Jackass - The Movie Reviews

Page 1 of 2
August 14, 2007
It's not exactly stupid. Cynical might be a better word.
June 24, 2006
So what's all the fuss about? If people want to staple paper to their inner thighs, let them. The question is whether you're prepared to pay to watch them do it.
March 25, 2003
There's no denying that it's pretty vicious humour, and pretty puerile too, but like previously successful purveyors of such past-the-U-bend comedy, its fresh-faced enthusiasm makes it invulnerable to... tired accusations.
March 22, 2003
While there is no scientific proof, chances are good your teenagers will leak brain cells by the thousands while watching Jackass. And you might even want to see it with them.
January 21, 2003
As brainless as the movie incarnations of both South Park and Beavis and Butt-head, Jackass is just as funny as both -- and better than many of the so-called comedies Hollywood produces.
November 5, 2002
Jackass: The Movie is a disgusting, repulsive, grotesque spectacle, but it's also hilarious and provocative. God help me, thumbs up.
November 2, 2002
Maybe the best way to look at Jackass: The Movie is as a piece of conceptual art. How far and low will these guys go? What's the pinnacle of pointlessness?
October 30, 2002
Critics need a good laugh, too, and this too-extreme-for-TV rendition of the notorious MTV show delivers the outrageous, sickening, sidesplitting goods in steaming, visceral heaps.
October 30, 2002
Compared with Jackass, professional wrestling is scripted by Moliere.
October 29, 2002
It's plotless, shapeless -- and yet, it must be admitted, not entirely humorless. Indeed, the more outrageous bits achieve a shock-you-into-laughter intensity of almost Dadaist proportions.
October 29, 2002
It's funny, as the old saying goes, because it's true.
October 29, 2002
Candid Camera on methamphetamines.
October 28, 2002
Can literally make one sick, so be prepared.
October 28, 2002
Witless, pointless, tasteless and idiotic.
October 28, 2002
As much as I laughed throughout the movie, I cannot mount a cogent defense of the film as entertainment, or even performance art, although the movie does leave you marveling at these guys' superhuman capacity to withstand pain.
October 28, 2002
Made by jackasses for jackasses.
October 28, 2002
An inflated and excruciating 85 minutes with barely enough laughs to sustain 10.
October 27, 2002
Belongs in the too-hot-for-TV direct-to-video/DVD category, and this is why I have given it a one-star rating.
October 26, 2002
I'm not sure which will take longer to heal: the welt on Johnny Knoxville's stomach from a riot-control projectile or my own tortured psyche.
October 26, 2002
Like a documentary version of Fight Club, shorn of social insight, intellectual pretension and cinematic interest.
Page 1 of 2