Jennifer's Body - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jennifer's Body Reviews

Page 1 of 9
August 28, 2015
The integral problem with Jennifer's Body is that of tone. Or lack thereof.
September 29, 2012
Think Mean Girls making out with Teen Wolf on the set of The Faculty. Or something.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 25, 2011
In trying to create a modern horror take on Mean Girls (2004), in which the protagonists redefine their rivalries through physical instead of verbal viciousness, she has merely delivered an updated, dumbed-down rehash of Carrie (1976).
July 7, 2010
Much to the chagrin of the randy male teens that Jennifer's Body is meant to lure into theatres, they're offered nary a glimpse of Ms. Fox's naked glories.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 4, 2010
With women calling the shots on this production, I'm sure we're supposed to think this is empowerment, but I'm not sure this is what feminism is really about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 30, 2010
Has substantial bite.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 31, 2010
Kusama and Cody don't fully succeed in making Jennifer's Body as clever as intended, but...they unleash some potent ideas and subvert the genre
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 18, 2010
Jennifer's Body's parts aren't working, so in its bid to become a clever cult movie, it ends up looking like it's trying too hard.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
January 8, 2010
Just when we think we 'get' where Cody and Kusama are taking us, they thwart expectations and cinematic standards%u2026but not always in a good way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
January 7, 2010
Jennifer's Body is full of ideas, but it doesn't have much in the way of tonal control.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
January 7, 2010
Jennifer's Body is not funny, nor is it sexy (the girls keep their clothes on), nor is it scary (it's all just special effects).
January 3, 2010
Some weakly constructed things are better left asleep in their coffins.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
January 3, 2010
Like a sloppy episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 2, 2010
Diablo Cody and director Karyn Kusama seem less interested in cheap scares than in something more substantive: exploring the purgatorial existence of teens caught between being kids and adults.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
December 23, 2009
By the time we know what's wrong with Jennifer's body, we just don't care. Movie just sucks the life out of horror fans. Paul Chambers, CNN.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
December 12, 2009
Attempting to instill wit into a witless horror flick, Diablo Cody shows that her faux-hip dialogue does not a feature make.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
December 6, 2009
Devil's Kettle might as well have been called Crock Pot.
Full Review | Original Score: D
November 13, 2009
Jennifer is dead-eyed and impassive, but a good actress might yet have played her in a lively, knowing way. Fox's dead-eyed impassiveness seems all too much her own.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 13, 2009
The film is not without merit and has more corpses and red corpuscles than the anaemic Twilight series of vampire flicks.
November 9, 2009
There's not a moment in Jennifer's Body that's intentionally scary, and the characters never reach beyond the level of stereotype.
Page 1 of 9