It Should Happen to You - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

It Should Happen to You Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ June 24, 2016
Critics tend to focus on Judy Holliday's performance. However, I honestly don't see Gladys Glover as a particularly challenging role. That said, I think she could have made one of the last and most memorable scenes (the one at the airplane hangar), much more interesting. Jack Lemmon, on the other hand, was brilliant. I can't think of anyone else who could have done what he did with Pete. Humble, yet proud... Silly, yet cool and romantic. Excellent movie!
½ May 4, 2016
I love this film so much--another Judy Holliday screwball comedy directed by George Cukor. Notable for the screen debut of Jack Lemmon, Holliday had great screen chemistry with both suitors of her love triangle, Lemmon and Peter Lawford. In today's media-obsessive and Facebook-oriented culture, where selfies and 'food porn' are splashed online whenever people leave their homes, I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if this got remade with contemporary twists (here, Holliday pays part of her life savings, simply because she wants her name, 'Gladys Glover', on the largest billboard of New York City, after she loses a modeling job for being too fat--and chaos ensues when Lawford's company, who's father has always utilized that billboard for their ad campaign every summer, wants to know why it's reserved, and with simply the huge words, 'Gladys Glover' on it.

Lemmon's doings, both in being so intrigued by her that he moves into her apartment building, right across the hall from her, and in making a documentary film about their meeting, when he incorrectly thinks he's licked and that she's chosen Lawford as her partner, were very nice touches, from the Garson Kanin script. If you come across a film that comes from one of his screenplays, don't hesitate for a moment. Chances are very good that you're in for a real treat.

A documentary DVD extra on Lemmon's life and career (which I believe was on my copy of 'Glengarry Glen Ross', but I may be wrong) is called 'Magic Time: A Tribute to Jack Lemmon'. It's great, and well-worth checking out. He sometimes gets short shrift amongst cinephiles because he mostly does comic roles, but he didn't get two Oscars and eight nominations overall for nothing. Though he's more well-known both for his films with Walter Matthau, and as the alter ego of Billy Wilder in seven of his films, check this out if you've ever been a fan. You'll be very pleasantly surprised by this little gem.
½ May 4, 2016
I love this film so much--another Judy Holliday screwball comedy directed by George Cukor. Notable for the screen debut of Jack Lemmon, Holliday had great screen chemistry with both suitors of her love triangle, Lemmon and Peter Lawford. In today's media-obsessive and Facebook-oriented culture, where selfies and 'food porn' are splashed online whenever people leave their homes, I wouldn't be surprised in the slightest if this got remade with contemporary twists (here, Holliday pays part of her life savings, simply because she wants her name, 'Gladys Glover', on the largest billboard of New York City, after she loses a modeling job for being too fat--and chaos ensues when Lawford's company, who's father has always utilized that billboard for their ad campaign every summer, wants to know why it's reserved, and with simply the huge words, 'Gladys Glover' on it.

Lemmon's doings, both in being so intrigued by her that he moves into her apartment building, right across the hall from her, and in making a documentary film about their meeting, when he incorrectly thinks he's licked and that she's chosen Lawford as her partner, were very nice touches, from the Garson Kanin script. If you come across a film that comes from one of his screenplays, don't hesitate for a moment. Chances are very good that you're in for a real treat.

A documentary DVD extra on Lemmon's life and career (which I believe was on my copy of 'Glengarry Glen Ross', but I may be wrong) is called 'Magic Time: A Tribute to Jack Lemmon'. It's great, and well-worth checking out. He sometimes gets short shrift amongst cinephiles because he mostly does comic roles, but he didn't get two Oscars and eight nominations overall for nothing. Though he's more well-known both for his films with Walter Matthau, and as the alter ego of Billy Wilder in seven of his films, check this out if you've ever been a fan. You'll be very pleasantly surprised by this little gem.
½ October 17, 2015
Cute romantic comedy with some witty humor.
½ October 10, 2015
the story of Gladys Glover
½ December 27, 2014
Jack Lemmon's feature film debut came in this sprightly comedy about getting 15 minutes of fame before Andy Warhol ever coined the phrase. With writing by Garson Kanin and direction by George Cukor, It Should Happen To You takes on the quality of a can't miss proposition... Carefree in Manhattan--Judy Holliday should happen to anybody, she had a gift for capturing the childlike quality of the pure of heart "dumb blonde"... A lot of heart and humor!!
½ November 7, 2013
George Cukor directed this fun lightweight satire about Judy Holliday wanting to make it big in NYC and when she has trouble doing it, she takes out a major billboard advertising her name. Although it didn't really work so well for Angelyne in the 1980s, the billboard works quite well for Holliday in getting her famous. Jack Lemmon, in his first film appearance, is her earnest neighbor and Rat Packer Peter Lawford is the schmoozy advertising executive. I think this is the first film I've seen with Judy Holliday and she is affable enough, but I didn't really get a sense of her being a major star or screen presence. Lemmon however is terrific and really carried the film for me.
April 22, 2013
A small town girl moves into New York city to make it big, but is disappointed in her naivity to see that nothing has happened yet. So she takes matters into her own hands and buys a billbard to put her own name on it; and this suddenly gives her overnight fame. Witty concept for a witty romantic comedy that should also be noted for featuring the debut of Jack Lemmon. Judy Holliday plays the na´ve small town girl to perfection, and her relationship with Lemmon, who plays a documentarian, is very sweet down to the final sequence that is simply charming. All the while, Cukor's direction makes the film seem very much like a product of its time.
February 6, 2013
An easy going film that doesn't aim high with what it presents to the audience. A feel good comedy staring Judy Holliday, who is exceptional in this role, and Jack Lemmon, his first screen role, who is equally as hilarious as Holliday. A great premise, perfectly executed, a perfect Sunday afternoon movie.
January 29, 2012
haha. some brilliant, funny lines here delivered in such a dumb blonde manner they were hilarious. this is one classic that travels well. the theme of wanting that 15 minutes of fame is still relevant today, if not more so.
½ January 20, 2012
I saw this movie on TCM and Ben Mankiewicz's intro summed it all up...."The story is as current as today's reality shows. The idea of being famous not because you're talented or accomplished, but just because you're famous."
January 17, 2012
Big Jack Lemmon fan! :)
January 15, 2012
Lemmon's first film role. Really funny stuff in this movie.
February 18, 2011
It's a fun comedy with good performances by practically everyone in it. It's not a horribly exciting story but it's fun to watch and the comedy keeps you entertained.
January 17, 2011
Yes, I am guilty. I watched this yesterday and it was a train wreck. I kept thinking it would get better but at the end of the picture my husband who so kindly endured it with me voiced, "that is an hour and a half of my life I will never get back." Not too far from the truth... it was pretty cheesy and exhausting the idea of the poor dumb blonde. She acts like a 10 year old innocent girl through out the movie as she is "wooed" into being used as property. Lesson well learned for young girls who misconstrue the celeb life for a woman to be a glamorous fairy tale. If I had a chance to see the movie again... I would pass and suggest you do too unless you like the dumb blonde air head movies.
December 25, 2010
*** (out of four)

A rather typical set up is given a fresh look mainly due to a fun and endearing performance from Judy Holliday. She is so warm and loveable that she helps you forget the somewhat routine script.

Holliday plays a young woman who moves to New York to make it in the world. She rents out a billboard and becomes a sensation in the Big Apple.

Peter Lawford and Jack Lemmon add fine support, but it is Holliday's movie all the way.
December 4, 2010
Judy Holliday was often the best thing about mediocre movies (yes, even in "Born Yesterday") but here she's just about even with the material for once. Actually, the implausibility of her character is one of the main flaws here - even with the slight backstory she's given it's hard to understand how someone so naive and absentminded actually made it to this point in her life. But a lot works here, especially the main interplay between Lemmon and Holliday which is affecting while nicely undercutting the whimsy of the premise. Even the premise of a woman renting her own ad space is given an unexpected amount of realism, since she doesn't become an overnight sensation in a montage. Instead, a few opportunist ad people eventually decide to book her for gigs that the general public seems just as confused by, which is both realer and funnier. Also unexpectedly real: the filming in locations around New York is really beautiful, especially the opening sequence in central park - getting material like this out in the open instead on a studio lot was a great decision, as it helps everything seem less canned and stagey even when the plot contrivances kick in a bit more.
Super Reviewer
½ November 8, 2010
Brilliantly directed by Cukor, and brilliantly acted by the great cast. This movie is hilarious, and a lot of fun. I highly recommend it.
October 23, 2010
A fun movie and Judy Holliday was great!
Page 1 of 3