It Waits - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

It Waits Reviews

Page 1 of 4
½ May 29, 2016
I thought it ok. My dad have the DVD. I give it two stars and a half. Could've been better.
October 14, 2015
Porn quality dialogue and acting but it's far more serviceable than I was lead to beleive. Undemanding b-movie time killer.
October 23, 2012
Lets start out by analyzing this movie in depth... from the case, to the disc, to the movie itself. It Waits... whats with the title? Whose "It"? Does it have a name? It is a little confusing in its own regard, but that adds a little flare of mystery which is a good thing. In fact the case of the DVD itself talks about this creature, gives a little bit of a synopsis, it builds suspense of what this creature looks like. I had some high hopes for this movie, I mean maybe it'd be a gem in a fountain of rocks. Well as I opened up the case, the monster was pictured on the DVD itself which ruined any bit of suspense I had for this thing. I knew what it looked like which took away from the film itself. Now that that mess is out of the way lets get into the movie.
So for plot... well I really couldn't make sense of the plot, in fact I don't even think this movie had one. The monster came from a cave, we are told that it is a Native American evil spirit that has been freed from cave.
This movie really can be summed up into one single sentence. "What was the point of that?" Nothing significant happens, people die without any build up so why should we care? The movie seems rushed as it is under ninety minutes, and nothing really happened.
I gotta give kudos on another review, someone said the African Grey Parrot was the best actor... and he was. I paid the most attention and interest when that little bird was on screen. Its amazing how that bird can talk.
But in short...
This movie seems rushed, has no buildup, the action scenes are boring, the characters have no buildup and make it impossible for the viewer to become attache to them, the monster looks okay but we hardly see it enough, the ending is a joke. But if you love birds I recommend this movie to you, because the parrot really is the best aspect to this film.
However, that's really sad considering this is a horror movie, but if you're not a bird fan steer clear of it.
October 16, 2012
Parts of the plot and story in whole are kind of absurd ; The actors must of learned their craft online but believe it or not, this wasn't bad for a horror movie because the monster was cool as heck (can't believe I used the word heck)
June 4, 2012
well this movie was alright i mean it had a pretty damn cool creature but they didnt show it no where near enough and the acting was sub par but you cant get to crazy over it this is a B movie and this is what you get most the time even with the main girl in here being from cabin fever she wasnt great in that movie and shes no better in this but this movie was pretty well done direction wise and setting and the cool creature helped
½ May 28, 2012
A pretty meh movie, but better than your average B-movie, I guess. The African grey parrot is the most talented actor of the film by far.
½ April 30, 2012
I waited for it to be good, didn't happen.
December 31, 2011
Don't let the 3 stars fool you, this isn't an above average movie. But I found it fairly entertaining and decently directed for its no doubt miniscule budget.

Standard storyline; emotionally damaged woman cut off from civilization being stalked by a monster. Horrific acting which is definitely the scariest thing about the movie. Vincent is particularly awful, but she looks pretty damn fine.

The creature is a mixed bag. Pretty effective when its in the shadows shown in flashes, but laughable when its in full view. A ponytail? Seriously? Despite these things, it manages to create a few genuinely creepy moments. The monsters personality is an interesting plot detail, as it helps to separate it from the typical B grade monster movie.

Make no mistake, this is indeed a B movie, but I found it an entertaining and fun one.
December 7, 2011
Don't let the 3 stars fool you, this isn't an above average movie. But I found it fairly entertaining and decently directed for its no doubt miniscule budget.

Standard storyline; emotionally damaged woman cut off from civilization being stalked by a monster. Horrific acting which is definitely the scariest thing about the movie. Vincent is particularly awful, but she looks pretty damn fine.

The creature is a mixed bag. Pretty effective when its in the shadows shown in flashes, but laughable when its in full view. A ponytail? Seriously? Despite these things, it manages to create a few genuinely creepy moments. The monsters personality is an interesting plot detail, as it helps to separate it from the typical B grade monster movie.

Make no mistake, this is indeed a B movie, but I found it an entertaining and fun one.
½ October 29, 2011
This is a low budget horror movie; the effects are pretty awful. The "monster" looks ludicrous. Neither it, nor the movie, is scary in the least. Vincent is not a horrible actress. I've enjoyed her in other films and liked her here as well. The rest of the cast I have worse opinions of. Could just be the poor dialogue though. The story is weak and disjointed. Too much time was spent on the accident that killed Danielle's friend and not enough building up tension concerning the monster. Not enough here to recommend.
October 11, 2011
THe ideal makes for a good horror flick, but everything else falls short
July 9, 2011
The movie is half over before it gets past the Lifetime movie "I'm so sad my best friend died, but I'm glad I have my man to lean on" section of the movie and into some creature action. The creature looks pretty good and there's a little gore, but there's no atmosphere and the acting is terrible. Not a very good movie.
November 29, 2010
Don't let the 3 stars fool you, this isn't an above average movie. But I found it fairly entertaining and decently directed for its no doubt miniscule budget. Standard storyline; emotionally damaged woman cut off from civilization being stalked by a monster. Horrific acting which is definetly the scariest thing about the movie. Vincent is particularly awful, but she looks pretty damn fine. The creature is a mixed bag. Pretty effective when its in the shadows shown in flashes, but laughable when its in full view. A ponytail? Seriously? Despite these things, it manages to create a few genuinely creepy moments. The monsters personality is an interesting plot detail, as it helps to seperate it from the typical B grade monster movie. Make no mistake, this is indeed a B movie, but I found it an entertaining and fun one.
October 21, 2010
The monster reminds me of pumpkinhead, jeeper creepers & maybe a couple other monsters rolled into one. A Forest ranger faces off against a mythical creature from (native Indian?) Legend?& Very Predictable. D
August 31, 2010
It Waits is nothing but a bogged down, tedious and poorly made horror film thats not in the least bit scary or interesting.
Super Reviewer
½ July 11, 2010
The acting is beyond terrible, but the creature is pretty downright awesome. Attempts to have a plot, but said attempt is utterly thwarted by the cast's inability to act. Great modern B movie for when you want some SciFi-channel quality fare of creature feature action.
½ June 8, 2010
The cover to this looked so awesome. However, the acting was horrible and the creature just failed. A pony tail demon?? really?? haha They went for the pretty faced actress rather then a one that could act. The gore and bloody nature was nice and the bird was cute... thats pretty much it.
½ May 11, 2010
I'll admit, the title is appropriate. You see the film's monster maybe 3 times. The film has the pace of a snail and then BOOM, it's over. The main character is about as terrible as possible in her role. But, on the bright side, the monster is pretty damn cool. So props for that.
½ February 22, 2010
so lame and boring. it put me to sleep.
February 20, 2010
Not even Cerina Vincent's big boobs can save this monstrosity (the movie, not the creature) from hitting rock bottom. Oh, and it does--hard. But something is left to be appreciated--such as the not-so-bad monster effects, Dominic Zamprogna's mediocre acting, Cerina Vincent's out-of-place hotness, and a cliche plot with tons of well-made gore. The vague semblance to "Predator" is there, but not to the point that it matters. This movie was a dull ride for me at most times, but towards the end it was just fun to see what happened next, and how Cerina's dreadful acting could somehow save the day.
Page 1 of 4