Jésus de Montréal (Jesus of Montreal) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jésus de Montréal (Jesus of Montreal) Reviews

Page 1 of 12
March 30, 2016
Jesus of Montreal is a great film and a very compelling take on Christ in modern times. In many respects, the film argues that Christ can arise from anyone and anywhere, which is an interesting way to look at it. The acting is very good and I loved the unique method of heavily utilizing the play within a film angle. The acting is very good and I loved the writing and direction of the film. It is also very well lit with the appropriate lighting in each scene and it really magnifies the poignant movies quite well. Overall, Jesus of Montreal is a really profound experience that also manages to be quite funny at times, which is a nice balance with the spiritually poignant elements.
March 14, 2016
An excellent satire on peoples' inability to differentiate religion from reality. Admittedly dated looking but still as relevant today as it had to have been in the 80s.
November 23, 2013
life imitates art or vice versa here
September 16, 2013
A masterful reinterpretation of the Passion Play that presents a boldly challenging take on Jesus, which is brilliantly complemented by a subtle Biblical symbology in the film as a whole.
March 24, 2013
J'aimerais que ce film soit disponible en français avec un choix de sous-titres en anglais et en français.
December 7, 2012
Will have to watch this one. Not necassarily good or bad. Will see. Want to watch!
August 18, 2012
Passionately conceived Work of Art...
June 6, 2012
Wow. Me voilà plongé dans l'univers du cinéma québécois. Léolo, avec une grande tête d'avance, qui s'approche de la ligne d'arrivée. Mais voilà qu'un inconnu surgit du lot et s'approche de plus en plus; impossible de distinguer s'il est parvenu égalité avec Léolo ou s'il traîne derrière par quelques centimètres. Oui, oui, vous m'avez bien compris. Jésus de Montréal est mon deuxième petit bijou québécois, et j'ai été vraiment ébahi par la réalisation de Denys Arcand. Ce film, c'est comme notre petit Da Vinci Code québécois, mais sans budget hollywoodien.Et d'où sort ce Lothaire Bluteau?! Deux films en ligne que je le vois performer, et je dois dire qu'il est vraiment, mais vraiment incroyable dans Jésus de Montréal (et un peu pathétique dans Le confessionnal), et il mérite grandement son prix pour sa performance.Jésus de Montréal remet en question bien des théories, encore une fois sur la religion chrétienne, des théories nouvelles à mes oreilles qui m'impressionnent et me laissent perplexe. Chapeau Arcand.
May 22, 2012
Arcand explores themes and addresses ideas here most filmmakers would be frightened of attempting to explore. It isn't perfect (it's too long and muddled in it's own backstories), but Jesus of Montreal is fascinating.
½ December 2, 2011
I find this film really slow and boring. I would like to see more of the humorous bits; they're brilliant. The rest is pretty lackluster.
October 30, 2011
Denys Arcand's Jesus of Montreal is about a new age theater group lead by the actor/director Daniel Coloumbe. Their job is to make a brand new stage adabtion of a play about the crucifixion of Jesus Christ, the play become a great successes among the critics and the audience. But the priest who come up with the idea of making a remake of the play, isn't very pleased with the play, because it goes against his believes. What will become of the play? Will it be shut down, or will it survive. Jesus of Montreal is a creative and fresh new look at religion and the evil circle of life that hasn't change since two thousand years ago. Thumbs Up.
September 5, 2011
Forgot how moving this is.
½ June 22, 2011
This movie is a modern take on Jesus' life set in the context of five artists doing... a modernized religious play about Jesus (The Passion on the Mountain). It is really, really interesting, whether you look at the acting, the historical-archaelogical research behind the movie, the storyline and, of course, the social commentary (overt, as in the dialogues, but also implied by the storyline structure). Furthermore, contrarily to Arcand's recent movies, it feels lighter, less excessive, and Arcand's trademark tricks are used sparingly. To fully enjoy this movie, however, you need some religious culture.
Super Reviewer
June 16, 2011
only getting around to this now, i found it dull at times, and it just dident grab me where it needed to.
April 24, 2011
My favourite movie of all time
April 20, 2011
Between a 7/10 and 8/10, it's inventive, witty, illuminating: about a contemporary staging of the Passion play, the institutional church's reverence for the status quo & the false gods of secularism.
December 7, 2010
Revisiting this film, I almost forgot what a sweet allegory it is. One of the best films about theater I've seen in a while (it is a film more about theater than religion). Had Jesus come today, he probably would have been treated to the same fan adulation that the actor playing Jesus does in this film. A very simple but fascinating film, with excellent performances. See it!
July 23, 2010
This movie changed my outlook on life for the better. Thanks Denys....
July 16, 2010
quite an interesting movie with a unique scenario. Just at the point where you start to wonder why the beginning unrolls so slowly, it throws you right into the middle, which is a little bizarre, but it works out well. Couple of really funny moments, couple of really tragic and unfortunate moments. Overall, it was nominated for an Oscar for a reason. Except, I couldn't help it, but to point out that the boom-mic has sneaked in for one of the ending scenes. Though, the concept of this movie is brilliant and this is a very smart film in general
½ June 20, 2010
Despite a distractingly '80s score & some narrative contrivances, Arcand's modern-day allegory is inspired & thoughtful.
Page 1 of 12