicks into gear.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 9, 2009
The star cameos in The Invention of Lying are non-stop, distracting, and always blatantly pointed out as if this were a Cannonball Run sequel.
October 31, 2009
It feels, in spirit, like a fable, in the mold of films like It's a Wonderful Life or Miracle on 34th Street. I just wish it were better.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 27, 2009
"The Invention of Lying" is like "Groundhog Day," although not in the way it intends to be. Watching the film feels like you're reliving the same lame scenes over and over, powerless to change what happens in this profoundly disappointing comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 27, 2009
All the dazzling, limitless comedic potential here, and we're stuck waiting for the hot younger girl to wise up and learn to love the homely guy who wrote the movie?
October 26, 2009
Flaccid rom-com uplift and cut-rate snark
October 25, 2009
One of the best and most thought-provoking American comedies to come along in some considerable time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 23, 2009
"Fun!"
October 20, 2009
a terribly unwieldy vehicle built on an inherently funny premise that just can't sustain what Ricky Gervais and Matthew Robinson eventually want to heap on it
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 11, 2009
Ricky Gervais stars and directs and takes a good premise and some funny bits and tries to get philosophical, only to come up short in both laughs and depth.
Full Review | Original Score: C
October 11, 2009
I'll bemoan the ending forever (or until they change it on DVD), but right now I'm still wondering how a movie with this radical a subtext got made at all.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 11, 2009
The film has two very, very good ideas, but doesn't fit them together well; while its laughs are only sporadic, and the romantic subplot falls generally flat.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
October 10, 2009
For a self-avowed atheist, Ricky Gervais certainly focuses a lot on spirituality in his movies.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
October 9, 2009
Like 'Life of Brian,' 'The Invention of Lying' pokes fun at religious beliefs. Too bad it fails to emphasize the fun.
October 9, 2009
Gervais is reluctant to use his satiric bite to go for the throat. Instead, he just nibbles the edges of his premise, before retreating into romantic-comedy convention.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 9, 2009
A funny, cleverly-conceived, heartfelt expression of a point of view that is not nearly my own.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 9, 2009
There's too much good here not to forgive the bad.
Page 2 of 10