Jack the Giant Slayer - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jack the Giant Slayer Reviews

Page 2 of 178
March 25, 2016
I liked it. Great acting and interesting take on the classic fairy tale. more people should see this.
February 13, 2016
It's a bit of fun alright. It could be more I think.
January 15, 2016
Entretenimiento hollywoodense clasico, fallido, con efectos visuales muy buenos, olvidable pero recomendable, pelicula perfecta pa toda la family.
January 6, 2016
I thought it was awesome¬°!
December 25, 2015
Loved this movie. Well played.
November 21, 2015
half a start for Warwick Davis (he makes a cameo)
half a star for Bill Nighy
half star for the rest of the film.

Better of giving this film a miss. :)
½ November 15, 2015
Normally i doesn't really like this kinda faritale story's , but the normal people and the Giants and the magic beans make it a pleasure to watch !
October 27, 2015
una de las peores cintas del 2013
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2015
Really entertaining and charming fairy tale adventure that only suffers from the massive use of CGI. Especially the giants would have worked much better as real actors filmed in forced perspective. That doesn't mean there is plenty to enjoy here, though.
October 20, 2015
Good clean fun with a simple unpretentious story. Special effects are well done, not over done. Overall it is a truly excellent film and I can't fault it one bit. Thoroughly enjoyable and I'm sure very well suited as a family film.
October 20, 2015
A great mindless adventure romp. One of the better fairytale adaptations. The heroics were spread between all the 'good' characters making them all likeable.
½ September 22, 2015
didnt care for this only bryan singer pic i don't like and as i've said b4 I d/k wot others like i only know what I like!
September 20, 2015
Nicholas Hoult continues to impress in this live action depiction of Jack and the Beanstalk.
½ September 16, 2015
Bryan Singer's Jack the Giant Slayer is rousing adventure; exciting, adventurous and just plain fun. After the disaster of super-sized fairy tale adaptations like Hansel and Gretel and Little Red Riding Hood, this is the one that gets it right. It uses great special effects at the service of a story that, while not completely airtight, at least has enough surprises to give you your money's worth.

That might seem somewhat surprising given the material. Jack the Giant Slayer was never the most gripping of the old English fairy tales: A kid with buyer's remorse accidentally plants a beanstalk and climbs his newly acquired foliage to a magic castle occupied by a grump with a severe case of gigantism and low social skills. Not much to build a movie on.

Screenwriters Darren Lemke, Christopher McQuarrie and Dan Studney do the material a service by changing it up and expanding the story in order to give it some energy. Their expanded story contains only the framework of the original. It begins in the kingdom of Cloister with the reading of an ancient legend being told to two children, one is a royal, the other is a peasant. Jack, a farm boy, practically has the story memorized. While at the castle a little princess named Isabel is being read the same story and it places in her heart a spirit of adventure. This framing device pays off in a really beautiful way.

Jump forward a decade and Jack (Nicolas Hoult from Warm Bodies) is a strapping young buck without a penny to his name. He goes to the town market to sell his uncle's horse (horses are more interesting than cows) and meets a friar that, at first, offers him money but then offers him a handful of beans that he claims hold the fate of the world. He's right because high above the earth lays the kingdom of the giants. Yes, giants, more than one. In fact, more than you might imagine although curiously no females. Maybe there's a reason they're so grumpy.

Later an accident causes one of Jack's magic beans to seep into the grown and what is produced is a beanstalk that doesn't grow overnight, but actually grows right before Jack's eyes. The problem: the stalk has taken away not only the kid's house but also the King's daughter Isabel who was passing by. The King (Ian McShane) learns of his daughter's dilemma and summons his best men, including Elmont (Ewan McGregor) the leader of the king's elite guard, and Lord Roderick (Stanley Tucci), the king's adviser, who has a plan for usurping the king using the giants (long story), to climb up and retrieve his beloved daughter.

What follows is difficult to describe without spoilers but what can be reported is that the screenplay is open enough to new ideas. It doesn't follow a simplistic slog from beginning to the inevitable conclusion, but contains set pieces that are short works of genius, like a scene in which Jack and Elmont attack a giant with a bee hive; or a bit in a giant's kitchen with the chef who, literally, makes pigs-in-a- blanket. And, of course, the breathtaking moment when the beanstalk comes crashing down.

The story told here is a good one. Yes, the characters could use a little more definition but you're having so much fun along the way that you hardly notice. Elmont might easily be the hero of this adventure but since Isabel's eyes are so glued to Jack, he gives hints that he might feel a bit left out.

Jack the Giant Slayer isn't a perfect movie but it is better than you might expect. Its fun where other CG adventures are merely exercises in special effects. The effects give the giants personality. Yes, they're nasty but you can tell them apart. They are more than just the sum of their pixels, and so is the screenplay which has time for perfect little moments of ingenuity. This is a fun movie.
½ September 12, 2015
There is no doubt Brian Singer is a fantastic director and noticeably, the project was shot out of love to cinema, which makes hating the movie hard. The campy dialogue would make Joel Schumacher blush, the pacing is uneven, and let's not get started on the overly cartoony CGI. Perhaps, the film could have been more successful as a straight to DVD animated movie.
August 31, 2015
its a fairy tale fantasy told in a different way. I found the scripting and actors quite enjoyable. See for yourself and don't let others decide how good or bad a movie is :)
½ August 29, 2015
Jack The Giant Slayer has its good moments and some bad moments! The movie was action packed with amazing special effects and good acting! Jack the giant slayer is a adventure and a great adaption off Jack And The Beanstalk but with a little twist!
August 13, 2015
This movie was good! I like the story, the special effects and great performances. I don't understand why people doesn't like it! That day I watched oz the great and powerful and it was boring!!
August 8, 2015
a classic fairy tale turned stupid
August 7, 2015
Jack the Giant Slayer is a nice film based on the Jack and the Beanstalk story. This movie is fairly put together with your basic comedy and adventure for the youth, all and all a decent family film. For the most part the graphics were good, the acting was fair for the cast which was selected and of course what script was provided to make a story. For the biggest part of the film which caught my attention the most was size proportions. In many instances when the giants and the humans were up close the size proportions varied a lot. The biggest example is where the giants first appeared in the movie with Jack, Jack was the size of the giant's foot, and in others he was the size of their leg, and again in other instances Jack was the size of their heads. Now other than proportions the film is fairly one point with the graphics and artistry. To best describe the acting styling within Jack the Giant Slayer is to simply think of "Robin Hood: Men in tights".

One thing I did like about this movie is it's innuendo of mankind's response in a tragedy. In Jack the giant Slayer while the king and the rest of the king's people are are the ground level awaiting the return of the princess, the whole are turned into a fairground; sounds like man's reality huh? lmao yes, this is the typical thing for humans to do when tragedy strikes is to see who can profit the most.
Page 2 of 178