Island in the Sky - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Island in the Sky Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 9, 2015
John Wayne's most underrated film. He panics, cries, and is rescued by Andy Devine, among others. A loving look at the DC3, perhaps the greatest plane of all time.
½ October 6, 2015
I've been flying for over 20 years. The first few minutes of this film are some of the most accurate aviation imagery I have ever seen. They really capture the intensity of an in-air emergency.
½ April 14, 2015
Perfect/Priceless!!!!
½ February 2, 2015
One of the best films any of these talents was ever involved with (John Wayne, director William Wellman, screenwriter and advisor Ernest K. Gann , and everyone else connected with the production). After decades of legal conflicts, it's delightful to see the restored film made available again.
November 15, 2014
A good search drama with an excellent performance by John Wayne... Dooley's Down--Expands on a true story of a downed plane in Labrador winter... Wayne and Wellman give it their all in a high flying thriller!!
July 26, 2013
Excellently made, but a bit dragged out.
November 24, 2012
entertaining, yes,....entertaining ! i give it a solid 7.
April 12, 2012
I certainly wouldn't use this movie as a reference if I were lost in the wilderness and wanted to find my way back to civilization...
½ March 23, 2012
Good and different John Wayne film.
December 12, 2011
Very underrated movie. Great filming, especially for its day. Well worth a look
½ August 6, 2011
It's melodramatic and clunky at times, but when it works (which it mostly does) it is well directed by the great William Wellman. The one death sequence in the film is in fact brilliant.
June 7, 2011
ISLAND IN THE SKY (1953)
½ May 5, 2011
some pretty decent acting, and a pretty interesting plot, the feel of the isolation is carried out well and it genuinely feels good when they are found.
January 23, 2011
This film set the stage for all the airplane crash stories to come. They just don't make 'em like this anymore...
½ November 27, 2010
Pretty good John Wayne disaster movie. One of the early films of this genre, and it William Wellman does a great job telling it. Great cinematography.
Super Reviewer
December 21, 2009
A slightly above average flight desaster film, which is mainly carried by John Wayne's stoic acting and strong lead. The movie depicts an airline crew's fight for survival following a plane crash and the related rescue misions. The movie features many classic Hollywood B and C actors, although their ability to shine is limited by the very focussed, almost minimal scope of the movie. And while the story offers as good as no twists, instead opting for a traditional Wayne vehicle hero rundown, the film still offers solid acting and thrill, especially towards the last 30 Minutes. Unfortunately, the movie does not dare to make the 'catastrophe' catastrophical enough, so that true suspense never comes up. Worth its while for Wayne for sure though.

HX
December 8, 2009
Not one of the Duke's greatest efforts - a laboured survival story if i've ever seen one!
November 30, 2009
The production for this search and rescue movie is as conventional as it gets, but the entertainment value is high.
September 28, 2009
One of my fav JW non westerns.
Page 1 of 3