Jesus of Nazareth - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jesus of Nazareth Reviews

Page 1 of 4
June 18, 2016
When I see this film I feel that was the way they all lived back then. I personally enjoy watching a Jesus movie like Jesus of Nazareth then to go to a church. I get the true meaning, and understanding watching the movie then to listen to Pastors/Ministers
March 27, 2016
One of the best Jesus films ever made. It's better than Mel Gibson's film, which I liked for the most part. It's as good, if not better, than Pier Paolo Passolini's THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO MATTHEW. This is Franco Zeffirelli's 1977 six hour miniseries. British actor Robert Powell is arguably the greatest Jesus on film and he does a really good job. The supporting cast is superb with Anne Bancroft as Mary Magdalene, James Farantino as Peter (who was nominated for an Emmy, Lawrence Olivier as Nicodemus, Rod Steiger as Pilate, and Olivia Hussey as Mary. The film conflates all four Gospels, and, for the most part, it works well. It also has a great music score. This is, in my opinion, is the definitive Jesus film.
October 19, 2015
Epic film about the J-dawg
August 21, 2015
This is the best movie about Jesus I have ever seen. Robert Powell played
Jesus, and I like the way he portrayed Him, both vocally and physically. The Sermon on the Mount was a particularly great scene as was the one of the woman about to be stoned for committing adultery.
August 10, 2015
Franco Zeferelli's dramatization of the life of Jesus is quite simply a masterpiece. Robert Powell is breathtaking as Christ, heading a staggering, brilliant all-star cast with Laurence Oliver, Anne Bancroft and James Mason particularly memorable. Avoiding the gimmicks and stiffness of cardboard Hollywood versions, Zeferelli crafts a provocative, three-dimensional work full of powerful and unforgettable scenes that rarely falters. And for all its star cast and epic scale, the real wonder of
this film is its sheer spirit and reverence for its subject. A monumental achievement.
January 6, 2015
This is a great and beautifully told version of christ's story, but it isn't anything you'd call epic.
December 28, 2014
I had seen this movie as a younger man but after having the opportunity to see it recently I was not only impressed by the masterful acting from everyone in the depictions but by some of the most masterful direction of the events of the gospel that I have ever seen and I have seen many.
½ October 6, 2014
Repost*

The crucifixion wasn't as gritty as it should have been and much time is spent pre-Nativity, but this is a very thorough and satisfying telling of the Gospels. Robert Powell is incredible as a loving and astute portrayal of Jesus.

86/100
September 16, 2014
Sibyl Kennebrew
James Jordan
REL 110
September 16, 2014
Movie Review Jesus Of Nazareth Part One
Plot Summary: This movie was about Jesus Christ the son of God. It started with his birth and the reason why he was born. It portrayed him as being immaculate conceived through a lady who was his mother and her name was Mary and his father's name was Joseph. The movie ended when he told his followers what his purpose was on earth and what would happen to him. He also told them what their purpose was as his followers.
World Religion: I really enjoyed this movie. It was very illustrated. It was very easy to understand. It was not drawn out. It got straight to the point. For example, in the scene where Jesus went to the synagogue to speak he said that the laws that had been previously written on stone, does not apply if you do not believe them in your heart. And that reading them was not good enough but that they had to be practiced. Every part of the movie related to its main idea. It was clear and accurate and kept simple. It was very emotional perhaps sad For example, when he told the people the truth about God's laws they rejected him and hated him even kicked out of the town. In my studies of World Religion, thus far, this movie was based solely upon Christian Religion. This religion is both written and verbal. The difference in this religion is that there was a man in the flesh who represented the Supreme Being who is supposed to be a spirit. His name is God.
God in the spirit used this human called Jesus to translate his laws to the people in the flesh. Not like other religions I have studied thus far, In Christianity Jesus speaks of only one God that controls the whole universe. Jesus said he was sent to change the world and his father God in the flesh sent him. To me everything mad since in this movie, It was very clear what Jesus was saying and what the job of the disciples role was.
July 3, 2014
This is my favorite interpretation of the life of Jesus.
May 9, 2014
Jesus of Nazareth should have been a long movie, not a 4 epidose mini-series. I say this, because the quality of the sets, cast, crew, extras and musical score belongs to a very expensive epic. This re-telling of Jesus' life and mission has never been made so well, so intriguingly awesome and even to have not-religious public to watch it. This production also adds some new material not present in the bible, but that material fits so well in the story, it's almost impossible to think that THAT wasn't in the Bible. This production is awesome, and surely an unrecognized epic. Watch it if you can, it's superb as a production as well as for religious people, it's a big production, sort of like Ben-Hur or Lawrence of Arabia quality of epic.
May 2, 2014
QUE HERMOS PELICULA DE ZEFFIRELLI...MUY BUENA MINISERIE
April 18, 2014
Very good and powerful and every Christian needs to watch this film. Robert Powell is terrific as Jesus. Only weakness is they didn't show the temptation in the desert or the beheading of John the Baptist but other than that I enjoy it. This film really touched my heart and taught me a lesson.
April 8, 2014
Best Movie ever made about the Greatest man that ever lived.
½ March 19, 2014
Well, I think I found my favorite Jesus movie. I still want to go back and watch some of the others but I had never seen Zeffirelli's Jesus of Nazareth in full and I am so glad I finally did. This is really how you can powerfully communicate the life of Christ through this type of media. I've come to conclude that you need more than just a two hour movie to give anything that comes close to a dramatically rich, fleshed out picture of Jesus. Passion of the Christ is a wonderful meditation on the Stations of the Cross and I place that high on my list of one of the few movies that comes close to portraying Jesus well. What distinguishes Jesus of Nazareth is that you encounter Jesus from birth to the resurrection. It does not feel rushed or bloated. Robert Powell does a powerful job in his portrayal of Jesus. Everything rings true. Some scenes do have secondary characters that can tend to 'over act'. But this is a minor quibble. There are also many characters powerfully portrayed. Michael York as John the Baptist; excellent. James Farentino as Peter is a real revelation. I could go on but its best to just watch it. Different characters may resonate with you. I appreciate how the Jewish leadership is portrayed in a more balanced way (which I did not feel was done well in Gibson's Passion). In this version you can really see the the disagreement between the Jewish leaders over Jesus and how some came to believe he was the Messiah while others could not accept it. The oft-mentioned criticism of this version is the portrayal of Judas. He is portrayed very sympathetically; they create actually a fictional character named Zerah, played by Ian Holm who in a sense convinces Judas to turn Jesus over. Judas is played as a tragic figure who wanted Jesus to be a zealous revolutionary and thought if Jesus could "prove" himself to the Sannhedrin that they would accept him as the great and powerful messiah. I think its actually a fair way to portray him. And it is interesting that when Jesus 'calls' the disciples early in the story that Judas first encounter with Jesus is very different than how the other disciples interact with Him. So, check this movie out when you can. It's on netflix now so if you have that service that is where you can most easily see it.
December 30, 2013
Favorite TV Movie of All Time!! I looked forward to Holy Week to watch the epic on NBC every year and it's no longer televised which is a shame
December 27, 2013
I LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!
½ December 17, 2013
A beautiful mini series
½ December 11, 2013
I have rented this movie so many time...I have seen so many movies about Jesus...For some reason I have always been so good with taste, colors, touch..(perhaps as Taurus)..and I have always thought that this is a top top class movie. The choice and the performance of the actors is just amazing. Jesus, the actor is unbelievable...I respect you Mr. Zeffirelli.
December 8, 2013
I was there in 1977 and the whole Christian Church saw this movie as filth !!! Christians do not watch this garbage of a movie !!! I warn you they make this movie out to be Jesus having an affair with the God of all the Universe !!!! how despicable !!! THE ACTOR WHO PLAYED JESUS OF NAZARETH AFTER DOING THE MOVIE WENT OUT AND PLAYED IN A PORNO MOVIE !!!! I'm not Kidding !!! Again to help Christians from getting sullied and dirty from watching this movie about the Lord Watch the Movie 1997 Mary of Nazareth !!! You will be Blessed and Feel Clean in the Spirit !!!
Page 1 of 4