It Felt Like Love - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

It Felt Like Love Reviews

April 24, 2014
In Gina Piersanti, also making her feature debut, Hittman has found the perfect actress to portray the difficult undertaking of growing up, or at least trying to.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
April 3, 2014
Hittman draws attention to the pervasive cultural forces (rap music, Internet pornography, suggestive dancing on TV) that present young girls as sexual objects, making the scenes of exploitation seem sadly inevitable.
March 27, 2014
Rarely has the zone between girlhood and womanhood been captured with such urgent honesty than in Eliza Hittman's superb teen drama "It Felt Like Love."
March 27, 2014
"It Felt Like Love" doesn't just unreel before your eyes, it weighs on you.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
March 20, 2014
It's easy to be seduced by the loosely observational vibe of the movie, even as its tale of a shrinking violet struggling not to be a late bloomer fails to strike more than a single note of dismay.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
March 20, 2014
Gorgeously shot in Brooklyn's beachfront neighborhoods and devoid of easy sentimentality, "It Felt Like Love" features realistic performances all around, understandable given the cast of mostly first-time actors.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
March 20, 2014
It Felt Like Love doesn't exactly have a plot, which feels absolutely right for a film whose elliptical yet intensely focused visual style seem to flow directly from Lila's consciousness.
March 20, 2014
A mood poem to summer loving and sexual awakening, "It Felt Like Love" powerfully evokes a time when flesh is paramount, and peer behavior is the standard by which we judge our own.
March 18, 2014
In her pitch-perfect feature film debut, writer-director Eliza Hittman explores the terrible uncertainties of adolescence, and in the process reclaims the word "girls" for its rightful owners.
March 18, 2014
The filmmaker has fallen for some of indiedom's worst clichés, including our main character's sad stare out to the ocean, and soft camerawork that's beginning to sound like a Klaxon: Hug me, hug me, hug me.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 17, 2014
More than anything else, It Felt Like Love successfully turns the coming-of-age formula into a foreboding nightmare.
March 17, 2014
The film is an intimate and tender look at female sexuality that allows for a feminist interpretation of this scenario that has historically been viewed through a misogynist lens.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
March 17, 2014
A convincing tale of a too-early coming of age gets strong performances from a cast of newcomers.
November 11, 2013
Eliza Hittman's first feature brings bracing insight and intimacy to the familiar subject of a teen-ager's sexual awakening ...
January 22, 2013
An evocatively shot, rawly unsentimental coming-of-ager from debut helmer Eliza Hittman.