Jersey Girl - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jersey Girl Reviews

Page 1 of 9
March 25, 2004
I couldn't have liked this movie any less if Affleck had stepped off the screen and punched me in the face.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
March 30, 2004
I totally bought Carlin as a dad and grandpa, but never believed Affleck as a father.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 27, 2005
Jersey Girl is like that new Liz Phair album ... it sometimes sounds unmistakably like Kevin Smith but you never quite believe he could be so platitudinous and predictable.
Read More | Original Score: D
March 22, 2004
Maybe I would have been touched by this film if I had believed in the characters and their situations, but too much feels forced and scripted, the clear product of a writer's keyboard.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 25, 2004
Is it possible for a movie to jump the shark?
Read More | Original Score: C-
December 24, 2010
Formulaic script and uneven tone. Disappointing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 25, 2004
The man who once envisioned a monster made entirely out of poop now only allows the substance to be used in a cutesy joke involving a baby's diaper.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 26, 2004
Smith tries to stretch further in Jersey Girl, but it's all reach and no grab.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 26, 2004
Sorry, Kevin Smith, but ditching Jay and Silent Bob doesn't mean you're all grown up yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 25, 2004
Potty-mouthed, pop culture-mad indie icon Kevin Smith grows up, gets serious, knuckles down ... and makes a boring movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 17, 2004
Smith stumbles setting up dramatic confrontations and strains credibility a time or two with implausible moments.
March 22, 2004
Kevin Smith would have made fun of a movie like this ten years ago!
March 25, 2004
The movie is just Baby Boom with a guy, tossed with some Jerry Maguire and bits of a zillion other movies Smith has probably trashed on his Web site.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
March 26, 2004
I had trouble remembering details about Jersey Girl just an hour after it ended.
Full Review| Original Score: 2.5/4
February 17, 2004
Kevin Smith's neuters his sense of humor for Jersey Girl, an old-fashioned ode to paternal love that shamelessly goes for its audience's tear ducts.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 2, 2005
People who find Smith's work too brazen or fringe will really fall for this picture, likewise those easily pleased by this genre will enjoy. Hardcore fans may be very upset by Smith doing something so ordinary and even mundane.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 21, 2004
So by-the-numbers, so depressingly average, that I'm tempted to believe Smith is PARODYING by-the-numbers, depressingly average films.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 26, 2004
Watching Jersey Girl is akin to being smothered by a basket of warm puppies.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 28, 2004
...barren and cloying...Ironically, Jersey Girl could use some of the disastrous Gigli-style Bennifer hype to boost this reductive romancer into moderate gear
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 29, 2009
A cloying attempt at mainstream fodder...
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Page 1 of 9