Jimmy Hollywood - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jimmy Hollywood Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 3, 2016
Amusing. On Blu-ray.
Super Reviewer
November 8, 2016
Joe Pesci is one of the most underrated comedic actors in all of Hollywood. The reason is simple, Cousin Vinny aside, he's never really been able to have success on his own. Pesci is usually in huge movies, paired with other big stars, and his rave reviews fall under the supporting actor tag. Jimmy Hollywood is yet another example of Joe Pesci going out on his own and striking out big time, which is quite surprising, when you consider who the Director of the film was. Jimmy Alto (Pesci) is a failing actor in Hollywood, he's done everything he can to make a name for himself, but he never has. One night a down and depressed Jimmy finds that his car has been broken into and it's the last straw. Along with him best friend, William (Christian Slater), Jimmy decides he's going to make a name for himself by cleaning up the streets of L.A., but that doesn't go exactly as planned either. The film is Written/Directed by Barry Levinson, who is usually known for his originality, but in this case, he's got nothing more than a trailer trash rip off of The Green Hornet. The parallels are really uncanny and the originality just isn't there. Even if a film has been done before, if it's good, I can still somewhat enjoy it, but that's another glaring problem with this film, it's not even that funny! Where are Joe Pesci's legendary profanity filled tirades? Where are the classic Home Alone type slapstick moments? Jimmy Hollywood just kind of is what it is, and what it is, is slow, predictable, and done. As a fan of Joe Pesci, I had to see it, but you don't, trust me, you're not missing anything.
April 19, 2015
This movie is a poopcrap movie.....stooooooopid.
January 31, 2015
It's rather low-budget, but Joe Pesci is always good. Definitely worth a watch, but don't go in expecting Pesci at his best.
½ November 29, 2013
Looking at the reviews, I come to the conclusion that nobody saw the same film that I did. This movie is a lot of fun, Joe Pesci gives one of his best comedic performances here, and Christian Slater is actually pretty good as Jimmy's sidekick William. Jimmy Hollywood was definitely a welcome return to form for Barry Levinson after his Toys debacle.
June 18, 2013
Suck it off the floor.
May 16, 2012
Hilarious movie!!!!!! My all time favorite Joe Pesci movie!!
September 14, 2010
joe pesci plays a guy desperate to make it in hollywood but is frustrated by his inability to do so. he longs for the golden age of hollywood when people could break into films easier - he imagines himself hanging out with james cagney and edwin g. robinson. so desperate is he for fame he decides to take on the role of spokesman for a nonexistent vigilante group...

the film just seems to be addressing the phenomenon of "media whoredom" - as i'll call it - that surrounds us now. it's funny that "natural born killers" came out around the same time and addressed the same basic phenomenon. these days with the internet and smart phones these movies seem tame.

pesci's character isn't without it's charm and nor is slater's - an actor i generally don't like -but the plot isn't strong enough for the hour and 45 minutes that it runs.
½ April 29, 2010
A less than average black comedy/Hollywood satire which could've been much better.
April 6, 2010
Didn't Michael J. Fox do this movie???
December 1, 2009
Nice little find in Blockbuster this. Don't recall too much about it but remember really liking the ending.
April 4, 2009
this movie is great!!! a memorable joe pesci flick
October 24, 2008
What in the allergic reaction to cheese toast is this?
July 7, 2008
Not much to see here - basically a disappointment for all involved.
February 17, 2008
i guess i didnt get the point. the different scenes of him getting shot in the theatre were funny though.
½ January 2, 2008
Two nice moments but that's it.
½ December 16, 2007
Yeah, Joey Pesci, one of my all-time favorites
December 7, 2007
this movie was no fun at all
November 23, 2007
Great satire, a very underrated film.
½ October 19, 2007
It has some funny moments, but it doesn't hold up as a whole.
Page 1 of 2