Jin yan zi (Golden Swallow) (Mistress of the Thunderbolt) (The Girl with the Thunderbolt Kick) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Jin yan zi (Golden Swallow) (Mistress of the Thunderbolt) (The Girl with the Thunderbolt Kick) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
October 1, 2015
Sequel to King Hu's Come Drink with Me (1966) directed by Cheh Chang falls a bit flat compared to the original -- possibly because star Pei-Pei Cheng is sidelined, more or less, despite playing the title character. Instead, Jimmy Yu Wang takes center stage as Silver Roc who is a one-man killing machine avenging the death of his family (when he was 9 years old) and carrying a torch for Golden Swallow (despite misleading everyone that his killing is being done by her). Yu Wang himself is much better in One-Armed Swordsman (1967) or that film is a better showcase for his talents. The third corner of the love triangle is played more sympathetically by Lieh Lo, who is a good fighter but no match for Wang. Things get a bit turgid despite all the choreographed action but they look pretty good in ShawScope.
½ August 3, 2015
In this sequel to King Hu's Come Drink With Me, the character of Golden Swallow is played by the same actress but the performance is way different. I didn't even know it was a sequel, but it had some interesting story moments even though it was a bit bland. The final battle with David Chiang was pretty cool, but the story is not as well done as Come Drink With Me. There's tons of action, but most of it is against numerous henchmen so there's no tension. Also, besides the love triangle there isn't anything else much present.
½ November 25, 2012
Chang Cheh, renown for male chauvinism, tilts the focus away from actress Cheng Pei Pei in "Golden Swallow" a disappointing, mediocre follow-up to 1966's excellent "Come Drink with Me" one of the first martial arts films to feature a female protagonist. Chang is no King Hu and as such the ambience is not there and neither is the narrative. The actors are fine and the martial arts, while inferior to the original's ballet-style choreography, are square with other Shaw Brothers productions of this period. The script is a featherweight romance that cannot anchor the film and Chang succumbs to his lust for cruel torture and heinous executions once too often. Even with the finale looming which promises to bring together Jimmy Wang Yu, Cheng Pei Pei, and Lo Lieh in an orgy of bright red syrup -- boredom, unfortunately -- has already taken hold.
½ August 8, 2012
How the hell did they get the name The Girl with the Thunderbolt Kick for this movie? She uses daggers... anyway, this is Golden Swallow, the sequel to Come Drink With Me, and it's better in almost every way. This time Chang Cheh directs and he makes it much darker than the original. And they added Lo Lieh and Yu Wang to the cast! I've had problems with Lo Lieh being a hero before, since he's such a great villain, but he was quite convincing this time. He is a good friend to the title character, played by the amazing Cheng Pei-pei, though this sequel is less about Golden Swallow and more about an old acquaintance of hers: Silver Roc, played by Yu Wang. He is a rather relentless vigilante who kills in the name of Golden Swallow just to get her attention: see he's still rather obsessed with her. Cheng Pei-pei is a much better action performer in this film than she was in the first and has some great moments, but this is Yu Wang's movie and he lays waste to all sorts of villainous types from beginning to end.
October 2, 2011
A fine sequel to a classic film (COME DRINK WITH ME) with a dream team behind and in front of the camera. Chen Pei-pei shines in the title role, she is an action star who has a soft personal side, but a ferocious streak in combat. Lo Lieh and Jimmy Wang Yu bring their respective charms to the screen, Lo being the nice, personable fella, while Wang Yu has the role of the quiet badass. This here is one of Chang Cheh's more accomplished films, and Lau Kar Leung's choreography makes for a fantastic kung-fu experience.
January 19, 2010
This movie reset the martial arts movie genre to whole new level that we know today. Cheng Pei Pei lead the way in this movie and in Dragon Gate Inn. The title seems to vary but I remember it as "Come Drink With Me".
½ August 16, 2009
A wuxia classic, directed by Cheh Chang, who directed a lot of great wuxia films like "one-armed swordsman" series. Pei-Pei Cheng plays the same character, female swordsman Golden Swallow, as King Hu's "Come Drink With Me." Comparing to King Hu, Cheh Chang definitely emphasizes more on storytelling and sword fighting. Especially in filming actions, Cheh takes much more time on actual battles than the process, and camerawork is really modern and dynamic because of efficient use of hand-held cameras and other many devices. In terms of drama, however, at least in this film, Cheh is a little bit too formal and explains too much by words. It is disappointing to see the core of this film is love-triangle of two men and the heroin and her at first being an independent and smart female swordsman but later getting just a normal heroin who struggles to choose one true love. I like Golden Swallow in "Come Drink With Me" much better, since she never yields to men as a woman. Cheh is surely a good storyteller, but what he is interested in is different from King Hu. Soundtrack in this film is cool, by the way.
March 1, 2009
I can't remember why I liked this movie completely. Maybe if Flixster added it to their database earlier instead of shuffling the 1,000,000+ ratings for 'White Chicks' they would have done things right.
July 1, 2008
Would have been better if Wang Yu wasn't hogging the spotlight from the title character. A poor sequel to the classic, Come Drink With me
Page 1 of 1