Jsus de Montral (Jesus of Montreal) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jsus de Montral (Jesus of Montreal) Reviews

Page 2 of 12
May 28, 2010
Rent it ( if you can find it ) very good film
April 30, 2010
i like stories within stories.
March 1, 2010
?好???????影?????第?次????大???影????对????????????头???

欣????影??人???忱???示建?????信????张??

????学???稣????????????礼??就?????????

BTW?????稣??平??drama??????????中????样?移步???没??????????????????????drama?中???系好??????????许??们?????youth??以??
February 18, 2010
Denys Arcand is a movie from a director with intelligence & refined sensibilities. His best-known work is The Decline of American Civilization. He also made The Barbarian Invasions a film which I enjoyed very much It won best foreign film Oscar 2004. Plot A group of actors putting on an interpretive Passion Play in Montreal begin to experience a meshing of their characters & their private lives as the production takes form against the growing opposition of the Catholic church. (Lothaire Bluteau), the actor who plays Christ, discovers that his own life is taking on some of the aspects of Christ's. By the end of the film we have arrived at a crucifixion scene that actually plays as drama & not simply as something that has been forced into the script. It suggests that most establishments, & especially the church, would be rocked to their foundations by the practical application of the maxims of Christ. The film gives us simple, powerful messages of artistic freedom, personal redemption, and perseverance during a personal quest & how heartbreaking the world, & reality, can be. The film manages to make deft, original swipes at a plethora of modern ??evils?? media hype, advertising, hospital bureaucracy, & of course the hypocrisy of the religious establishment. Cinematically the film is visually elegant & an uncluttered sort of movie. In a sense the film is a movie about the theater, not about religion. But in the end their challenging production becomes the toast of the city, the Roman Catholic Church strongly objects to its Biblical interpretation & forcefully stops the performances. The film is clever, funny and tragic. Its apparent complexity is a conjuring trick. "Life is hard to bear," Daniel announces, finally. Truth, as Jesus discovered, kills. Only jokers and journeymen survive. And believers. At least this film does not become overly heavy-handed onscreen. This film was nominated for the 1989 Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film but did not win. 4 stars
Super Reviewer
February 15, 2010
My very first of a lot of things. My first indie. My first foray into Quebecois film. My first look at a Denys Arcand film..and the first time seeing the multitalented Robert Lepage. There is not surprise that many of the alumni of this production went on to succesful careers. It is a great film.
February 13, 2010
Denys Arcand "Jesus of Montreal-1989" is a movie from a director with intelligence & refined sensibilities. (His best-known work is "The Decline of American Civilization. He also made The Barbarian Invasions a film which I enjoyed very much It won best foreign film Oscar 2004) Plot: A group of actors putting on an interpretive Passion Play in Montreal begin to experience a meshing of their characters & their private lives as the production takes form against the growing opposition of the Catholic church. They begin to experience a meshing of their characters & their private lives as the production takes form against the growing opposition of the Catholic Church. (Lothaire Bluteau), the actor who plays Christ, discovers that his own life is taking on some of the aspects of Christ's. By the end of the film we have arrived at a crucifixion scene that actually plays as drama & not simply as something that has been forced into the script. It suggests that most establishments, & especially the church, would be rocked to their foundations by the practical application of the maxims of Christ. The film gives us simple, powerful messages of artistic freedom, personal redemption, perseverance during a personal quest...& how heartbreaking the world, & reality, can be. The film manages to make deft, original swipes at a plethora of modern 'evils': media hype, advertising, hospital bureaucracy, & of course the hypocrisy of the religious establishment. Cinematically the film is visually elegant & an uncluttered sort of movie. In a sense, "Jesus of Montreal" is a movie about the theater, not about religion. But in the end their challenging production becomes the toast of the city, the Roman Catholic Church strongly objects to its Biblical interpretation & forcefully stops the performances. At least this film does not become overly heavy-handed onscreen. This film was nominated for the 1989 Academy Award for Best Foreign Language Film but did not win. won both the Jury Prize at the 1988 Cannes Film Festival and a Golden Globe for Best Foreign Language Film. 4 Stars Recommended~!
January 26, 2010
mmmm Lothaire Bluteau.
January 20, 2010
A really good interpretation of history about the son of man.
January 10, 2010
(****): Thumbs Up

Well-acted and interesting throughout.
½ January 4, 2010
Jesus of Montreal is a thoroughly inventive film that is built on the interesting and wholeheartedly creative premise of a group of theatre actors in Montreal trying to put together an artistic and thought provoking depiction of the crucifixion of Jesus.
While an interesting premise is often not enought to carry a film, it greatly enhances the films individuality and can make it more of an experience to the viewer. However, when a great premise is supported by equaly enticing writting and acting as this film is, it seperates a good film from a great one.
Other unique elements used in this film include the spectacular set designs which are a form of art in themselves, as well as the utilization of the beautiful architecture and landmarks that define Montreal as a city.
Moreover, the camera movements are solidly excecuted and the cinamatography compliments the setting and story very concretely.
A diverse blend of comedy and satire mixed with moments of profound social commentary and realistic character arks only adds to the well roundedness of this film, especially in an era when film was struggling to maintain consistency in quality and inovation.
A wonderful art film and certainly one of the finest French Canadian films I've seen to date, highly enjoyable and highly recomended for all audiences.
December 16, 2009
Funny, moving, smart, profound, beautiful; this is one of those movies I watch and think, "Man, I wish I made this movie." One of the best movies about Christianity ever made.
November 30, 2009
It's so heightened and absorbing that I felt as if I could get sucked into the screen. It was hard to break away from this one.
November 12, 2009
Le film amne des rflexions intressantes.
½ October 23, 2009
Aided immeasurably by a smart cast, Jesus of Montreal is an interesting look at religion and life against the landscape of modern (1980s) Montreal. It alternates between scenes of farce comedy, such as a recording session for a pornographic film, and deeply engaging, as in the play presenting the life of Christ. Giving its all with a straight face, it is an insightful film to say the least. Worth seeing.
½ September 3, 2009
I see it maybe twice a decade ?? and it's just as stunning each time. Oh, Arcand! When you're good, you're incredible.
Super Reviewer
August 6, 2009
nominated for best foreign film at the golden globes, oscars, and by NBR
July 20, 2009
I usually hate movies like this, with a clear message and symbolism, but this was done with such a light touch, such good sense, that I really enjoyed it. I'd need to see this again to know whether it is truly as thought-provoking and coherent as it seemed on first viewing. The play within the movie is convincing and original.
½ July 11, 2009
Brilliant. Pretty much the same cast as in the Barbarian invasions quite a few years later.
June 25, 2009
I saw this in NZ 6 years after leaving Montreal but it took me right back to the time and place. I walked out on the street and thought i was back home. Fantastic portrayal not only of the Christ story but also of Montreal. Thank goodness for sub-titles as the joual gets really thick and fast at times. Laissons parler d'amour!
June 3, 2009
A bit old but still worth it
Page 2 of 12